We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty shellfish rice”
Review of Cervejaria Ramiro

Cervejaria Ramiro
Ranked #113 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Very tasty shellfish rice”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is situated in what i would class as a more selubrias part of Lisbon being about a 5 minute walk from the Praca da Palma along the Rua Da Palma.
You are greeted with shellfish and normal fish in window chillers that shows you whats on offer.
Our Portuguse was limited and the menu is mostly in Portuguese but the waiter was able assist.
Lucky for us a couple nearby was eating something that took our fancy.
It turned out to be seafood rice which at 34 euros thought a little expensive but decided to give it a try.
It comes in a large pan big enough for two to share so not that expensive when you work it out.
However, its packed with lobster, prawns and clams and not the odd bit and all bound together in a tasty wet resotto style rice whose tasty complimented the shell fish.
Shame we didnt try this earlier as would have liked to have gone back to try some of the other offerings that came out whilst we where there.

Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

6,675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,181
    1,770
    425
    163
    136
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The place is very popular! We were a party of 6 and had to wait about 20 minutes, as we arrived in a busy hour in the evening (around 20:00). However, the wait was worth it! The place is very busy and waiters are dashing around, but you don't feel neglected. And the seafood was amazing! Particularly enjoyed the edible crab.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gyoshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for seafood lovers”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant in Lisbon, catering for both locals and tourists. The place is packed and queues form in the evening but somehow there is a rhythm that prevents collapse and people get quickly settled. Service is extremely efficient, friendly and treating everyone most attentively, which is remarkable in a restaurant so packed. The quality of the seafood is very good. We had garlic prawns, clams and a fabulous crab, together with two large "cigalas" that were fine but perhaps not worth the high price tag. The recommended Alvarinho was perfect to accompany the food. A highly recommendable place if you like seafood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Seafood is as fresh and tasty as can be; I can still smell the garlic. Finish off the meal with a steak sandwich. Place was so good we went 2 nights in a row. Menu is on iPad - pick your language. Place does get very crowded, but not at American dining hours :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mehaul11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

For the best and freshest seafood in lisbon, there is a line mind you. we visited them on sunday evening, the place was bustling with locals and tourists alike. after 15 minutes wait we were shown to the bar where we started off with Pata Negra, a melt in your mouth dark ham. we ordered oysters, scampi, tiger prawns, snails, barnacles. top quality food , finished the meal with a steak sandwich.

the Ambience and the service was very good, quick and attentive, the manager very gracious, took very good care of us.while waiting in line he bought drinks for us. highly recommend this place for the best seafood, price wise was reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dviegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Ramiro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cervejaria Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing