We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Ranked #44 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 night stay here - very comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts extremely good with loads of choice, pool area good and room fine though not as large as we had hoped. No-one explained the Executive room upgrade which we might otherwise have done. Staff pleasant and helpful but not really engaged with their customers - all rather distanced we felt.
Only small complaint was having to ring housekeeping twice for more t-bags and these were not replenished. However, all told a very good stay, location 2 mins from Metro station and buses ran past the hotel. We would return to Lisbon and very probably to the Corinthia.

Room Tip: Try to get either a corner room or one facing the front of hotel (neither of which we had!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding your recent experience at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are happy to learn that your overall experience with was pleasant. We also thank you for your comments regarding hotel facilities information are duly noted and I shall personally discuss with our Front Office Manager to improve the information provided.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon with the true hospitality service with craftsmanship of care in a perfectly crafted experience.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,138
    1,810
    405
    98
    48
See reviews for
1,209
2,372
192
839
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I have just got back from a 4 night stay at the Corinthia in Lisbon.
When we made the reservation we contemplated on whether we should upgrade to an Executive Room for all the extras that are included but then decided against it as we thought if we were already staying in a 5* hotel we shouldn't need to do this to have a good 'all round' stay and experience, but clearly after our recent trip we can see the hotel only gives it's Executive guests the 5* treatment & service you would normally expect from a 5* establishment.
I emailed the hotel in advance to say that our trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and requested a Superior Room with a view. When we arrived we were given Room 918 - we couldn't believe our eyes... it was awful! The room was so small you couldn't swing a cat in it. The carpet was dirty and heavily marked throughout and the view was horrendous - you looked straight into the rooms of the Mecure hotel opposite - to be honest it was like being in the middle of a dark, dingy grey high-rised inner city housing estate - it was horrible - we couldn't believe they have the cheek to sell this room as a Superior Room!
We went straight down to reception and requested to be moved - we were certainly not prepared to stay in the room for 1 night let alone 4 nights - it was a very disappointing start to our stay. After the receptionist spoke to his manager he reluctantly upgraded us to a King Room on the 17th floor (1712) - this time we did have a view. It was a much nicer room - with a decent sized bed and it didn't feel claustrophobic - it was clean too. The room was basically what we would expect of a Superior Room in a 5* hotel.
I feel very sorry for the guests that get put in Room 918 - it shouldn't be marketed as a 5* Superior Room - it's very misleading!
Breakfast at the hotel was fine - nothing special - the staff aren't that helpful - the majority seem quite miserable and many things on the buffet area don't get replenished as often as they should.
The service at the hotel on the whole is okay but not really what we are use to when staying or eating at a 5* establishment.
There seemed to be a real issue of having milk in our room during our stay too - they say there are complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in the room but they make it very difficult and I mean difficult to get any milk (fresh or UHT cartons).
One night we requested milk 3 times in a one hour period to then on the final time be given 2 miniature UHT cartons! Every night we encountered similar issues - we just couldn't see why the maid could not just have left some each day in the fridge in our room (like she had on the day we checked in).
We used the hotel pool and outdoor sun terrace one day - which were both fine. When you are sunbathing on the terrace though you do feel a little self conscious as it feels like you have the Millennium bank office staff looking at you from their offices that overlook the terrace
We didn't eat at the hotel - we choose to eat in the city centre and one night at the Brazilian BBQ restaurant around the corner which was fun. We had originally planned to eat in the hotel but one night we ordered room service and it wasn't that great - the club sandwich was pretty poor (there was one slice of bacon in the whole sandwich and the chicken had been replaced with an egg?) the fries were really oily and cold and so after this we choose not to dine in the hotel restaurant as I think this gave us an indication of the standard of food being cooked and at €29 a head we didn't want another disappointing experience.
I would recommend the hotel but I have to say it's not 5* (unless you pay extra for the Executive treatment!). We are due to stay at the Corinthia in Budapest early next year and are very much hoping it's more along the lines of the 5* experience we were expecting...
On the whole we loved Lisbon - it's full of character and there are many very reasonably priced places to eat some great fresh food (especially seafood). The amount of pointless graffiti does make you a little sad as it is absolutely everywhere and there are quite a few beautiful historical buildings that have been left to decay too which is upsetting and frustrating, but other than this its a fab city and we will definitely return.
If you are in the area of Alfama be sure to check out Cruzes Credo Café - it's great for drinks and lunch!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 918!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibbs0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your personal feedback

We are instantly surprised and disappointed that you haven’t experienced the true spirit of Corinthia “Craftsmanship of care” during your stay and please accept our sincere apologies.

Indeed, we are sorry to learn that the room you first occupied was not up to your expectations. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues raised on the room, room service and the milk being delivered at your room. We have taken your comments very seriously and the management team is already involved to take these concerns further and follow up with actions to avoid similar circumstances in the future.

May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Corinthia Hotel Budapest which is a beautiful historic property within our portfolio of Luxury Hotels.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon in a perfectly crafted experience.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I am amazed by the room size. It is quite big and well facilitated. Though it does not look like a new hotel, maintenance is very up to date. The staff are very friendly and attentive to your needs. There is free wifi. The hotel is at the great location of Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conniemlwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your experience at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

It is always our goal to make each guest stay enjoyable and special.

We also thank you for your trust on Corinthia and on your recommendation to others.

We look forward to welcoming back on a near future in the spirit of the Craftsmanship of Care.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

from the moment we arrived we were looked after , the hotel is lovely spacious we had a junior suite huge bed sofa lots of lamps . the pool is good and the garden with lots of loungers soft to sit on . we ate in the bar area in the evenings or you could have menu from the terrace and then there was the dining room very good. the staff are the best so many staff at breakfast plenty to choose from and the chef will make food for you.
you can eat outside if you wish. we used the aqua pool the jets are so good
I had a facial and a massage the best
we had to come home early due to an emergency they were so helpful emails printing so good thank you all so much

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room overlooking city end of corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadviser1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to comment on your recent stay here at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are delighted that you had a lovely experience her with us and that the service was smoothly. On behalf of the team I thank you for your kind words on the team and please be ensure that we will share your review with them.
We look forward to welcoming back on a near future in the spirit of the Craftsmanship of Care.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed here for three days and it has free wifi , free breakfast buffet( full breakfast not coffee and toast). The staff was eager to help. Clean , new rooms with all the extras. Trip was booked thru Cheaptickets and it was a HOME RUN as you never know . I would highly recommend this hotel. Metro is 3 minute walk and major train station 4 minute walk . Just a good 5 star hotel with a 3 star price !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denniscolligan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the experience itself and that you got a good deal.

Thank you for your preference and for recommending us to others.

We look forward to welcoming back on a near future in the spirit of the Craftsmanship of Care.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay at this excellent hotel. Very professional, friendly and helpful staff. Worth the extra for an executive room as service in the Executive Lounge was superb. Daniel and the rest of the staff ensured that all our needs were met. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. It was great to go back to the lounge for drinks and snacks after a day of sightseeing. Very good metro access to all areas. Train to Sintra available from the station next to the metro. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive room overlooking viaduct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llewcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post a review regarding your recent experience at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are always eager to make our guests stay enjoyable and memorable and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience here with us. Thank you very much for your praise on the team in general and on our colleague Daniel and please be ensure that your review will be share with him.

We thank you for your preference in future returns to Lisbon and we look forward to welcoming back at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon in the spirit of the Craftsmanship of Care.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

From check in to check out, the staff we encountered were excellent, friendly and professional. A real credit to the hotel. Stayed in an executive room on the 20th floor with great views and with access to the Club lounge which was great. Daniel who served in the Club lounge needs particular mention, from remembering drinks at breakfast and an excellent manner, in fact all were great. Couldn't fault the hotel, clean and spotless, and food excellent. A visit to Sintra is a must. Despite the hotel being away from the centre, this was not a problem as taxis are plentiful and the metro convenient. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, there was nothing to fault. Really enjoyed our time there and will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben M, General Manager at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post a review regarding your recent experience at Corinthia Hotel Lisbon.

We are always eager to make our guests stay enjoyable and memorable and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience here with us. Thank you very much for your praise on the team in general and on our colleague Daniel and please be ensure that your review will be share with him.

We thank you for your preference in future returns to Lisbon and we look forward to welcoming back at the Corinthia Hotel Lisbon in the spirit of the Craftsmanship of Care.

Yours Sincerely,
Reuben Mifsud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Lisbon

Property: Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Address: Av. Columbano Bordalo Pinheiro 105, Lisbon 1099-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#18 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Lisbon 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the city historic center, just a 3 minute walk from "Jardim Zoologico" Metro station, Corinthia Hotel Lisbon features a 3000 square-meters SPA with an indoor dynamic pool (wellness center), a fully equipped gym, an outdoor covered and heated pool and 13 treatment rooms. The Executive Club Lounge, unique in Portugal, with a 360º overview of the city of Lisbon comprehending an area greater than 2000 square-meters.All of the rooms have been tastefully decorated and fitted with LCD HD TVs featuring fully entertainment systems with satellite channels, video games, radio and video-on-demand. Each room has a private bathroom with free luxury toiletries, mini-bar, tea and coffee facilities. Wi-Fi access is complementary. Family rooms available, with a capacity up to 5 people, and children until 12 years old stay for Free in Room Only basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Corinthia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing