We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #87 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Real Palacio provided excellent value for money for our party of three couples on a winter break. whilst not bang in the centre it is close to about four metro stations. (Sao Sebastiao on the red line is about a five minute walk and is ideal if you arrive at the airport. Aeroporto is the first stop on this line Sao Sebastiao is the last). Probably about a 20 minute walk into town but might take longer coming back as it will be uphill. I say probably because we just used the metro all the time. The Viva Viagem card with credit for five days cost about 25 Euro each and can be used on tram, bus, metro, and "Elevadors" considering one trip on Elevador Sao Juste cost three Euros fifty I felt it was outstanding value for money.
Back to the hotel, room comfortable, good variety of breakfast choices, both hot and cold. I am told the gym was fine. There is a little cafe (Bica e Agua possibly ) about a 1 minute walk away where we got incredibly cheap wine and beer.

All in all the Real Palacio was a great location, maybe four stars rather than five, no pool.

Room Tip: Get the daily travel card, eat at least one pasta del nata (custard tart) Book a tuk tuk tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonrakerSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I took a short break here in early spring and were delighted with the location, the hotel, and staff. Although the room didn't have a double bed they made one up from the two singles. The location was ideal and being not far from the underground system, the metro, we popped in and out whilst exploring. The staff were always very helpful and friendly and even recommended a local festival to go to.
Bit disappointed with the restaurant which I felt was overpriced. I guess it depends whether you enjoy cooking at home....if you do, you may find it better to look outside the hotel as we did, apart from the one night we ate in.
All in all it was well worth the money and would return again.
Thank you staff!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location within walking distance of the Gulbenkian museum one of Europe's finest. Rooms are a tad small, but after all you are just going to sleep there. Also an easy walk to the Cortes
Ingles super shopping center. Not particulary close to downtown Lisbon. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Outstanding buffet breakfast. We were there for 3 nights on a Vantage tour

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights, 3 of which from a Vantage tour. Hotel was very comfortable and the included breakfast very delicious and a wide assortment. There was free WiFi in the lobby area and the hotel is short few block walk from the metro.

Room was plenty big and the beds comfy. We would return here -- no problem. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: If you drive here, get good directions. They don't make it easy to see street signs from the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

lovely hotel for the price. staff very friendly and helpful. agree breakfast room small
and crowded. Good variety and plenty food. Only gripe was that the hot food was not hot. room clean and good size Not noisy. would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berry12Ex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent hotel-- large rooms (by European standards) and very comfy. We did not find beds hard at all. Service is absolutely superb! Buffet breakfast is great and of very good variety. Location is excellent as well- in a lovely, quiet part of the city, near the park, with easy (5 minute) metro ride to the very centre or 15-20 minutes of leisurely walk. Yes, we may agree with previous posters that it's not the most luxurious 5* hotel (by most N.A. or W.Eurpeann standards), but the price/quality ratio is outstanding. Bottom line- we will definitely stay at this hotel when we return to Lisboa!
P.S.-2 things:
-Did I say that service was faultless?
- An amazing and reasonably priced restaurant (Sesenta) is across the street from main lobby- A MUST!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totallyi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely hotel, situated a little way out but easy to get to the centre via the metro or about a 20 minute walk. Lovely rooms, spacious and every thing you would expect of this class of hotel. Only slight gripe would be that the beds were a tad firm for my liking. Breakfast was also very good - loads of choice and we never had to queue or wait for a table even though there was a coach party of American tourists in the hotel for the first two nights (probably best to eat after 9.00 am if this is the case). A couple of real pluses for me was that the hotel bar had a happy hour between 5 and 7 and selected drinks were half price - it was lovely to sit with a nice glass of portuguese wine and some nibbles before we went out to dinner at a very reasonable price. Also the red metro line now runs directly from the airport to San Sebastiao which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel - door to door in less than 30 minutes - at the price we paid I would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisong963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Real Parque
#129 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#55 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#21 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,399 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
#53 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $79 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing