We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Real Palacio
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$221
$170
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$438
$323
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$247
$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$364
$344
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valverde Hotel(Lisbon)
$404
$372
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Avenida Palace(Lisbon)
$288
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,814)
Filter reviews
2,814 results
Traveler rating
1,150
1,142
377
104
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,150
1,142
377
104
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelhealth clubquiet locationnice hotelwine bardepartment storemetro stationcity centrebreakfast roomsteam roomshort breakroom was largeexcellent breakfastpastriespublic transportairporteuros
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 2,814 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Real Palacio for 8 nights in September 2013. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from El Cortes Ingles department store, the San Sebastiao metro station with direct metro to the airport and Lisbon centre. We had a very comfortable room overlooking a quiet street. Make sure you get a breakfast included deal. The buffet breakfast is very good but the room can get very crowded and occasionally you have to queue for a table. There is a happy hour in the bar early evening. We didn't use the hotel restaurant because there are so many great restaurants in Lisbon with an excellent Thai (Siam Square) restaurant and the Potuguese (Sessenta) restaurant across from the hotel. Lisbon city centre is about a 20 minute walk downhill through Edward II Park but better to get the metro back up because it's a steep climb. The lift in the hotel has a mind of its own you have to use your room card to operate the lift and we rarely arrived at our selected floor first attempt, so used the stairs after a couple of days. There is free Wi-Fi in the reception area and free cabled broadband in all bedrooms. Tip: take a cheap wireless router (eg TP-Link £20) and get Wi-Fi in your room. Not sure if the hotel warrants 5 stars but we had a very pleasant stay and would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: ground or first floor to avoid using lift and allow extra time for breakfast you may have to queue
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!
Just to clarify that the use of the room card in the lift is done for security and access control. Probably some other problem occurred, but we ensure the maintenance department was informed.

We have the pleasure to inform you that the wi-fi availability in the rooms is already planned.
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Took some finding to begin with (using bus or metro from airport) but proved to be relatively convenient once we got our bearings. Breathtakingly stylish palace interior in the public areas, but rooms less opulant. Very expensive food and drinks, but we discovered a mall around the corner with supermarket to keep costs down. Breakfast in the mornings was something of a scrum and not the best I've had. Hotel gym fairly minimal and spa facilities are sauna, steam room and jacuzzi - no pool. Staff very welcoming, chatty, helpful and a little cheeky on reception (we liked it!). Good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team, which were really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!

We were surprised that you were not 100% satisfied with the quality of our breakfast, since the feedback we receive is usually extremely positive.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had not been to Lisbon before and after lots of searching we selected the Real Palacio.

Arrived early (7am) but they checked us in and held our luggage.

The hotel is in a great location. Close to the Metro. Close to the Corte Ingles Department store which has and nice roof top cafeteria and excellent super market.

Some restaurants in the the neighborhood but it's a nice walk to Baixa and Chiado (downhill) and you can take the metro back.

Near two parks if you are a runner and close to the Modern Art Museum.

The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size, quiet and nicely furnished.

There is a spa (didn't use) and a small fitness center with good equipment (used everyday, no charge).

Didn't get the breakfast but it looked more than adequate.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the inside courtyard (no street noise)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team, which were really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!
Thank you so much for having left your feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again, hopefully soon, for another excellent experience at the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon trip to Lisbon.Very pleasant stay all round. The staff were friendly and helpful, hotel was clean and adequate for our needs. We also used the spa during our stay, the Spa area was spotless and had all the facilities required,(although no swimming pool, but not that important for us) for a relaxing time.I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and i would consider staying here again if in Lisbon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how satisfied you were with our service and staff, this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for, especially when you say you would recommend us and would return if you can.

Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As soon as i arrived at the real palacio, i was greeted with a warm friendly welcome from the staff.As soon as i checked in my room , i found the room to be clean and spacious..The bad thing about the room was the bed. İt was just to hard.Then i found out that ,i can`t use the internet in my room, but can only use it in the lobby.Which was a bit disappointing.The location was great just 5 minutes walk from the sao sebastiao metro station and just 15 -20 minutes walk from marques do pombal where all the double decker bus tours are situated.The breakfast was GREAT, plenty of sausages,scrambled egg,mushrooms,deserts and cereals.Overall it was a nice pleasant hotel and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamer748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Lis, Gerente at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, especially for your kind comments about the friendliness of our team, which were really appreciated.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us!
Please be assured that also your other comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We have the pleasure to inform you that the wi-fi availability in the rooms is already planned.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Palácio Hotel.

Kind regards,
Luís Monteiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews