We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy, friendly, trendy”
Review of Taberna Moderna

Taberna Moderna
Ranked #66 of 4,224 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $49
Cuisines: Portuguese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Description: A modern place with delicious true portuguese and spanish food, with a very exclusive and cousy bar with the best gin offer in Portugal. Close to Fundação Saramago (Casa dos Bicos) in most beautiful area of the city. Closed on Sunday and Monday.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“yummy, friendly, trendy”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The decor is modern minimalist and beautiful.The suggestion was to choose dishes to share. And it was a great suggestion.
We chose codfish with egg, black rice with cuttlefish, fried cheese and samoosas. The waiter suggested an amazing "Vinha Paz" red wine from the Dão area . Everything perfect and delicious. The price was very reasonable. It is a restaurant to come back frequently.
Great experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luiz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    158
    35
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't quite know what to make of this place !!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked a table for two for dinner on a Saturday night. It's very well decorated , and quite trendy , with nondescript music playing on a loop in the background. We were ushered into the bar and presented with a bewildering variety of gins , being expertly prepared by a couple of very friendly and helpful bartenders. The gins were fairly good to be fair , but at14 euro a pop might have contained a bit more of actual gin !! Notwithstanding that the service in the bar was very good , and very enthusiastic and ( seemingly ) knowledgeable. the menu was a bit difficult to understand in terms of waht would actually be presented - but the waiter was very helpful and again enthusiastic , and helped us make some choices. We had three dishes between two of us , and they were all exquisitely prepared and presented ................... we just felt that there was something missing. All three dishes were presented cold , and perhaps we could have benefited from at least one of the dishes being served hot , and maybe some carbs served as a side dish ?? All very slick and helpful with a helpful and successful selection of a nice bottle of rouge to accompany the meal. Quite a pleasant evening ........... but lacking something ??? Study the menu very carefully and ask in advance how the food will be presented ....... that's my advice to you !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motorman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food, G&T and service”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had dinner at the Taberna Moderna last Friday (25th oct.). We were greeted by friendly, accommodating staff who advised us on our choice and were kind enough to stop us from ordering too much food. I decided to drink G&T with my dinner and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the drinks. The food was modern, nicely straightforward, neat and soundly seasoned and cooked. Presentation was not elaborate, but nice and effective. We had the tuna tataki (with a lovely miso reduction and very good quality wasabi and pickled ginger), which we found very nice, especially thanks to the quality of the fish. The cod and urchin salad was fabulous, with extremely well judged balance and seasoning. We also had the Iberico "lagartos" ("secreto" for the Spanish-speaking) which were sensational. We would have loved to have a more generous serving of fried peppers with that fabulous pork, but I'm probably nit-picking. Finally the desserts were very nice: a very light chocolate mousse and a hot, sticky and crunchy banana crumble. The latter lends itself to some constructive criticism: it came with a ball of ice-cream in which we could find no flavour. My wife thought a really good vanilla ice-cream would have been a better choice. Personally, I would have played the British card a bit further and go for toffee (dulce de leche) ice-cream, in order to remind the diner of that quintessential British pud: the banofee pie.
All in all, a place I recommend and which I expect to visit again very soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Nice place nearby the esplanade”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

An relatively small but well done assortment of tapas including delicious calf liver and duck medallions. Pretty affordable - €150 for 7 people at lunch including 2 bottles of wine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It keeps as one of the best places for a late diner!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It has the best Gins in town and the concept of sharing the dishes works very nicely with a group of frindes. I specially recomed the "Arroz de polvo".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Moderna also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taberna Moderna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing