We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Seafood”
Review of Cervejaria Ramiro

Cervejaria Ramiro
Ranked #117 of 4,224 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“OMG Seafood”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Yes!!! This place is totally legit. I was salivating when I saw this on No Reservations and it delivered big time. Lots of wow dishes. Clams, shrimp, steak sandwich all great. Giant Tiger Prawns were insane. Good god! Huge crowds, get here plenty early.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,254
    1,791
    436
    168
    145
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spot”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

As others note, the place is very popular with locals and tourists, seeking simply prepared, fresh seafood at a reasonable price. We started with the clams, shrimp and garlic and pork sandwich, and finished the dinner with two amazing grilled giant prawns. All were the best we had during our 4 day visit in Lisbon. The service is friendly and fast, with the narrow dining room bustling with hungry dinners. Nice selection of tap beer and wines to compliment your meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BYOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had dinner at Cervejaria Ramiro with my Portugese friends. We ordered crab, garlic shimp, ham, Clams, plus lemon sorbet vodka as dessert. My friend also ordered Sirloin steak sandwich. The seafood was fresh and delicious, I had a bit of the steak sandwich the meat was very tender. Before we left Lisbon we went again for lunch, and this time we order tiger prawn.
The price is not cheap, average of 25-35 per person.
The restaurant uses tablet as English menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigpawbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heerlen
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Seafood porn!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

One and a half hours in line to get in, but it was worth it. Great atmosphere,incredibly fresh seafood and a good price / quality ratio. When you arrive first go to the owner say you're there because he keeps on who gets what table.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyrille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Go for the food, go for the fun!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

First, understand that there are also reviews of this place under just "Ramiro" -- while TA gets it sorted, check the address and you'll see it's the same place. I agree with Kookoolarue above, it's got to be a "favourite joint" in Lisbon as a "joint it is" -- super-busy, bright and basic but the food is good and the experience is better. And I am definitely not one who waits in line for 45 minutes! (Believe they only take reservations -- at least on weekends -- for larger groups.)

Anyway, the line-up was almost as much fun as the restaurant -- polite, laughing at themselves and mostly good-humoured (except for one self-important dude who kept trying to convince the guy on the door that he and his party should be moved to the front of the line -- unsucessfully, I'm pleased to add). You can order a drink and a tapa once you're close enough to front of line to get someone's attention. The local couple behind us with an obviously bored and hungry 6-year old refused to go ahead of us as we were "visitors", even though we tried insisting.

Once in, you may find yourselves sharing a table. And that's half the fun. Nice local guy at our table showed my guest the Portuguese way to crack crab and the lovely Austrian couple at the next table just laughed when crab juice flew their way.

Our server was fast, efficient and equally good-humoured despite the mob. Throwing things at the table is house-style and if a fork goes astray, he'll bring another. Menu (at least English one) is brought to you on a tablet PC and you get good advice on what to order and when you're tempted to order too much. A stack of toasted, buttered bread appears and so does your wine. Then for us, the crab and ... were they the langoustine? Can't remember but a big shrimp-like creature split down the middle. Crab was delish. The langoustine, I'm pretty sure, was partly cooked in advance and then thrown on the grill as it was a bit rubbery but tasty. Wanted garlic butter to zest it up. At first, we thought we wanted some frites with it all but you know what? Bread and seafood were just fine. Reminded me of eating lobster at a fish-shack in Nova Scotia.

We had as much as we could eat, a half-bottle each of red and white and the bill wasn't more than 65 euro with a good tip. I'd definitely go back when I'm not too hungry to wait in line.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Ramiro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cervejaria Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing