We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Altis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altis Suites
Ranked #111 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the fourth time we've stayed at the Altis Suites in Lisbon however have only just decided to write a review. Overall our experience has been consistently excellent. The Altis Suites is very centrally located with large size rooms, good bathroom and kitchen. It's good to have a living room to spread out in rather than just being in one room. There's a supermarket just around the corner so you can stock up on water, wine etc. Didn't try breakfast in the hotel which was at extra cost. However, there are several cafés in the area where you can get a good Portuguese coffee in the morning. Other plus is that there is a taxi rank directly in front of the hotel if you are going to struggle with those gradients. Otherwise it's a short walk to the Metro. The staff are extremely helpful and polite and all speak excellent English. They even secretly left me a cake in the room for my birthday although I didn't tell them! They definitely go the extra mile. The only down side is that internet access isn't free. However overall would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    119
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
151
51
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were travelling with our 2 year old, so it was important to have plenty of space, separate bedroom and living space and a kitchen to prepare food and Altis Suites were perfect for our needs. We did not ask for rooms with a balcony and as a result the rooms we got did not have a view and were quite shaded, but when you are trying to get a toddler to have his nap on a sunny day, we were very glad of this. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and always made a fuss of our son, which he loved. We loved the location as it was quiet and safe with access to all the main areas of interest of lisbon. For those who like to mix shopping with relaxation, avenue de Liberdade, which runs parrallel to the road this hotel is on, is a must as it is designer label heaven.
On the downside the pool needs a renovation, but they had signs up saying they are in the process of building a brand new leisure centre.
There are about 8 steps inside the door, which we had to carry the pram up and down every time we went in or out, which we didn't mind too much, but it might seem a bit too much for some. As most of Lisbon is built on hills, it is not very pram/wheelchair friendly. Not suitable for anyone who has difficulty walking.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balony if you prefer brighter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having visited Lisbon twice now, lured back by the friendliness of the people, the joy of exploring the diversity of its neighborhoods and the delicious sustaining food, my husband and I just returned from our second visit in the last couple of years. We're a mature couple who have traveled often and are now enjoying the relative freedom of retirement, happily still with the energy to enjoy exploring on foot. In Lisbon the city of seven hills (somewhat reminiscent of San Francisco) this provided the daily opportunity for challenging daily adventures wending our way through the narrow winding streets of the older sections to strolling the expansive wide boulevards with the inlaid patterns of the cobblestones underfoot, stopping often for a Sagres beer or the wonderful rich "bica" (espresso coffee). Then there were the mealtime rewards of the wonderful hearty cuisine, always fresh, delicious fish, meats and potatoes as well as our daily dose of ripe sweet melons, cheese, portugese soups and crusty bread following visits to the castles, fascinating museums and near by Sintra.

On our first trip we budgeted more on the hotel and, although not much can put a damper on this city, it didn't add to our enjoyment. This time we looked for one in the location we knew to be perfectly located for tourists, (the beautiful lively Avenida da Liberdad) and one which that would offer attractive comfort, still within a reasonable price range. The Altis Suites answered all our needs. I fully agree with the overwhelmingly positive experiences on described on Tripadvisor. This is a terrific accommodation from all points of view. Although we didn't take advantage of the attractive kitchen facility (cooking clean up included), it would be a big plus for a family or anyone desiring to eat in a bit.

We stayed in two different rooms, one at the beginning of our trip and, after a week driving south through the Alentejo countryside and along the Algarve coast, we looked forward to returning to enjoy our last few days in Lisbon. Both times our rooms (bedroom, living room and hallway with ample closets), spacious, elegant marble bathrooms, furnishings were all perfectly comfortable and welcoming (slippers and robe included). Everything was beautifully cleaned daily. An added bonus is the availability to guests of the facilities of the larger adjoining Hotel Altis. The Hotel boasts a lovely top floor terrace with comfortable seating from which to enjoy a drink, a coffee and the spectacular view of the city. There's also a pool and exercise room (which, with the fun of walking of the city, we didn't need).

But, above and beyond all, was the wonderful welcoming friendliness and professionalism of the almost all young (at least to us) staff. From the smiles that greeted us whenever we returned "home" to the prompt responses to whatever we needed during our stay, we felt competently and always pleasantly taken care of.

Should we return to Lisbon, we'll definitely return to the Altis Suites.




Should we ever decide to go back to Lisbon, the Altis Suites would be our home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanwilbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Firstly let me say that our whole time spent in Lisbon was a delight. I consider myself quite a seasoned traveller and this is probably the friendliest city I have ever visited. That welcome extended to the Altis Suites where, without exception, the staff bent over backwards to make our stay special. Upgraded on arrival (always a winner), we were sent to a local restaurant for dinner where we enjoyed the most delicious food at very reasonable prices (Pedro, one street away). The hotel room was spotless, looked brand new in fact. The linen was excellent quality, gorgeous pillows and the bathroom like a high-end spa. We paid £98 per night including breakfast and I have easily paid £250 for the same level in different cities. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Do what we did and bring your Nespresso pods from home if you want to be a real cheapskate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFfromtheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location. I really enjoyed my stay in Lisbon and this hotel definitely added to the experience. The staff were super efficient and helpful. The hotel next door had nice coffee bar and business room with Internet access. Popped my head into restaurant which looked pretty dated and grim, also used the pool area which was pretty grubby. However, this is more FYI and should not detract from the Suites themselves.

I changed room on the 2nd night as I wanted a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together. My new suite was enormous and I felt it was really excellent value.

Will defnitely return here with my family. Lisbon is a really beautiful city and I can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Facing the town. I was in room 8c and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks1_uk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a week in Lisbon with the kids and stayed at the Altis Suites. We got a penthouse on the 13th floor, very spacious, very well equiped with a wonderful view over the old town of Lisbon and the Tejo. The people were friendly and helpful, the apartment clean and very well maintained during our stay, a sumptuos breakfast at a moderate price could be enjoyed at the adjoining 5star Hotel Altis.
The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to the old town and close to the sightseeing buses. The only negative things I could say were that the pool/gym could really need a thorough renovation and the same goes for the breakfast room (while the breakfast itself was delicious).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at Altis Suites last weekend, and thought it was excellent - loved the flexibility of having a self catering suite next to a hotel whose facilities you share. Had breakfast in hotel and used its pool - going to the hotel for the pool really was no problem, it is only 20yds from door to door and changing rooms at the pool were fine. Our family suite was exceptionally large and gave the 4 of us a lot of room to spread out. Kitchen and bathroom well appoointed. Staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful, advising on supermarkets, take out restaurants, opening times of attractions over the Easter weekend. The children were delighted with the cuddly toys they were given! Got free wifi, unlike previous reviews and it workedin my room, despite being told it might not. Couldn't fault our stay in any way... thanks to everyone at the Altis Suites...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC16WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#49 of 247 in Lisbon
631 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#87 of 247 in Lisbon
614 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#94 of 247 in Lisbon
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
185 reviews
The Vintage Lisboa
#53 of 247 in Lisbon
737 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
VIP Executive Eden Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Suites

Property: Altis Suites
Address: Rua Castilho 13, Lisbon 1250-066, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Altis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the the city centre, the Altis Suites is a Family Hotel located just next door to the Hotel Altis. It is the best bet for business, leisure or long stay travelers, offering all the comforts at home with privacy and functionality. Altis Suites feature 40 luxury suites and 2 penthouses, each with their own living room, bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom and parking. The rooms have a comfortable decoration, modern equipment, 24 hour reception desk, laundry, cleaning of the rooms, room service, broad band internet access, among other services. The clients staying at the Suites are invited to use the facilities of the Hotel Altis, such as Health Club, indoor heated swimming Pool, Restaurant, Coffee Shop, Bars, business centre, Shopping area, hair dresser. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Altis Suites is a member of the Classic collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing