We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment, Pity about Bathroom Cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 258 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved the apartment we stayed in in Casa de Santos. It was extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. Well fitted out and had a nice view. The bathroom unfortunately had a lot of black mildew growing in the grout and as a result we were reluctant to shower there and only used the bath tub. Also it was a climb up steep hills with poorly leveled cobble-stones - but that's the case for most of central Lisbon. The breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocknroller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 235 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Amazing place to stay in Lisboa. It's centrally located, ten minutes distance walking from Praça do Comercio, so it's easy to walk to Barrio Alto and the main sights in the city. Our bedroom, called Madragoa, was huge and beautiful: clean, perfectly decorated and with views to Rua Da Boavista. Shared bathrooms were also clean. Breakfast is served in a pub next to Casa De Santos and it's also spectacular. We loved the pastry! For those who arrive by car there's a low cost parking in the same street called Conde Barão (5 euros per day) that it's open until 20:30h. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Madragoa room is one of the best in Casa de Santos. It's huge and with views to Rua da Boavista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilargi_ig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Amazing value for money. Really friendly staff, and fantastic breakfast. The bedroom we had was really lovely and was better and more stlyish than most four star hotels!!!Nothing negative to say. It is close to good transprt links which makes seeing the city really easy. we didn't use the kitchen but it looked really nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

First of all, it is clean and the b&b looks nice. But if you are on the "wrong" side of the building the bathrooms are not as nice as in the pictures. Besides that, our room was small and definitely not as nice as in the pictures, because it was so small it got really hot and there was no air-conditioning. Breakfast is ok, but as with most accommodations it could be much better.... Staff is very nice, and location is good as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The positives are that it looks beautiful and is incredibly comfortable, but there is so much noise that it can be really frustrating. The noise from the street in the front rooms was so much that we couldn't sleep, however, they were incredibly understanding and helpful in letting us move to a different, equally beautiful room. Even then though, the slamming of heavy doors and lack of cushioning for them (Not hard to fix guys...) mean that you are entirely dependent on your fellow guests' sense of decency and self-awareness to get a good night's rest, which in a party town like Lisbon is not always forthcoming.

Overall, the place represents great value and we were very happy with our stay, it's just a shame those last few details stopped a good place becoming a great one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuprosCuprosGhali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We arrived hours before check in time as we caught an overnight train from Spain and the owner Pedro took some time out of serving breakfast to store our luggage and welcome us.
The rooms are spotless and the shared facilities were never a problem. The shared bathrooms were always clean and stocked with clean facewashers and extra towels.
The B&B also lets guests use a fully equipped kitchen and communal fridge as well as a heavily decorated African-themed lounge room at the front of the property to get away from the rooms. Both of these were excellent and very useful if preparing own meals. The Wi-Fi dropped out continually, but we will give it the benefit of the doubt as a lot of people were staying at the hotel.
The breakfast was the best we have had in this trip so far: fresh pastries, fruit, cereal, cheese ham and the like were served every day and were the highlight of our stay!!!
One small note: the area where the B&B is located is a bit dodgy at night, just beware if you are coming back alone after a night out. We never had any issues though.
We would highly recommend this B&B.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived 5 hours before check in and were going to store our bags but they let us check in early because the room was ready. Very helpful staff,with good English. Shared bathrooms but large, well appointed and very clean. Comfortable rooms and beds. Staff helped,carry luggable up the steps. Close to many excellent restaurants and sights. Highly recommend this sweet B&B, and we are in our 60's and fussy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tailgate2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 258 in Lisbon
711 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
#16 of 258 in Lisbon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The House
#40 of 258 in Lisbon
498 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast

Address: Rua da Boavista 102, Lisbon 1200-069, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $59 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benefiting of an excellent location between the districts Santos, Bica and Santa Catarina, Casa de Santos is the option of ideal accommodation for you. In this way, you will be able to benefit of a net of transports, being also very near, on foot, of the principal places of amusement, leisure and culture.Distributed for more than 500 m2 of the apartment, and with a special care in each detail, the seven rooms and the suite, will provide you an unique Lisbon experience in a comfortable and refined environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa de Santos Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing