We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
Reserve with
BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $108
Cuisines: Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

If you want to find out about Portuguese wine from people who really know what they are talking about then this is the place for you. The cheese, fish and charcuterie are absolutely delicious and match the wine perfectly too. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    208
    45
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a very special place, with very special people. Do not expect a full meal, as they have limited small plates. That said, the wonderful assortments of cheeses, meats and sardines accompany their vast selection of Portuguese wine perfectly. Rui and his team make you feel very special, and let you taste as much wine as you need to make your selection. It is very important that you make a reservation far in advance, as the place is very intimate, and fills up quickly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blueghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile


Great little wine bar serving Portuguese wines and accompanying food. The staff is extremely kind, helping you select wines to go with your food and satisfy your taste. Excellent experience with great food, great wines and outstanding service.

Recommended !

Helpful?
1 Thank goldeen188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“I'll say it again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

What can be said that hasn't bed said in previous reviews? This place is a true gem. I made a reservation here because it was the #1 Lisbon restaurant on Trip Advisor. I wasn't sure I was going to appreciate a wine bar like this but it was probably one of my top 5 favorite dining experiences of all time. We sampled several different wines recommended by our server based on our tastes, and they matched our food selections perfectly. There was a cheese plate with some very special local cheeses that were the best I've ever tasted. If you love noshing on bread, olives, cheese, meats while sipping wonderful wines, don't miss this place. It is truly special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peter07043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An absolute must for wine and port lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We popped by early evening just for a quick drink on the basis of the reviews on here and ended up having a wonderful experience. The guy serving seated us at a table, talked us through the difference between ruby and tawny ports and I chose a 10 year old ruby and my husband a 20 year old tawny from the extensive list. He even offered to take a photo of us with the bottles showing the ports we had. The ports were both stunning (we shared each others) and we were given small tasters of cheese to go with the ruby and slivers of a lovely cake that complemented the tawny perfectly. A nice touch. They do platters of food but you would have to make a reservation - we didn't but we wish we had. We were just lucky enough to get a table because we arrived before the first reservations did and had time enough to enjoy our drinks and nibbles. I would highly recommend it - they really know their stuff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Musemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing