We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect spot to enjoy Lisbon”
Review of Altis Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altis Suites
Ranked #107 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having visited Lisbon twice now, lured back by the friendliness of the people, the joy of exploring the diversity of its neighborhoods and the delicious sustaining food, my husband and I just returned from our second visit in the last couple of years. We're a mature couple who have traveled often and are now enjoying the relative freedom of retirement, happily still with the energy to enjoy exploring on foot. In Lisbon the city of seven hills (somewhat reminiscent of San Francisco) this provided the daily opportunity for challenging daily adventures wending our way through the narrow winding streets of the older sections to strolling the expansive wide boulevards with the inlaid patterns of the cobblestones underfoot, stopping often for a Sagres beer or the wonderful rich "bica" (espresso coffee). Then there were the mealtime rewards of the wonderful hearty cuisine, always fresh, delicious fish, meats and potatoes as well as our daily dose of ripe sweet melons, cheese, portugese soups and crusty bread following visits to the castles, fascinating museums and near by Sintra.

On our first trip we budgeted more on the hotel and, although not much can put a damper on this city, it didn't add to our enjoyment. This time we looked for one in the location we knew to be perfectly located for tourists, (the beautiful lively Avenida da Liberdad) and one which that would offer attractive comfort, still within a reasonable price range. The Altis Suites answered all our needs. I fully agree with the overwhelmingly positive experiences on described on Tripadvisor. This is a terrific accommodation from all points of view. Although we didn't take advantage of the attractive kitchen facility (cooking clean up included), it would be a big plus for a family or anyone desiring to eat in a bit.

We stayed in two different rooms, one at the beginning of our trip and, after a week driving south through the Alentejo countryside and along the Algarve coast, we looked forward to returning to enjoy our last few days in Lisbon. Both times our rooms (bedroom, living room and hallway with ample closets), spacious, elegant marble bathrooms, furnishings were all perfectly comfortable and welcoming (slippers and robe included). Everything was beautifully cleaned daily. An added bonus is the availability to guests of the facilities of the larger adjoining Hotel Altis. The Hotel boasts a lovely top floor terrace with comfortable seating from which to enjoy a drink, a coffee and the spectacular view of the city. There's also a pool and exercise room (which, with the fun of walking of the city, we didn't need).

But, above and beyond all, was the wonderful welcoming friendliness and professionalism of the almost all young (at least to us) staff. From the smiles that greeted us whenever we returned "home" to the prompt responses to whatever we needed during our stay, we felt competently and always pleasantly taken care of.

Should we return to Lisbon, we'll definitely return to the Altis Suites.




Should we ever decide to go back to Lisbon, the Altis Suites would be our home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanwilbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 296 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Firstly let me say that our whole time spent in Lisbon was a delight. I consider myself quite a seasoned traveller and this is probably the friendliest city I have ever visited. That welcome extended to the Altis Suites where, without exception, the staff bent over backwards to make our stay special. Upgraded on arrival (always a winner), we were sent to a local restaurant for dinner where we enjoyed the most delicious food at very reasonable prices (Pedro, one street away). The hotel room was spotless, looked brand new in fact. The linen was excellent quality, gorgeous pillows and the bathroom like a high-end spa. We paid £98 per night including breakfast and I have easily paid £250 for the same level in different cities. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Do what we did and bring your Nespresso pods from home if you want to be a real cheapskate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFfromtheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location. I really enjoyed my stay in Lisbon and this hotel definitely added to the experience. The staff were super efficient and helpful. The hotel next door had nice coffee bar and business room with Internet access. Popped my head into restaurant which looked pretty dated and grim, also used the pool area which was pretty grubby. However, this is more FYI and should not detract from the Suites themselves.

I changed room on the 2nd night as I wanted a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together. My new suite was enormous and I felt it was really excellent value.

Will defnitely return here with my family. Lisbon is a really beautiful city and I can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Facing the town. I was in room 8c and was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooks1_uk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a week in Lisbon with the kids and stayed at the Altis Suites. We got a penthouse on the 13th floor, very spacious, very well equiped with a wonderful view over the old town of Lisbon and the Tejo. The people were friendly and helpful, the apartment clean and very well maintained during our stay, a sumptuos breakfast at a moderate price could be enjoyed at the adjoining 5star Hotel Altis.
The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to the old town and close to the sightseeing buses. The only negative things I could say were that the pool/gym could really need a thorough renovation and the same goes for the breakfast room (while the breakfast itself was delicious).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugoBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at Altis Suites last weekend, and thought it was excellent - loved the flexibility of having a self catering suite next to a hotel whose facilities you share. Had breakfast in hotel and used its pool - going to the hotel for the pool really was no problem, it is only 20yds from door to door and changing rooms at the pool were fine. Our family suite was exceptionally large and gave the 4 of us a lot of room to spread out. Kitchen and bathroom well appoointed. Staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful, advising on supermarkets, take out restaurants, opening times of attractions over the Easter weekend. The children were delighted with the cuddly toys they were given! Got free wifi, unlike previous reviews and it workedin my room, despite being told it might not. Couldn't fault our stay in any way... thanks to everyone at the Altis Suites...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC16WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

+ location
+ great restaurant next door
+ near subway
+ large rooms
- no free wifi, it was expensive about 5 euros for 60 minutes.

Don't miss too see a football game when you're in Lisboa, both Benfica and Estoril are closeby.

Room Tip: Book a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Altis Suites is a very comfortable hotel. Our suite consisted of bedroom, nicely appointed marble bathroom, livingroom and kitchenette. The mattress on the bed was quite firm. The Altis Suites reception staff were friendly and helpful. Full hotel services, including breakfast, were available from the Altis Hotel, a few steps next door. We were told by reception that WiFi, included in our package, was only available in the hotel lobby, but we found it also worked in our 6th floor suite! Three Metro stops are within walking distance: Avenida, Marquês de Pombal and Rato, so it was very easy to get around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisgenoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Altis Prime
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
707 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#104 of 255 in Lisbon
680 reviews
Altis Grand Hotel
#86 of 255 in Lisbon
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
329 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
1,169 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 255 in Lisbon
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Suites

Address: Rua Castilho 13, Lisbon 1250-066, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#84 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $116 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Altis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the the city centre, the Altis Suites is a Family Hotel located just next door to the Hotel Altis. It is the best bet for business, leisure or long stay travelers, offering all the comforts at home with privacy and functionality. Altis Suites feature 40 luxury suites and 2 penthouses, each with their own living room, bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom and parking. The rooms have a comfortable decoration, modern equipment, 24 hour reception desk, laundry, cleaning of the rooms, room service, broad band internet access, among other services. The clients staying at the Suites are invited to use the facilities of the Hotel Altis, such as Health Club, indoor heated swimming Pool, Restaurant, Coffee Shop, Bars, business centre, Shopping area, hair dresser. A complimentary shuttle service is also available between the Altis Hotels and the airport. Altis Suites is a member of the Classic collection of Great Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Hotel Lisbon
Lisbon Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing