We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”
Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #88 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I have stayed already several times in the hotel. A bit outside the old centre but still in acceptable walking distance, the Real Palacio is a nice hotel. A bit dark from the inside it is however nicely furnished in palatial style and is very ell kept up. Staff are always extremely friendly and helpfull. The last time i got an upgrade to a larger room but i am afraid the smaller rooms are a bit more cosy. I felt a bit lost in such a large rool, sparcely furnished and giving a rather cool impression.
Breakfast, unfortunately in the cellar and thus no daylight (something the whole hotel is a bit deprived off) is nice and serves a variety of fine charcuterie, pastries, jams and fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

This was my 6th trip to Lisbon and I always stay in this area (Saldanha) simply because the center of town is too noisy, full of tourist trap restaurants (avoid the south end of Rua de São José at all costs!), people trying to sell you things on the street, pickpockets, beggars and general hassle.

The 5 star Real Palacio is situated in Saldanha, about 10 minute metro ride from center of Lisbon.

Saldanha is a nice quiet residential area with plenty of restaurants to choose from and great travel connections from/to the airport and into town.The Aero Bus stops about a five minute walk away (get off at "Picoas", turn right off the bus and take the first left, the hotel is at the top of the hill on the left) Other hotels I've stayed in the area include Hotel Eduardo VII (3*), Hotel Real Parque (4*)and Turim LIsboa Hotel (Rua Filipe Folque),(4*)

The nearest metro station São Sebastião on the blue line (Linha Azul) is less than a five minutes walk from the hotel: out of the door turn left, follow the street round the church and turn right. Take the second on the left (Rua Carlos Testa) and the stairs down to the metro are right in front of you.

São Sebastião is also the western end-of-the-line station for the red line (Linha Vermelha) which is handy for the Oriente station at the other end of the line for Parque das Nações (cable car, aquarium, Vasco da Gama shopping centre)

When returning on the metro follow the signs to the South (sul) exit, São Sebastião has two exits, north and south. From the south exit you can also enter the supermarket in the basement of the huge department store El Corte Inglés which on top the the metro station.

To operate the lifts in the hotel you need to insert your your room keycard which is of course great for added security.

The rooms are spacious enough, very clean, beds and linens are nice, lovely pillows, the bathroom is nice with a big bath (I'm 5"7 (170 cm) I could lie down in it), great water pressure (shower) and HOT water, plenty of storage space, soundproofed walls, windows open, blackout curtains, 35 TV channels (the usual suspects: BBC, CNN, all local channels, German & Italian channels, music channels)

Free broadband internet in the rooms, not wifi but you can borrow a cable from the reception (there are free wifi hotspots elsewhere in the hotel)

The breakfast selection is fantastic: loads of different breads & rolls, cakes, pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, hot and cold drinks, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, fried mushrooms, fried courgettes. They refresh all of the selection constantly.

The hotel has 2 restaurants and a bar as well.

Other facilities include a health & leisure center (cardio-fitness gymnasium, sauna & Turkish bath etc.)

All in all this hotel offers the comforts you would expect from a 5*. A great location to base yourself in Lisbon with plenty of local amenities (bars, restaurants and shops) nearby.

Nearest supermarkets: Pingo Doce: out of the hotel door turn right, go down the hill, the shop is on your right about half way down the street. El Corte Ingles: follow the instructions to go to the São Sebastião metro station (see below), down the stairs towards the metro, carry on straight for the supermarket, turn right for the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wardrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed for three nights - beds were terrible and there was noise from the street. You could also hear planes going over head. Front desk was okay - no problems except could not get an luggage rack for luggage - nice small bar - however, bar tender could not make a martini (lemon drop) even with instructions. More of a residential location - it was a good distance from the Hop-on Hop-off bus and the center of town. Very average - and no wifi in the rooms was a deal breaker. It is a good three (3) star - not close to a five (5) star..... would not stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbygrayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

It is unfortunately still possible to find hotels that charge you for WiFi access, but this one has none available. They have a limited service in the lobby (where at any point of time you can hear several Skype calls taking place), and the supposed one at the dining room did not work at all. Then I had barely lukewarm water in my room, and the person they sent to my room to check it out was arguing with me that this should be enough (certainly not for a bath, barely for a quick shower). Location is also not very good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and thought the hotel was very clean and the breakfasts were excellent. There was so much choice from cooked right through to cakes, pastries, cheese etc. Couldn't fault it at all. The room was a good size and it is situated in a quiet area, so there was no traffic noise at all. Metro just round the corner and so easy to travel into the centre of Lisbon. We felt it was a great location and very close to Edward Vll park. Disappointed there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and as this is a 5* hotel that is something that should be offered. Bed was on the hard side but didn't bother us too much. All in all it is a hotel we would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirralpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our first trip to Lisbon and this hotel was amazing. The front desk attendants spoke amazing English, which I didn't expect, were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice with a balcony, sitting room and soaker tub. The breakfast was above average for your European buffet. All very clean and updated. There is a michelin rated restaurant attached which was also very good. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. It was also close to the subway (Parque stop) and within walking distance to the park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharky8is2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The only reason I did not give this hotel a 5 star rating is because of the beds in our room. They were the worst beds we have ever slept on in a hotel, my wife had to put the bathroom robes on top of the mattress to try and soften her mattress a bit. Other than that this is an excellent hotel, plentifull and tast breakfast with everything you good possible want. Close to the downtown sector if you don't mind a 30 minute walk, 10 minutes by taxi. It is also close to the metro station, park, and may cafe's. The fitness room is well equipped and a very nice bar. Overall it is a very nice hotel and if you don't mind a hard lumpy mattress a good place to stay in Lisbon

Room Tip: See if they have a room with either a queen or king size mattress. Also higher rooms might have a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquatamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Real Parque
#131 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,477 reviews
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#19 of 255 in Lisbon
1,403 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,820 reviews
Hotel Miraparque
#89 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#61 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $50 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing