We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem on the top of the hill.”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #2 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
springfield, illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem on the top of the hill.”
Reviewed November 16, 2009

A wonderful boutique hotel inside the castle gate on top of the hill in the Alfama Dist. The staff is absolutely great. When IBERIA went on strike they took care of us and even helped book our flights later in the week. We had room 21 on the upper level with great views of the water, city and castle. Thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the old part of the city. The honor bar was a real asset and a nice way to have a beverage prior to leaving for dinner. Very, very pleased with our stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    147
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
69
595
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Although somewhat hard to locate, eg for the taxi driver who tried to drop me off at a totally different location, once found, this is a little haven. It is in the castle grounds, so you can see and hear people in the castle, but not to any intrusive extent. The staff are very helpful and the room, although small and with a narrow wardrobe which could have been annoying if I had been staying for longer, was clean and simple. Molton Brown products in the bathroom. Free bottle of port on the table. Lovely communal areas with peacocks patrolling on the terrace. Enchating and unique.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed with this chain before so had full confidence in them and did not pick this hotel but signed up for the discount program that would inform you 3 days prior which of their hotels in Lisbon they would book for you. This was not at the top of my list and I would not have picked it othewise but was a pleasant surprise. The first day you arrive you can stay at the hotel and still walk around and tour the castle so you accomplish something and also relax. I would pay the premium for a better room as the hotel is so small you will not be able to upgrade when you arrive and there is a difference between some rooms having double beds and being smaller. Reading others reviews I stopped at the wine bar, but better than that at night is to walk past the wine bar and turn right at the first street to go to Chapito. They have a tapas bar downstairs with entertainment at 10pm, check their website. The upstairs restuarant has a great view and I had a table at the window looking out at the bridge. Have the hotel make a reservation if you are eating there to make sure you get a window seat. I liked it just as much as the castle restaurant but either way is good. A rental car was delivered to the hotel when I was leaving and I was glad I went two days without a rental so I knew what to expect getting down the narrow hill. If you are older it can be a tougher walk, it is a steep hill. The downside is you don't get out to the nightlife action because it is quiet there I think you see the area where your hotel is more than anywhere. The courtyard is quiet and relaxing altought the photos made is seem bigger and hinted it had a pool. It does not. I liked it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

My wife & I had a wonderful stay. Incredible location. Friendly service. Nice clean rooms. Lots of character. I would higly recommend Solar Do Castelo

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterwolde, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed here for four nights and had a wonderfull time. The staff is very nice and the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The location, tucked away next to the castle is absolutely marvellous.
We liked the little courtyard best. A perfect quiet spot to retreat to and relax with a glass of wine from the bar. The bar is at your own disposal so serve yourself to a large array of drinks with all kinds of complimentary snacks. Or if you wanted, ask to be served. The living room is very beautiful, not much used because of the great weather in Portugal. The rooms are not very large but big enough and not like the major hotel rooms 13 in a dozen.
Some people say its a hell of a clime. Yes of course it is a clime its built on a unique spot next to the castle. They tend to built those castles at high points in medieval times. And lisbon is built on hills !!! so whereever you go in lisbon you're bound to take some hills. We never found it a problem. I can imagine that if you have difficulty walking it can be inconvenient but public transport and taxis seem to come everywhere in lisbon through the narrow streets even at the front of the hotel and the street to it is as wide as one car ;-).
Also there is array of different types of good restaurants close to the hotel so you dont need to go all the way down at night. We always ended up our nights at the winebar do castelo (minutes away from hotel). Very excellent wines by the glass and a perfect ending before going to bed. The waiter is full of storys and the music is pleasant. i am not sure if it will exsist long because we never saw a lot of people, i think because he doesnt serve dinner apart from excellent snacks like cheese.
~
Room 11 with a fantastic view at the castle. double bed and dressing table, smal hallway with closet and seperate bathroom with bad shower combination. Of course toilet and sink and "bidet", who uses those little foothbaths ?
Breakfast excellent, with jams, cheeses, ham, fruits, cereals, juices, champagne, eggs, sausages, lovely pastry (belem pastry), 6 or 7 different types of bread .... well lots of things
A quiet little gem

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in July, the last stop on our 2 week Spain-Lisbon trip. When I walked into this charming boutique hotel, I wasn't sure if it would live up to my expectations, but it did. It is charming and beautiful! You feel like you are staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. Our room was #2, it was so lovely. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. It was such a cozy room.
The common areas of the hotel are just as charming as the room. The courtyard with the peacocks is so realxing in the morning and after a day of walking up and down the Lisbon hills. And the inside area is so comfortable as well. The rooms don't have minibars, but there is a community bar and snack area, which we loved.
The staff is wonderful! They are all so helpful they made recommendations on shops to buy port, cafes to visit, trams to take, and made reservations for dinner, taxis, etc. I can't say enough good things about them!
The location of the hotel was great as well. It is in a residential neighborhood, but there are also many cafes nearby because of the Castel that draws so many tourists.
We will stay here again for sure when we come back to Lisbon and I wish every hotel I stay in was just like this one!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeezTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The hotel organised a Private Transfer from the airport at our request and it was worth the cost as hotel is tucked away next to the castle. We were greeted nicely and given lots of advice on what to do in Lisbon. The hotel is real class, room excellent and magnificent courtyard where you could sit and drink under the summer sun. Hotel had an honesty bar which was fairly priced. If your want class in a perfect location try this one. I now know why the sister hotels in the chain also feature in the Top 10 reviewed hotels in Lisbon.
Be prepared to walk up and down the hill to the centre or jump on the tram or bus with your Lisbon Card. The card allows use of the trains to Cascais and Sintra both worth a visit.
Hotel recommended places to eat, we went to Doca6 and experienced our best meal during our stay.
They know how to look after guests, worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigecathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,295 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,696 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 248 in Lisbon
897 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing