We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto

BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto
Reserve with
BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,809 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $107
Cuisines: Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Description: More than 150 wines by the glass. Port wine flights. One of the best selections of portuguese cheeses, and charcuterie, combined in mixed boards. Handmade canned fish delights. Rare and old Port and Madeira wines collection, also by the glass. Please note: this is a small and informal traditional wine bar with tapas of cheese and charcuterie that does NOT have any cooked meals; opens around 6pm and starts closing at 11pm, therefore the options breakfast/brunch and late night do not apply; closes on Mondays. Thank you.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had such a great time at BA Wine Bar, it is highly recommended. Excellent wine, excellent food. The owner and staff are very knowledgeable about all wines and the history of Portugal. We had such a wonderful experience, we went back a second time before we left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank NBouzanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    199
    38
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great winebar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went here in september '12, and absolutely loved it. Fantastic owner that offers amazing service, and let you try some different wines before you choose who you like the most. We also did a meat and cheese plate, and he let us try the wine with the food before we decided on the best match.

Also amazing on ports, and gave a great insight in Different port styles with his great knowledge.

must visit for all winelovers in Lisbon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JonKaizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“very professional service of great food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

lovely time spent there, a relaxing atmosphere and overall a fantastic experience.
don't travel with Lufthansa, there are better ways to fly

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Perfect day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent the day in Sintra and stumbled onto a perfect little restaurant. We ended up eating too much
and spending too much time in Sintra. We had reservation @ wine bar but arrived late just to apologize and drink a glass of wine and go home to bed. We all felt to stuffed to eat or drink.
Well, two hours later we were having so much fun and loving the whole experience. Somehow we found a way to stuff in more food and drink and still love every moment.
One person in our group is quite the connoisier of wine and even he learned some things.
We found a perfect tinto, perfect blanco and perfect port! Heck we even found the perfect olive and perfect oil. All this for about $20 per couple! Can't beat it...go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank mistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Weekend in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very small restaurant with maybe 6 tables. Rui is very knowledgeable and take hu=is time to explain everything about wines. I arrived early and everything was reserved and yet he still accomodated me. Be prepared to be patient. He does everything with some help from his partner. So you might need to wait while he serves others. everything was great and will come back whenever i travel in Lisbon. Perfect English is spoken here. i do recommend that Rui hires some help to get him going with the serving and the food part while he can solely focus on his wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank emka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to BA Wine Bar do Bairro Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing