We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a TEN!”
Review of ZUZA Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
ZUZA Guest House
Ranked #14 of 250 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scott, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Definitely a TEN!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Although we only stayed one night, this is where we will stay when we return for a longer stay in Lisbon. This property is absolutely beautiful, clean and located within walking distance to all the major city travel connections. Our hosts provided service that we've never experienced! We stayed in an upstairs room with a terrace, over looking the city. Breath taking. And breakfast was delicious!

We got there early (via the night train between Lisbon & Madrid) but were able to leave our luggage. We were given directions of things to do, so we set off on our tour. Got back later that afternoon, settled in and visited with Joao and got a restaurant recommendation for that evening. (which was fabulous) Povo is the name.

The next morning, we had a delicious hot breakfast, and as we were leaving that evening (back on the train to Madrid), they held our luggage. The train didn't leave until 10PM; our energy wore about around 7PM and we were invited back to the B&B to rest and watch some television before our cab arrived to pick us up at 9PM. Now, that is outstanding service!

I cannot say enough good about ZuZa, its hosts, its service, its food. This is the place to stay!! Looking forward to another stay here!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haaland0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    85
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
53
190
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Zuzabed & Breakfast´s baby sister, the Zuza Guest House is just as pleasant: located in the heart of Lisbon, within walking distance of the vibrant life of the Bairro Alto, the guest house has beautifully decorated rooms, spotless shared bathrooms and relaxing common areas. Guests are welcome by the lovely and helpful team, attending to your every need. An amazing breakfast is served every morning and if it is your first visit in town, the best places to see, eat and make the best of your time will be recommended, according to your aspirations.

Definitely a place you´ll want to come back to, again and again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakoly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Luis and his staff helped for an excellent experience in Lisbon. I was only there for a short time so they really helped with how to see as much as I could. The room was quiet and clean. I also left my phone charger which they were nice enough to mail back to me.
Great visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

As mentioned in a previous review for "The Residence", another ZUZA property, my elderly mom and I also revisted the "COZY SUITE". We fell in love with the doll house appeal on our previous visit to Portugal that it beared repeating such a great experience. It is a ground floor SUITE which offers plenty of comfort and space for either 1, 2 travellers or a family of 4! Upon arrival we were greeted by enthusiastic ZUZA staff who are always pleased to receive old and new guests and provide a memorable experience to all. It is hard not to share their enthusiasm and smiles that surround you to get you into the LIsbon spirit. The SUITE has all the modern conveniences with a small and tidy kitchenette for those that want a snack or a late cup of coffee /tea. The beds are soft and plush and mold right into the contours of your body. The pillows are downy soft and fluffy that melt into your head for a restful night full of Lisbon dreams.
When I visit the COZY SUITE,cozy is exemplifed with a capital "C". A tiny yet comfortable sitting area with a natural stone arch is relaxing to catch up on emails or to write a few postcards perhaps. My favorite towel warmer and the modern shower jets all provide more comfort cozies than home !!! Luis Z. has once again designed the suite with artistic flair and taste with the primary focus of the guests comforts. I must pinch myself as I imagine I am living on a page of Home Beautiful magazine- the SUITE is that pretty and cute. Thoughtful detail throughout the SUITE and space are all pleasing to the guests eye. Vibrant colors meld into the soft cream background like a painters palate. ZUZA housekeeping and the ZUZA team are always available to provide assistance to makes ones stay as stress free as possible. The location cannot be beat- train, bus, city tours, walking routes are all at your fingertips. Restaurant choices abound as well as shops- depending on your fancy. You may need more days to do everything !! An important piece to mention is the very affordable rates for accommodation. In any major metropolis, this is truly a bargain and not only are the accommodations inviting, immaculate and comfy ( not to mention COZY!), but an extended ZUZA breakfast is included upstairs at the adjacent guest house. Bring your appetite as there are fresh meats, cheese, seasonal fruit, yogurt, eggs to order, cereal, fresh breads , Portuguese coffee, tea and fresh orange juice. Additionally, there is a cake pastry as well. It was so filling that often I had no room left for lunch !!! The breakfast is hearty and delicious ! You are always welcome to meet and dine with the other guests if you choose. Luis Z is very attentive to all of his guests and takes great pleasure in his guests discovering and loving Lisbon as much as he does. He is upbeat and beams like a ray of sunshine as he bounces through the door to greet his guests. He creates a laid back atmosphere which his team emulates. We visit Portugal quite often and would not even consider staying anywhere else in Lisbon. If you are looking for personalized and genuine kindness and friendliness, then stay with ZUZABED. It will be forever a highlight of your travel memories that you will want to repeat again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphnenero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Luis and the team are a lot of fun and very welcoming and knowledgeable. You'd need a hard heart not to be charmed. The rooms are simple but fine and the breakfasts are excellent. The location is very good and Luis and the team will give you all the tips you need to enjoy your stay. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyS724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the ZUZA guest house. A few weeks later we stayed 4 nights at the ZUZA B&B nearby. Luis and his staff make the stay an experience. Before you ask they will give you tips about things to do or help with taxis, trains and buses. Everyone is like a concierge and a friend.
Location - can't beat it in the heart of Chiado; easy walk to Bairro Alto, Restauradores, Rossio and about 10 minutes walk to the waterfront. Restaurants and beautiful views fill the neighborhood. Given the choice, we usually don't buy into breakfast plans at European pensions. Zuza is different. Best breakfast we have had on the continent. The staff meets you at breakfast and makes sure your day starts right and helps with any of the logistics so you can successfully do what you planned. And the other guests were always a joy to share with in the morning.
Understand that this not like a typical US hotel, it has small rooms and baths and narrow, steep stairways like many family-run pensions. But if you aren't put off by that, you'll be staying in the best part of the city with the most accommodating staff. When we go back, and Lisboa gave us many reasons to do so, we will certainly book here again. Will never forget this place.

Room Tip: If you are tall, upper floor ceilings might seem a little short to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Anyone visiting Lisbon and not staying here is missing out on one of Lisbons best experiences. The guest house is situated in the center of the city, walking distance everywhere, and the staff are really interested in giving advice on the other wonderful experiences Lisbon has to offer.
The rooms fresh and clean, breakfast perfect, perfect for a city stay. The very best though is the friendship offered by the staff, they honestly can't do enough to make your stay memorable. The place just seams to attract the type of traveller you just want to spend time with. The restaurant next door is excellent.. Wife cooks up amazing food and husband serves. Excellent value for money, ate there daily.
ZUZA made Lisbon personal.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are a long way up. After climbing hills all day, I would ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,525 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#21 of 251 in Lisbon
971 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 251 in Lisbon
833 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 468 in Lisbon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZUZA Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZUZA Guest House

Property: ZUZA Guest House
Address: Rua do Duque 41 | Chiado, Lisbon 1200-158, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Away From Home ideally located in the heart of Lisbon city-center. Perfect for your budget holidays with ZUZA quality hospitality. Let us introduce you our charming city we love so much. Welcome to ZUZA GUEST HOUSE. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing