We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crab abd a mallet-yum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cervejaria Ramiro

Cervejaria Ramiro
Ranked #88 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Edmonton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“crab abd a mallet-yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a seafood lovers dream. Fresh seafood,bread and that's it . Full of locals and colorful charactures and the food is great. Nothing to do but wear your napkin as a bib, pick your crab or lobster , smash with a hammer and enjoy. The neighbourhood is a bit sketchy at night-we took a cab from our hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank magpie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,808
    1,601
    371
    136
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Fine Dining and You'll Be Happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place is a place for local folk and they know what they're doing with seafood, mostly shellfish. It is a bustling place that you most likely will have to wait in line to enter, but don't be deterred, it's still good. We were well feed and loved the garlic shrimp. I'm not sure I'd ever go back, but I'm glad I went.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nzrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Go for the experience, not for the cooking!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The seafood in this place is great; but the cooking itself is average. We ate giant king prawns (€34 for 2 of them!) and garlic prawns; both of which were a bit too over cooked. We also had some raw oysters, but didn't account for how much the shell weighs so paid lots for them too! They were pricey oysters, but nothing too special in my opinion. Long queues and a long wait, but service is friendly and (perhaps a bit too) fast. It was a good experience and happy to have tried it, but you can get better seafood dinners for better prices in Lisbon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaside_Maisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best meal in 3 weeks travelling through Portugal and Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the best meal I had in 3 weeks travelling through Portugal and Spain.

We arrived at 10.15pm a Saturday night and needed to wait around 45 minutes for a table, since the place was full and there were a few people waiting in front of us.

During this time the wait staff were very friendly and actually gave the wife and myself beers while we were waiting in line, which is a first for us.

Since our portugese is limited, needless to say, we were very pleased when the waiter pulled out an i pad with the full menu in English

We ordered the Pata Negra 5J Sanchez Romero Carvajal for starters, which was excellent, melt in your mouth styled black pig. We then followed this up with a generous serve of garlic prawns (la Gamba Aguilho), along with a large bowl of razor clams

As brilliant as all this food was, it was only a preliminary to the undoubted piece de resistance -a huge mud crab, pre-cracked and brillantly displayed. The crabs claws seemed to be bigger than my wifes hand !

This was all washed down with a few beers, a bottle of green wine and a vodka infused Lemon sorbet to provide a touch of extra indulgence,

The freshness of all the seafood and the excellent service resulted in an amazing meal which we happily paid 80 euros for.

If you are ever in Lisbon, do not miss this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djfunkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viseu, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A great restaurant with a fantastic food, The grilled shrimps is the most fabulouse we have ever eat. After the tour in ByBoat a dinner in Ramiro is the best way to end the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dadinha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Ramiro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cervejaria Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing