We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museu do Fado / Fado Museum
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Museu do Fado / Fado Museum
from $22.90
More Info
from $332.20
More Info
from $38.90
More Info
from $57.30
More Info
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
96
71
23
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
71
23
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide art form listening room live performance famous singers music style nice introduction large auditorium great job of explaining amalia rodrigues alfama district de oro portuguese culture entry price rainy day visiting lisbon instruments
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a beautiful museum with lots of info on Fado history. We arrived 1-1/2 hours before closing, we could have used more time to listen to music. I would advise at least 2 hours.

Thank Ramikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have enjoyed listening to Fado music for some time and was keen to visit this museum when I visited Lisbon in October. The museum is small but well set out and provides a good introduction to the music of Fado. The modest entry price includes an audio guide and the gift shop has some interesting items at very reasonable prices. The museum is located in the Alfama district where it is said Fado originated. After a visit to the museum a walk through the surrounding area is recommended.

1  Thank PerthWATraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a history lesson on fado! Good exhibits, nice use of media, particularly liked the opportunity to sample many different fado singers.
A worthwhile visit taking 90-120 minutes to cover.

Thank jameswolfe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came across this museum on the the way to the military museum.
What a find. Audio guide and wonderful displays. A mural of singers were numbered so you could tune into different fado artists. The instruments were lovely. There were docs to listen to in a record section but limited access- only three stations.
Gave a very interesting insight into a very distinctive way of singing and performing. Wonderful cafe with delicious portuguese dishes on offer.

1  Thank Janerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the museum to gain an understanding of the music before going to a performance. It is certainly worth the low entry price. What I especially liked were the three murals of singers. Some of the people had a code number on their picture and you could listen to their music. There was also art that was interesting and a discussion surrounding the Fascist attempt to destroy it. We made a reservation to attend a Fado Night because we thought if anyone had good singers it would be the Fado Museum.

Thank txtfa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This museum is ideal for people who love fado... It's conveniently located at the base of the Alfama (or accessible via a ten minute walk from the Praca do Comercio)... your tour begins with a history of fado, a description of the instruments, and various artifacts... at first, rather dry... but soon you enter a room featuring large videos of great fado singers performing... and then comes an entire wall of photos of fado greats, whose recordings you can access with your audio phone... You could stay for hours, listening... Finally, in one of the last rooms, there's a couple of easy chairs, each with a catalog of dozens of famous fado singers, whose recordings you can access via headphones... We had to be dragged away because the Museum was closing. What an experience, listening one after the other to the singers who made fado what it was!

Thank michaelgG8296LJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

If you are into Fado, you'll love this; if you're not, meh. There are some interesting artifacts (antique gramophones) but the Fado culture is not as well presented as I would have liked. The audio tour leaves something to be desired and the quality of the music through the handset is poor.

Thank SymnCwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Now, this is more than fado, I t’s Portuguese culture history. By describing the different turns in its development, you get a new outlook of this country since the 19th century. And if you’re not yet familiar with Amalia Rodrigues, Mariza or Carminha - don’t worry. You will. And you’ll be grateful.

Thank AndersG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

If you are a fado fan, go there by all means. You will be thrilled to find so much about this special genre of Portuguese music. You can learn all about it, from history to instruments (displayed) and famous singers as you walk through several rooms full of pictures and videos, all friendly to English speakers/readers. I particularly enjoyed a section where we can listen to the recordings, using a headphone. There are so many to choose from and sound quality is great. Its location, on the riverside, almost across from the entrance to the Alfama district is perfect as there are several restaurants and bars where live fado is avairable. .

Thank Dani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

I have to admit to knowing what the fado is, (it’s a famous Portuguese style of music and dance) before setting foot inside. Really nice museum, interesting.

Thank Crescam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews