We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BA wine bar”

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
Reserve with
BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 4,229 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $117
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BA wine bar”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

A very nice place, with good atmosphere and friendly staff. The food was decent but moreover the service was brilliant (all my questions regarding different kinds of portos were answered in details). Were coming there two days in a row. Best if you want to taste good wines and learn something new about them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Михаил Ч
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    220
    47
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not for all”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was a little disappointed after reading all the amazing reviews. I think you need to be knowledgable about wine and be happy for that to be the focus of the meal. The food was limited.. Cheese & meat platters and tinned fish which were all nice but nothing special. The staff were very friendly and welcoming but I did feel quite awkward at points as the restaurant is tiny and we were only ones in there.

If you know your wine and want your dining experience to focus purely on that then I would recommend it but if you're foody like me.. Give it a miss.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAwinebar, Owner at BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ally,

We're sorry that your experience in BA was not as good as you expected. February is not the month for the place to be crowded...

As stated in our TripAdvisor's business description, BA is a traditional WINE BAR with tapas of cheese and charcuterie but WITHOUT COOKED MEALS.

The friendly and welcoming staff are here to help you choose the wines according to your personal taste, making the concept dynamic and fair, presenting a customized wine workshop for each table. Thus, this applies to those that do not know their wines, and you were given several to taste, before deciding the one to appreciate.

We believe that instead of reading "all" the amazing reviews, that are also quite clear, you should have read the ones like yours, e.g. one entitled "For serious wine buffs, not eaters", before deciding to visit us.

However, we think that your review is quite helpful for future visitors, in case they bother to read it. As for us, we don't understand how can it make us improve anything.

Thank you.

Yours truly,


Rui Rossa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“We agree!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This visit was completely based on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. And we have to agree with all of you. Fabulous!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_from_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's number one!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

After a very soggy day in Belem, we headed to Bairro Alto to a restaurant that had been recommended to us, only to find it was closed! We had looked at BA Wine Bar on TripAdvisor and thought we'd head over and see if we could get a table, although we fully expected to be turned away as it had such amazing reviews. As luck would have it, there had been a cancellation, and what a stroke of luck it was! We are wine lovers, and Rui and his team were so amazingly knowledgeable and accommodating when it came to tasting and choosing the different wines. We were also starving so ordered a meat and cheese platter and a couple of fish dishes including octopus...Just delicious! We spent a full three hours there and whilst it wasn't cheap, for an experience like that it was well worth it. It would almost certainly cost double in London! By the end, we had completely forgotten about the miserable weather, and I have to say it was the highlight of our trip. Pay it a visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greaves2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A taste of Portugal- not to be missed!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We made a reservation through TA for our first night in Lisbon- and I'm so glad we did! This tiny place(17 tables of 2) was packed, and many were turned away. One staff member told us that if you have a reservation the table is yours for as long as you want it. Literally, we tasted Portugal, region by region, wine and food specialties, and really enjoyed the knowledge that was shared with us. Over the course of several hours, we sampled 8-10 wines, many of the bottles being opened just for us! they really try to help you find wines you will most enjoy. We did! in addition, we ordered a small platter that included bread, olives and 2 kinds of olive oil, several hams and sausages and a delightful assortment of cheeses. It was a feast! Plan ahead and GO!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing