We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #8 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Simply spectacular - the property, the staff, the localtion - you are not going to find a better hotel for a holiday in Lisbon. Solar do Castelo is a very small and intimate hotel (only 14 rooms) that was exactly right for our 4 day city break. If you are prepared to get to grips with the bus service (737 from just outside the castle entrance ) down to the Praca Figueira you can go from there to literally anywhere in Lisbon (or further !). The staff went out of their way to make this one of the best short breaks we have had.

We had room 3 which overlooked the courtyard and it was perfect in every way. Lovely comfy bed and efficient air con were much appreciated. The en suite had Moulton and Brown Toileteries, big fluffy towels and complimentary bathrobe and slippers which made it feel quite luxurious.
Breakfast was served in the courtyard and there was a good choice with some of the best scrambled eggs that I have had. Lots of fruit, cheese and cold meats and the opportunity to squeeze your own orange juice! The different types of bread were especially good.

The location and the Peacocks add that special something and made this hotel perfect for us. I didnt want to leave and would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    129
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
479
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

this is the second time I have stayed at the hotel, and although we were in Lisbon on business it was complete bliss to have breakfast in the beautiful terrace and in the evening a sip of wind. The staff were exceptional and most of them I recognized from my previous stay.

Room Tip: This hotel is ideally located by the castle and lots of restaurants and little shops and cafes all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Solar do Castelo is an ancient building inside the castle walls. It has been beautifully developed and is stylish and immaculate. Access is via steep and narrow cobbled streets - taxis are permitted (but don't hire a wider-than-average taxi). We slept well (the windows were shuttered) although there was occasional noise from the peacocks who live in the adjacent Jardim Romântico. The breakfast buffet was superb. We were made so welcome - it felt like we were guests in a club or private home, not a hotel. When I'm next in Lisboa, I will stay at the Solar de Castelo if I possibly can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This review is based on just one night at the hotel. I will start with the negatives and end on a positive note.

Cons:
-Location: Hotel is within castle walls, no buses or trams allowed up. Only walk all the way to the top or take a taxi.
- VERY BUSY area during the day; swamped with toursist and high prices. EXTREMELY quiet at night; no restaurants open after 8pm; no bars or nightlife in castelo district.
-Breakfast is 14euro more per person per day.
Pros:
-Absolutely beautiful and serene hotel
-Professional staff 24/7 reception able to help with suggestions, taxis, etc.
-Coffee & Tea station, reading section and desserts available along with self service bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Solar Do Castelo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much sharing your feedback following your short stay with us and for your kind comments about our premises and our staff.
Maybe it was for the fact of staying just one night with us that prevent you from knowing a little better our neighborhood and the accessibility to the Castle.
The Solar Do Castelo is located in the medieval village inside St. Jorge Castle’s walls. It is mainly a residential area with some small shops and cafes that are open during the day. After sunset you can presence and live the ambiance of a small Portuguese village: calm and relaxing. Just outside the Castle’s walls you can choose from several little restaurants and bars, some of them with real nice views. You don’t have to walk more than 5 minutes to reach some of them.
Concerning public transportation, bus number 737 will take you up to the Castle entrance and tram 28 stops at Santa Luzia Belvedere which is quite near the Castle.
We look forward welcoming you again to the Solar do Castelo with a bit more time to enjoy our neighborhood.
Your sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Beautiful hotel right next to the castle. Very busy tourist area during the day, but the hotel is always peaceful. The area shuts down at night with not too many restaurants or shops open. The front desk was super helpful and I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

An oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle. Helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts and clean, comfortable room. The terrace is secluded and although no views is tranquil and restful. Complimentary carafe of port went down very well. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Its true -- the peacocks rule the roost at Solar do Castelo. However, if you are travelling in summer when the windows will be closed and the a/c turned on, they will not bother your sleep.

This is a charming hotel and it would be a shame to pass it over because of the peacock reviews. We had a standard room facing the courtyard and were delighted. The so-called balconies the next grade up are tiny and not worth paying extra.

Enjoy breakfast in the courtyard, complimentary port in your room and late afternoon tea.

A great base from which to explore the Al Fama neighborhood. The staff has good restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: Choose either a standard room overlooking the courtyard, or get the pricey rooms. Mid-range is not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DishesToDieFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#7 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#4 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#11 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a Romantic Boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. The only hotel within St. George's Castle walls, at the top of Alfama, Solar Do Castelo is a small Mansion built on the site of the former Alcaçova Palace. With two floors and a mansard, an inner courtyard and garden, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a Medieval Contemporary style. You will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing