We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff food the worst I ever tasted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SANA Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #121 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Average hotel but the staff were lovely. Same buffet food for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. NOT nice. Everything looked nice but the taste was awful. would never ever want to eat there again...YUK!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 627 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

My room was reserved by colleagues for what became my first stay here. Despite arriving extremely late at night/early in the morning, my reservation had been honored and the staff couldn't have been more generous or concretely helpful. My room was huge, with a view to the north, on the 12th floor, a clean, non-smoking room. The breakfast boasted the best of local portuguese food, including lots of fresh fruit, breads, meats, and cheeses, and at every step where I needed help (directions, internet, stowing my bag at the end) the staff were just excellent. I would say the only drawback of the hotel is that it is located on a busy highway, and that it takes some time to get to neighborhoods of greater interest for walking, sightseeing, and the like. And the rooms are expensive. I wouldn't have stayed here had it not been for the fact the bill was paid by colleagues, at their insistence. I could walk, though, to my work at the Universidade do Lisboa, which was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very good hotel but lacks the location near the center of the city.
Rooms are spacious and with a modern look.
You can always get a taxi to the center for 6 or 7 euros.
The Zoo is not far and there you can also find buses and Metro.
For the price this is a good option on a great Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina_Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The only knock on this hotel could be that it is not in the middle of downtown Lisbon and buses and undergrounds are a couple of blocks away. But, a taxi in LIsbon is relatively cheap -- about $7 or less just about anywhere. Airport is only $12 or so. The hotel itself is fairly new and modern. Very clean and comfortable with typical 4 star qualities. Breakfast was included and outstanding full buffet. The hotel staff was particularly helpful and kind in fluent English.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Location wasn't the best, however service, cleaniless, friendly staff was awesome! Will stay again, good value for your buck. Will recommend to friends and family. Vou recommendar este hotel aos meus amigos.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEKKKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed recently in this hotel in Lisbon. The last time I stayed in the Tivoli Hotel at the Avenida da Liberdade and that was a very good hotel on a top location. I would have wanted to go back there, but someone arranged this hotel for me. I had a suite on the 11th floor and every 3 minutes I heard the snoring of a plane passing the hotel. Some of them were really close by - it is a landing route for planes and close to the airport. I opened a window to get some fresh air in my room but it became very, very noisy by the trafic and all the planes (even in the middle of the night around 4 am) and I decided to close the window again.
The suite was good and the room service was very efficient, however I will never forgive them that they served me old bread for breakfast in the weekend in my room!
The hotel has 12 floors, but the lobby wasn't as big as one would expect from a hotel like this.
I only had a reasonable view because I was on the 11th floor - the hotel was situated in a poor area, not very close to all the nice places that Lisbon has to offer (except of the Gulbenkian Museum and the warehouse El Corte Ingles (still you need a taxi)...
When I saw the prices of the rooms I thought they were highly overrated for the quality.
Don't get me wrong, everything had been taken care for and it wasn't uncomfortable, my suite was nice and it was clean, but the rest of the hotel was not very special...

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Isabellebigandstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was great but it was such a pity there were no leisure facilities, such as a pool, gym etc. I was based here for three days when my husband was attending a conference here. Directly behind the hotel is the university hospital and behind that is a small park with a cafe. I walked here a couple of days for my 50cent coffee, very nice to sit here in the sun. We walked from the hotel all the way down to the water front on one day which was a lovely walk through a couple of big parks and the main streets of the city but you can also get a taxi down for 5 euro or use the very efficent metro.
I have to also mention a lovely lady called Emanuela Pinto who works in the hotel, she had very little english but was so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the front as it is noisey with the main road behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
1.1 mi away
Lutecia Smart Design Hotel
0.6 mi away
SANA Malhoa Hotel
SANA Malhoa Hotel
#54 of 255 in Lisbon
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
Jupiter Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 255 in Lisbon
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#101 of 255 in Lisbon
982 reviews
0.9 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#95 of 255 in Lisbon
725 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SANA Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SANA Metropolitan Hotel

Address: Rua Soeiro Pereira Gomes | Parcela 2, Lisbon 1600-198, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $90 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SANA Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a strategic area of Lisbon, 10 minutes both from the city centre and the airport, SANA Metropolitan Hotel is distinguished by its spacious, contemporary decor, a restaurant with a select range of dishes and attentive service. A cosmopolitan hotel which offers special comfort for both leisure and business trips to the city, SANA Metropolitan Hotel is the ideal hotel for those who want to be close to major roads into and out of the city, and at the same time reach the centre of Lisbon. The large private car park, spacious and quiet area in front of the hotel and two floors with 12 rooms for meetings and events make the SANA Metropolitan one of the best options in Lisbon for accommodating large groups or organising major events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SANA Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sana Park Metropolitan Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing