We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slice of luxury 2.”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #88 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

On returning to the Palacios I believed that things may have changed as with most hotels after a year. It had, for the better. We stayed on the 1st floor with a lovely balcony which is definitely needed in the hot summer in Lisbon.
On our return the same high standard of service was present with the added bonus of trying the health spa this year. It is easy to access and the services are excellent. The rooms are always well appointed if the carpets are a little stained from dirt but they are very clean. The only downside is the prices in the restaurant and bar . A small beer is 4 euros whereas twenty yards in a local bar it is just 1 Euro. As for the food, the same applies, venture out into this very safe area of Lisbon and try the local restaurants for lunch or evening meal and it costs 5 Euros for a salad,the fish is fresh and only 7-9 Euros and fantastic flavours.
When we did go out to the Barrio or to central Lisbon, a taxi back costs only 6 Euros, anymore and you are being ripped off.
Finally, a visit to this hotel with excellent breakfasts( free in some packages and well worth it) is comprehensive. A trip to luxury is the Real Palacio.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ejedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that we managed to get for a very affordable price. It is a little north of the main attractions, but a very short walk to the metro and a few short stations to Afalma and Bairro Alto etc. Close by there are several little coffee shops for a good, cheap breakfast. My only complaint would be that it was very hot on our arrival and the air conditioning wasn't working. We were very uncomfortable the first night and even phoned the front desk to ask to change rooms. There were no other rooms available, and by the second night it had cooled down considerably and we were fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericthebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The hotel was just very good. Excellent breakfast. Take care that the breakfast room is full very fast when you come in at 9:00 AM. The bar and terrace are good to chill. In general a very good hotel.

Room Tip: When using booking.com be aware that you book a room for the right aount of people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haislily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved our stay at Real Palacio. Rooms are quiet and fairly spacious by European standards. The room was clean with the exception of a carpet that badly needed replacing. Also the beds are very firm. After the first night we got accustomed to them.

Staff is wonderful. Everyone is very friendly and speaks English very well. They were so helpful;.
The location of the hotel was great. We walked most places and if we got tired the cab ride was inexpensive and short.

Breakfasts were the best on our entire three week trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel offrered good value for the money I paid. A quiet district of the city with good bus & metro services close by. My room was good, clean and confortable, free internet service.

Very good buffet breakfast but the hotel was very busy and you had to fight for a place to eat !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevedeToulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

How we ended up in this hotel is something of a mystery given that we usually stay in some rat infested flea pit on the dark side of town. For a start the foyer is large and impressive and the lift worked. The staff were attentive, informative and attentive. The room showed some signs of wear and tear with some interesting stains on the carpets but it was large, airy and scrupulously clean with a clean well lit bathroom. Free wifi was available in a large well appointed salon downstairs. At around 100 euro a night it was at the upper end of our budget but with the fantastic breakfast I thought it was not bad value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

hotel well located in Lisbonne , fine for tourists too.Does not deserve 5 stars but then the star rating is useless those days as differnet from one country to another. Friendly welcome, nice classical decoration.I had a room on 6th floor with small balcony. Carpet outside the room was indeed not very clean but room was nice and clean. Bed is a "board" , obviously do not know the "mybed" or "Waouh bed" you find in other palces. Area rather quiet.Breakfast ok , dining room underground , nice if it is not full as tables are very close to each other .Food ok .
pricing ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balay29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Real Parque
#131 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,477 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,403 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,820 reviews
Hotel Miraparque
#89 of 255 in Lisbon
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $50 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing