We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and peaceful”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #7 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is in the castle area, reached by some very narrow streets (our incoming taxi stopped as the street narrowed, and a nearby restaurateur phoned the hotel who came and collected us and our luggage in a little golf cart); on our departure, the taxi was brave enough to come up the narrow streets right to the hotel door!
As others have noted, the surrounding area is quite busy with tourists during the day, but very quiet at night when the castle is shut.
Our room was right at the top of the hotel in the old building, with a very good view.
Neither the room nor bathroom were particularly large, but they were comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. The décor was traditional and very pleasant.
The breakfast buffet offered a very good selection considering the small size of the hotel.
There is no restaurant, but reception staff were very helpful and made suggestions for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFuzzyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 911 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Although this was not a bad hotel, I would not stay here again. First of all, it's just too much trouble to get to. It's in a wonderful, atmospheric part of town, but once you get beyond that, it's just not practical for getting around the city. We were in a rental car, and getting to the hotel was positively terrifying. We had a stick shift, it was all up hill on really narrow, confusing streets, and the multitudes of tourists would NOT get out of the way. By the time we got to the top of the hill, the clutch was smoking. They do have a parking area, and they pick you up in a golf cart and drive you and your belongings to the hotel which was nice. After that, it was always a chore to get out of that part of town to an area where you could catch taxis, get on the subway or a tram, etc.
The first room they put us in was impossible. It was just above street level, had a lot of widows, and there were hoards of tourists waling right by. Incredibly noisy and no feeling of privacy. There was even a huge window right over the bathroom sink with just a flimsy shade over it. We asked for another room.
Our next room was small, but relatively comfortable. The breakfast was fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself had some old world charm, but they have added a lot of newer touches that sort of ruin it. But the absolute WORST thing about this place was the fact that the whole hotel was over-scented. I'm one of those people who have trouble tolerating perfumes and artificial scents. I'm not so bad as others and I'm usually just annoyed, but I had to hold my breath walking through the lobby. I also had to request that room service not put any scent in the room as it was also over-scented. I've never had this experience in a hotel before. It's odd to pump an overpowering scent into a hotel. I mean...why?
Overall though, it was not a horrible experience. I would just pick another hotel though next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent four nights in early November in this boutique style hotel which was extremely nice to stay in. Very comfortable, clean and relaxing which would be expected for the price you pay.Staff very helpful and friendly, giving useful tourist information when required. Free afternoon tea with portuguese custard tarts on offer! Breakfast was 14 Euros and you had everything on offer which was fine for one day. The rest of the time we ate at local cafes otherwise we would have exploded!

Only downside was the steep walk to the hotel after getting off the local 737 bus at the castle entrance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

By staying at this Hotel, we felt as if we were immersed in the history of Lisbon. It is at the end of a cobbled alleyway, up at the top of a hill, next to the Castle, which can be seen from most of the bedrooms, lit up at night. The neighbourhood , Alfama, is very quiet at night, and full of tourists during the day, but they do not affect the Hotel, because it is situated at a dead end and is behind closed wooden doors, around an interior courtyard.In order to go out at night, we took taxis, as there were not many restaurants in the area.Taxis in Lisbon are cheap.During the day, we took a tram, a real delight, or the bus which stops outside the door of the Castle. Easy. Our room was small, but we loved it and would not have changed it. It was in the original building, not the extension. It was right at the top of the hotel, under the eaves, and had a great view of the river and the boats coming and going, all lit up at night. The only problem was that the lift stopped down 2 flights of stairs. The Hotel is clean, the staff are wonderful and good at dealing with problems and enquiries,the breakfast excellent. It is a really special place to stay, if you do not mind being a little cut off. The atmosphere makes up for this.
walk.

Room Tip: Facing the Castle or the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EviKifisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the reviews I read on Trip Advisor….and we were not disappointed!
Its safe to say the Solar Do Costelo helped to make the whole Lisbon experience magical… We would go back just to to be able to stay in the hotel again…Thankyou all

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is lovely with a helpful staff, good breakfasts, clean and cosy. But is at the top of one of LIsbon's highest hills with no view unless you venture out to the nearby "castle" and pay a fee. Also, because it's an "attraction" the crowds of visitors during the day are overwhelming. It's expensive, particularly because the rooms are relatively small and cramped. It has a lovely courtyard and you can spy peacocks from the nearby castle grounds--a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My new husband loved our stay at this beautiful little oasis. We did not find the peacocks to be obnoxious, in fact we found they addedd a touch of whimsy to an already whimsical, little place. Our room was adorable and very clean. The hotel is beautifully decorated and so warm and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and were very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and places to eat. The location is perfect. Just be sure to take a taxi and provide the address; the trek up the hotel would be a challenge with luggage. I do wish that the breakfast was included in the booking price as it was a but expensive for what it served (17 euro per person, per day). We felt is was worth purchasing the breakfast for the week upon check in though in order to get the 14 euro price instead. But if you don't mind eating at one of the local cafes (5-10 minute walk) then you will definitely save some money. Also, they don;t have a conventional bar, but they do have an "honestly bar" where you help yourself and inform the staff what would drank with the help of a provided form. They do not have a restaurant but they have coffee, tea and little things to nibble on at any point in time. With all this said, we would definitely go back for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the court yard for a better view, however that is where the peacocks hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeSusanna83113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,935 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
646 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 255 in Lisbon
1,020 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $170 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing