We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We discovered it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Real Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Real Palacio
Ranked #87 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We discovered it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

After many years in Lisbon for business, me and my group of cowerkers found this jewel piece almost by chance... well, since then (it was 2004, the hotel was open since a few days) we never "betrayed" it and every time we are in Lisbon, we book it with pleasure. A reason there must be... the staff is always smiling and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, silent and clean. Breakfast is excellent, just the room a bit downsized when groups are in. In 15' walk your are in Pombal, the heart of Lisbon and shopping is easy 5' to a Corte Ingles mall... we'll keep on getting to the Real Palacio for all of this reasons and for the excellent ratio quality/price.

  • Liked — location, people, general attitude
  • Disliked — bfast room tends to be too crowdy when groups are in, should be separated for other guests
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    856
    261
    73
    25
See reviews for
398
998
100
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2008

We stayed at the Real Palacio for 5 days and it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. We were allocated a room on the top floor of the old palce with a lovely balcony overlooking the narrow street to the rear of the hotel.
The staff were excellent, recommending restaurants and the service in the bar was impeccable. We spent a lot of time in there and tried most of the drinks. Thanks to Nuno my favourite cocktail is a capirinha - has to be tried! We stayed in the bar till midnight one night so I could buy my husband a drink to celebrate his birthday and at 12, Nuno brought out a tumbler filled with liquid and topped with a lit candle, along with a couple of small cakes to wish him happy birthday.
The only problem we had was a drainage smell in our room on the 3rd day and we were moved to another room on the same corridor so no probs.
Lisbon is a lovely city with lots to see and do and I recommend the trip out of town to Sintra - the view from the Moorish castle to the Atlantic coast is lovely. The weather in Feb was changeable but better than I expected and we rarely wore coats during the day. The ginginha bars are legendary, tiny little places with sticky cherry brandy all over the outside pavements. After two of these, I was brave enough to go up the Elevador de Santa Justa (I hate heights).
I highly recommend the Real Palacio and would definitely return.

  • Liked — The bar staff.
  • Disliked — The overflowing bathroom drain.
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lyndsey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

I would largely echo most of the previous reviews about this hotel, it’s comfortable, probably somewhere between four and five stars, and the service is very good. As the week wore on, my wife found the bed a little hard but I was fine. Breakfast was OK with a good choice and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. What set it apart for me though was the location. Many of the main tourist hotels in Lisbon are located on main arterial routes into the city. The Real Palacio however is on a quiet side street about a mile from the centre. There is little or no traffic outside the hotel and as it’s a fairly mature area there are a number of really nice restaurants within walking distance. The Colina on Rues Fhilipe Foloque was recommended to us by the reception staff and was very good. We ate there twice. For fado, we used Velho Pateo de Sant’Ana on Rua Almedida Amaral and had an excellent, albeit quite expense evening, of traditional Portuguese music and food.

Going back to the location, previous reviews have mentioned the close proximity of three metro stations, which are quite handy but we found the quickest way into the city centre was to use the bus. Turn right out of the hotel and a short walk down Thomas Riberio is the main route in from Saldanha . We rarely had to wait more than a minute and most buses go down to Rossio and continue on to Cais do Sodre. We bought a Colinas (seven hills) pass which cost 14 euro and gave an unlimited five days travel on buses, trains, trams and elevadores; a real bargain. The bus map, available from the tourist office in Rossio, is a bit of a challenge as it resembles a plate of spaghetti but is well worth the effort as buses seem to go everywhere and most stops have a visual display which lists the numbers and give an indication of the waiting time.

I would use this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bed was a little hard
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank RossyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Our accommodation was booked over the internet based on this website's recommendation. We were slightly disappointed with the hotel after reading all the positive comments.

Firstly the problems... When we arrived after a 30 hour journey we were put into a Deluxe King room as requested on a non smoking floor which was nice. However there was this intermittent "loud enough to keep one awake" noise from what I can only presumed to be the plumbing, all night which resulted in another night of poor sleep. When asked for a change of room I was kind of disappointed to note that the staff was already aware of this problem and still put us in it!. The replacement room was not a king room but a twin room with a poorer aspect. We were shown a few rooms before one was satisfactory mainly because of the smoke residual in the other rooms. Nevertheless, we were moved to a twin room which was generally satisfactory but a bit annoying as we requested a king bed. This trip was also our 10th anniversary. The hotel as a gesture of goodwill did provide complimentary dessert and port that evening.

Second issue is small but I think indicative of the below 5 star service of the hotel. I reported a blown halogen bulb in the bathroom on the second day to both the reception and the housekeepers and I am sorry to report that this is still not been rectified on the day we left,10 days later.

The staff are generally friendly and helpful when approached.

The breakfast provided was good value and acceptable. The only grumble one can have is that the cooked buffet menu did not change for the entire 11 day stay. However although not indicated, eggs can be cooked to order and there is enough of a selection to vary the menu from day to day.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet street and well located to both the large department store El Corte Ingles/cinema and metro stations which are efficient and cheap and provides easy access to all the tourist sites. There are a few restaurants within easy walking distant.

We did enjoy our stay in Lisboa and the hotel although adequate, did little to add to the overall experience. If returning to Lisboa, we would try a different accommodation closer to Baixa.

  • Liked — Free internet cable broadband access. Proximity to El Corte Ingles.
  • Disliked — The initial hassles, lack of room tea/coffee making facilities, limited english TV channels.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank hadtobeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiguelAfonsoSantos, General Manager at Hotel Real Palacio, responded to this review, December 13, 2007
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your preference and for taking the time to write about your experience at
Real Palácio Hotel.

In fact our team is very proud of the nice comments we have from our guests, because we try every day to exceed guest expectations, trying to make a memorable stay.

Working with people and for people is a day by day challenge, and sometimes things do not happen like we plan so we take this opportunity to apologize for any situation that did not happen like you expected.

We thank you for your comments because we take them very seriously and help us improving service and product.

We wish you Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely

Miguel Afonso dos Santos
General Manager
Real Palácio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Our 6 day stay at the Real Palacio turned into a 3 week one after my husband was admitted to hospital. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful during what was quite a difficult time. Staying in such pleasant luxury made all the difference but at the same time it didn't feel too impersonal. The staff were always attentive, breakfasts wonderful...and the hospital only 2 mins walk away....couldn't have planned it better!

Although its away from the centre of Lisbon the metro is only 5 mins walk away and its very easy to get to all the main tourist sights, and cheap too. Lots of eating places around but you have to hunt them out a bit. Can thoroughly recommend . Despite everything loved Lisbon -it has an understated charm and the people were so friendly.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rosie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

I booked this Hotel for my wifes 50th Birthday treat after reading reviews.We stayed in one of the Suites....and it was just beatiful very large, a nice basket of fuit and flowers on arrival ! Nothing was too much trouble and we found all the staff to be very attentive and profesional.We ate at the Hotel one night and found it to be very good value.The Spa area is small but very clean and treatments well priced.The location as other reviews have said is excellent.I highly recommend this Hotel it is well deserving of its 5Star rating!!Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PeterLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

A hidden gem in the heart of Lisbon. Excellent room, super-friendly and helpful staff, beautiful romantic decoration (an old palace that has been renovated), a wonderful restaurant and one of the best breakfasts one can get. Location is just by the big shopping complex Corte Ingles where you can get every type of food you can think of (yes, including tapas), clothing, cosmetics, etc. Subway station is within the shopping area, so you can get easily to the old downtown area (Baixa) in 10 min. The Calouste Gulbenkian museum is within walking distance.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#105 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#60 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#44 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alif Avenidas
Hotel Alif Avenidas
#64 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.4 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#35 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real Palacio

Property: Hotel Real Palacio
Address: Rua Tomas Ribeiro 115, Lisbon 1050-228, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#69 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Real Palacio 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Real Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Palacio Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing