We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #5 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 14, 2014

lovely people, lovely interiors, great breakfast. I dont think any more needs to be said but tripadvisor informs me otherwise - 200 minimum so I have to keep on typing until that number is reached or it isn't accepted - just gone over!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jandasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 902 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Perfect little oasis hidden up the cobbled streets at the top of the hill, the hotel is part of a former palace backing onto the castle walls. The hotel's finish is to a very high standard and a beautiful mix of old & modern. We stayed in room 2, overlooking the castle grounds and it was surprisingly quiet - the only noise came from the birds & peacocks (which live in the castle grounds but really aren't a problem). The location is great for exploring the Alfama district (for Castle, Catherdral & Miradouro Santa Luzia) but also close enough to Baixa / Chiado / riverfront Centro commercial & Barrio Alto. If you have mobility problems though, I'd recommend hotels in the flatter area of Avenida rather than this one, due to the cobbled streets and fairly steep walk up the hill. Lisbon is built over a number of hills though so you can't avoid them completely but there is lots of public transport to choose from including trams, the metro, tuk tuks & buses!

The staff at the hotel were very welcoming & helpful, ringing up restaurants to make bookings for us and advising on places to visit. They speak multiple languages and really made our stay all the more pleasant. Breakfast offered a good selection of food and was well presented - lovely to be able to have breakfast anytime between 8am and noon. The honesty bar was well stocked and the hotel has a lovely courtyard to enjoy your drinks. The rooms are clean, wonderfully presented with lovely bathroom, decent space for clothes, a safe and free wi-fi, a nice final touch is a decanter of port in the room with two glasses. All in all, I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small and friendly hotel in a great location for exploring Lisbon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kathryn7xpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst exploring Lisbon. The hotel was fantastic, lovely architecture, friendly staff, great rooms and a good breakfast. All in all made for a brilliant stay, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something a bit different in Lisbon.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Clokeacola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed in room #8, overlooking the narrow cobblestone street. The room was perfect! So much charm, with the high wood ceiling and exposed beams. It was really a very romantic room. There is plenty of closet space, great wifi connection, and everything you need- including a lovely decanter of port wine with 2 glasses waiting! There was also a hair dryer. We did not have the correct adapters, but the front desk gladly provided them. This is just a lovely, unique hotel. The front desk staff is just amazing. They speak perfect English and go out of their way to ensure you are happy with everything. We toured the adjacent castle- which is equally lovely! The views are simply amazing! There is even a little cafe on the castle grounds. Yes, the peacocks do make some noise. But honestly, not enough to complain about for this light sleeper. And they were so lovely to look at! Their occasional noise just added to the unique experience in my opinion. With the lovely narrow cobblestone streets, amazing views, and elevation comes the only thing you have to be aware of- getting to & from. Definitely not an area for anyone with physical limitations. It is a pretty, but steep and uneven walk. On our return from a walk down to the main streets, we caught a motorized version of a pedicab (open air- sort of golf cart like- they were available all around the shopping streets) from Rua Augusta (pedestrian shopping street) to the hotel door for a flat 10 euros. The taxis- as warned by many on these travel sites- are a problem. Many will profess they cannot drive all the way to hotel door- too narrow- but that's not true. Ours did both directions. We caught a taxi in the long line at airport- big mistake- this guy did not use meter and showed us a "chart" of rates- charged us 21 euros (for what hotel said should have been 10-15 max).On the return, we had the hotel call the taxi for us and before getting in we asked that he use the meter- he did, and with the standard baggage charge added, it came to 14 euros. So before getting taxi- make sure they will take you to the hotel door (tell them around corner from the castle)- and that they will start the meter and go by meter charges. Otherwise- don't get in- and don't let them grab your luggage until you have hashed this out. Other than taxi issue, this was a wonderful stay! We would absolutely stay here again! I've never met nicer front desk personnel- both the woman and young man who worked each shift were just the best!!! Lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abarry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Location: Sited along the exterior wall of Castelo Sao Jorge (former Moorish castle), and located in one of the most traditional and vibrant Portuguese neighbourhoods in Lisboa; Solar do Castelo is about as ideal a location as you'll find in Lisboa. Its mix of romantic 17th century style and modern conveniences make it an ideal hotel for couples. The location is not well known by all Taxi drivers departing the Airport, so be sure to refer them to the Castelo Sao Jorge (which they will know). Taxi trip from the Airport was approximately 26 Euro at 08h00 on a weekend morning, but our return trip to the airport at 05h00 on a weekend was only 12 Euro. The area of the Castelo is flooded by tourists by 10h00 each morning, so I'd recommend getting your tickets to the Castelo (and you should see it) as soon as the ticket office opens at 09h00.

I noted below in the room recommendations that you're likely to hear some groundskeeping noise from the Castelo Sao Jorge every other morning or so. The hot topic on this board appears to be the Peacocks, so I'll comment on that too. Yes, you hear them. They start yelling at about sunrise, but it dissipates quickly. The peacocks live in the Castelo Sao Jorge, not the hotel, so they're not exactly in your hotel room with you ...although we did have one hang-out with us on the balcony. We loved the peacocks, and unless you're an extremely sensitive sleeper, they shouldn't deter you from staying at this hotel.

The Alfama District of Lisboa is within easy walking distance (you're seeing traditional restaurants and cafes within your first 5 minutes of walking. I will say that this location is best suited to moderately fit individuals. The cobblestone streets are uneven and would not be well suited to those with poor balance or physical disabilities. My girlfriend and I are very active, but even we were commenting on the soreness of our calves as we walked the 1km from the lively shopping district of Bairro Alto (lowertown) back uphill to our room at the end of a day touring. You can't avoid the hills, so you'll need to embrace them or look elsewhere in Lisboa. We visited all the major tourist destinations during day trips within Portugal, but if you like to immerse yourself in the local culture - you can do no better than spending your entire vacation in Alfama District. The locals are warm, and the food is fantastic. We had the fortune of visiting in June, during Festa dos Santos Populares (Popular Saints Festival) and stumbled upon the Alfama Bazaar (at the square beside the Sao Miguel Church) and learned that every weekend night in June is like an outdoor music and food festival for the locals. We only bumped into one or two Westerners there, but we ate, sang and danced with the locals. Different quarters of the bazaar showcase Fado (traditional music and singing, which seemed much more raw and passionate in this forum than in one of the tourist hungry Fado restaurants in town), Portuguese dance, and even some techno for the young folks. I Can't believe I didn't see this event or area listed in my guidebooks (Frommer's, Lonely Planet, Rough Guides... feel free to steal this and include it in your write-ups!).

I'm not an expert on the crime levels in Portugal, but I've been to some very sketchy countries during my travels and by comparison, I felt extremely safe in Lisboa (particularly the Castelo/Alfama areas). in Alfama, you see young kids out in the streets playing and churches seem to hold mass at all hours of the day... which is very reassuring to a cautious traveler.

Room: All rooms will seem small to North American travelers, but not to the Europeans amongst you. The walls of the room do an acceptable job of keeping noise from adjoining rooms out, but you will hear footsteps and the odd chair scraping the floor. I suspect that if you had particularly noisy neighbours, it would bother you. The great thing about this hotel is that it caters to mature clientele. Rooms that face the courtyard will have balconies with French doors.

Food: A fantastic free breakfast buffet is provided. It includes hot plates of bacon and eggs as well as cold cut meats, a great selection of fresh breads, smoked salmon and sardines, various cereals, crepes, and fresh juices and sparkling wine for those who wish to 'make your own mimosas'. There's no table service, but the breakfast hours run from 07h30 to noon. Try finding those hours for any other free breakfast at one of the major hotel chains. In your room, you'll find a decanter of free Port which is freshened daily.

Service: The front desk staff speak no less than four languages each (certainly English, French, German, and Portuguese) and they are very happy to help with taxi bookings, dining suggestions, sight-seeing recommendations, and a city orientation. Tourist maps are provided by the front desk upon check-in. We had an early check-out and were going to miss breakfast, but the front desk staff arranged for a plate of sandwiches to be placed aside for us prior to departure.

I honestly don't have anything negative to say about Solar do Castelo. I would absolutely stay there again, and I'd challenge you to find a better hotel in the vicinity of Alfama.

Room Tip: Room #19 is a corner room with a queen sized bed. A balcony overlooks the courtyard, but also overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farewell_2_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Solar do Castelo is located within the castle walls - beautiful hotel-charming courtyard where in good weather you can take your breakfast. It is a very steep uphill climb to get there, but taxis can go right up to the front door, so that is not a problem. There is a peacock on premises that is beautiful but does sqwak at all hours. We did not mind it at all, but I think it did disturb some guests. All in all, it was a great choice. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A perfect nice place, ideal for tourist to visit the old Lisboa.
Good way to fit a hotel in a old building,
It is in the centre of the old city next to the fort/castle which you should visit.
The view is breath-taking

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cyp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,899 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
637 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $162 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing