We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #4 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

My partner and I have just returned from 3 wonderful days at the Solar da Castelo - and we wanted to praise this great hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for the helpful reception staff - be it ordering us taxis, recommending sites to see (and importantly, how to get there!) or booking restaurants for us.

The hotel's location is superb, right next to the castle, and only 5kms from the airport (but beware of unscrupulous taxi drivers who may try to overcharge you - we paid double!)

Our room was slightly small, but perfectly formed, and the bathroom came stocked with fab Molton Brown products.
Whilst there is no restaurant, there is an honesty bar in the spacious lounge and breakfast is a help yourself arrangement, with fresh coffee, pastries etc which you can have in the sunny courtyard when the weather permits.

All in all this hotel exceeded our expectations, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other trippers!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    137
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
535
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

We spent our one night in Lisboa at the Solar do Castelo, and were delighted with the hotel, the staff, and the location/views. We had dinner at the nearby restaurant in the castle San Jorge. We enjoyed the peacocks in the courtyard.
Advice re arrival: if you take the airport bus to the city center, you will need a taxi up to the hotel, as Bus 37 does not allow baggage. Taxi is 20 euro from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gidpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

After staying at a not-so-nice hotel for 2 nights, we transferred to Solar Do Castelo. We were travelling with our 1year old child, and whilst the other hotel had made us wait for 3 hours before managing to give us a room, made us buy our own kettle to sterilise bottles, and couldnt care less that we were first timers to Portugual, the staff at Solar Do Castelo were wonderful and welcoming, accomadating and gave us a choice of rooms that would better suit a toddler. When our child was sick they were very helpful and always seeking to do that little bit more. We had a lovely room with a view of the river, and Lyre birds sunning themselves as we ate our breakfast downstairs in the mornings. they were helpful in pointing out good sites to see, would organise taxi's and gave us subway/bus/train info. Very happy with the staff and hotel.

  • Liked — site, proximity, view, staff
  • Disliked — rooms are a little small, and there are stairs
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank merrySaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2009

Very cool hotel. Modern design in the old kitchen of the castle. Stainless cable stairs, glass doors from lobby to interior courtyard (complete with peacocks.)

This is just a cool, well priced hotel. It's on top of the hill at the castle. Do not drive a car. I repeat DO NOT drive a car. You'll hurt yourself, damage the car, and rip more than a few peoples' laundry off the line in the process of getting lost trying to find the hotel.

The castle is actually a restaurant now, with a great view, and very good, reasonably priced food. Highly recommended.

Hotel is small, clean, unique, an excellent value, great location, and recommended.

It's just simply cool.

  • Liked — location, architecture, unique.
  • Disliked — Bed was a bit hard.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N6812T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

Solar do Castello it´s inside the walls of the saint george castle, that is in the old part of Lisbon.
It was fabulous. Me and my wife went to lisbon to celebrate our 50th years weeding.
We stayed in a beautifull room with view to the charming garden. In the morning they have a american buffet in the living room. All the staff are very nice, but Martha and lissete were amanzing with us. They recomend 2 restaurants with fados -that it's portuguese music - that had a very tasty food , Casa de Linhares and Faias.
Unfortunatly, the only thing that we didn't love was... to leave.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank uk2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

We could only spend 2 nights at the hotel, but it was great. An oasis of calm looking out over the castle and city.

The staff were excellent, providing advice and useful tips as well as organising restaurant bookings and even retrieving a mobile phone that had fallen out in a taxi – delivered back to us the following morning before we left for the day.

The rooms have been described as small – but ours was perfectly fine for two people and a few nights. Bathroom was small, but had everything one needed including very large and soft bath towels.

Breakfast and afternoon tea was in the delightful courtyard – a great place to relax after a hard days walking all over the city.

Location wise, hotel is next to the castle, so very nice restaurants all within walking distance, from top of the range to simple (but good) food restaurants.

Getting into the main part of town is easy, just walk down the hill, of if that is too much hop on the mini bus. Getting back – take the mini bus as it’s a long climb up the hill.

Would we come back – definitely – this is a place for leisure

  • Liked — Great staff and great setting
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PLBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We were on our honeymoon. We have booked some other hotel on Lisbon city centre which really disappointed us. We already knew about Solar do Castello from a site on the net and we decided to take a closer look in order to switch hotels.

So we did and we were so lucky that Solar do Castelo had a marvellous room available for us. At first sight we were just impressed by its functional design and a balance of being modern but simultaneously keeping its traditional roots.

It is situated on the side of Sao George Castello in a wondeful neighbourhood. You just want to keep walking... Solar do castelo has an amazing patio where we took our breakfast as well as sat there on the afternoons and evenings when we were exhausted from our city tours.

Room service: Great!
Atmosphere: Great!
Breakfast: Great!
Receptionists were willing to advise us about our Lisbon city tours and were very friendly!!!

It was more than noticable that every little detail (hotel design & services) was given a lot of attention. We left Lisbon with the best memories of its monuments, neighbourhoods etc but also of our staying at Solar do Castello. We just could not find any suggestion for the hotel management when we were filling up the leaflet. We just could not think of anything not appropriate or something that had disappointed us.

As I already said: Just Perfect for our honeymoon!

A just married couple from Greece (32 yrs old)
Mando & Nikos

p.s. do not be afraid of its distance from a metro or railway station because there is a frequent bus Nr 37 which will take u in 10 minutes at most to Rossio Sq.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ngeorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing