We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perhaps not...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #85 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perhaps not...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel looks lovely and most of the staff are pleasant but you should be aware that's it not the best located - nice area but you do need to get on Metro to see the city centre.

The bar is over priced and strangely plays only 2 tracks all night - the worst is an ear bleeding cover of Michael Jackson's 'Bad' that lasts 45 minutes and is on a loop. The second night I asked the Manager (bald) to maybe change the track. He got all huffy.Turning the music off, he looked at me and then at the rest of the bar as if I had spoilt it for everyone - Bad Guest! After that I went round the corner to The Shearaton and had a drink at their roof top bar - great, great view but it does get busy after 11ish

The rooms are pleasant and good size but there are significant ants in the bathroom (not just one or two having a saunter but hundreds, looking like they are going to a football match)

Finally take your own pillows - you get 2 hankies not pillows.

Room Tip: Just check that they have finished replacing the pavement outside the hotel, if a front facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwalton2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    820
    242
    69
    24
See reviews for
363
953
92
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Hotel's friendly, accommodating staff was great. Location, value for money. We used the garage, EUR 9 daily, but if you drive in the parking outside is charged only M-F, 0900-1900, easy to pay on the spot (keep the change) and cheaper if heading out after a great breakfast!!! After a review on a Trip Advisor to ask for a kettle at the Front Desk we did so, but were sent to Bar (by a single unfriendly staff) to ask for loan, which we did not do. Supermarket next door has a great coffee to go as well. Looking forward staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelKat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here in February 2014 and have to say this is a 5 star hotel which definately deserves them all - based on the hotel itself and the staff who were ALL very friendly and helpful.

It's nicely positioned off of the main road about five minutes walk from the metro station (south exit - El Corte Ingles). You can catch the metro straight from the airport to the last stop on the red line (S Sabatiao). The journey from the airport to the hotel stop takes approximately 20 minutes. You purchase travel cards at the Metro on which you can "top up" for a day or more travelling.

We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a room in the old palace part of the hotel which enhanced our stay! Our room was very nice and grand. Our friends had a suite in the newer part of the hotel comprising of bedroom, sitting room bathroom and two terreaces which looked over the roof tops of Lisbon. The bedrooms are of a good size, very clean and nicely appointed. The beds are quite firm, but that wasn't an issue for us. Good bathroom facilities - decent shower with good pressure.The bar and restaurant are very relaxed and there's great choice for breakfast from cereals, sausages, bacon, scrambled egg, etc to cakes and pancakes and maple syrup. You can also get a decent cup of coffee (which is generally not the case at many hotels). The breakfast room does get very busy, so recommend you get there early or late. No shortage of servings, but can be a bit of a hustle-bustle, however the staff were very helpful and promptly at replenishing any items which run out.

There is a shopping centre and supermarket only a short walk from the hotel and the Columbo Shopping Centre is located at the 'Orient' metro stop.

If you fancy eating out of the hotel, but do not want to stray too far, there is a nice restaurant literally over the road on the corner, while up the road along Rua Tomas Ribeiro across from the hotel and turning right into Rua Tomas Ribeiro, there is an all you can eat chinese buffet for eight euros.

The hotel is lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful and yet relaxed enough to have a laugh and a joke. We had a great stay and would recommend staying at the Real Palacio and would definitely stay there again - thank you for making our visit to Lisbon even more special for us

Room Tip: From seeing the rooms our friends stayed in, each of he rooms seem very nice and have thier own uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Tallbear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel has to be one of the best we have stayed in - not only are the rooms very well appointed but ALL of the staff are friendly and helpful, speak great English and enjoyed a laugh with us Which made the hotel a very welcoming place. Check-in was efficient and we were given an upgrade to a room in the original Palace building. Very nice with a super king sized bed (Room 237) nice bathroom and really nice shower experience (which was ideal for relaxing after a day wandering round Lisbon).

All in all this was an excellent stay from start to finish. The bar and restaurant areas were very relaxed and there was a very nice spread at breakfast (no real need for lunch but plenty of stops for a good strong Espresso and Pastel de Nata).

The hotel is located a block back from the main road so it is a quiet area but still only a few minutes walk to the red line metro which brings you in from the airport (takes about 20 minutes) - then you take the blue line to the centre and riverfront areas). It's also close to the largest El Corte Ingles store (and Supermarket).

A big thank you to the staff for making our stay such a great one - we'll definately be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mancub62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

What a find this hotel was. One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Friendly and professional staff throughout. Very comfortable bed in the room, I slept all night every night. The room/suite was more than adequate and extremely comfortable (room 306). Breakfast was enough to set you up for the day and was delicious, using fresh produce (fresh fruit selection was excellent). Hotel was central and not too far to walk to the Metro (San Sebastiao station). The 3 nights I stayed did not allow me enough time to use the health spa facilities unfortunately. However I do intend to stay here again. Although the weather was not the best during my stay, it did not spoil the break or my stay at this hotel. Thank you for making my stay so comfortable and welcoming

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part of the building were better. Room 306 where I stayed had a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Em0866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely excellent hotel.
Bar, breakfast, hotel and staff absolutely excellent - would stay again.
Only 4 stars because of Sauna/Steam/Jacuzzi - Jacuzzi out of order, no massage service at weekends which was a pity after all the walking around the hills of Lisbon, and really could have done with a nice relaxing massage. No attendant either, so had to search for towel, slippers etc.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

A group of twelve couples arrived on a Friday for a three night stay, we were early and were told that our rooms were not ready yet but that they would be made available as soon as they were. Our luggage was stored in a room designed for the purpose and we went off to have some lunch. First impressions of the hotel are very favourable, everything looks very smart and clean and the staff are very friendly. When we returned from lunch our rooms were ready and without exception everyone said how pleased they were with their room. Spacious and clean with a decent bathroom and a small fridge.
Our room overlooked a narrow street at the rear and was quiet. The air conditioning/heating worked well and the bed although firm we found to be very comfortable. There were none of the carpet stains referred to in previous reviews in our room. A kettle would be a welcome addition for most people but we had our small travel kettle, cups, tea and coffee with us. the small supermarket round the corner supplied the milk we needed and that was kept fresh in the fridge, perfect.
Breakfasts, included in the price are a lavish affair with plenty of choice. Hot eggs,sausage and bacon, a great variety of cold meats and cheeses. Cereals, yoghurts, breads, croissants, cakes and the like and especially good the lashings of delicious fresh fruit. Everything was replenished as soon as it ran low.
We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, prices seemed a bit high but the restaurants recommended by the hotel were excellent and very good value. The bar made a good place to meet and to return to for a nightcap or two. Prices were a little on the high side but the surroundings comfortable and the bar staff pleasant.
The hotel is located well for the metro and buses and within reasonable walking distance of the main pedestrian area. Taxis are very good value and the whole area felt very safe. There are a variety of shops nearby if you have time to look in them.
We found the hotel to be very comfortable with some lavish touches and very good value, never mind how many stars it has.
We would not hesitate to return and thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptainBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#102 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#42 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#59 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#36 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Property: Hotel Real Palacio
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#67 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing