We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Mundial: Great location, not much else”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #97 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hotel Mundial: Great location, not much else”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Mundial is in a great location near the shopping district in Lisbon. If you can stay there cheap, well ok. However, the rooms were run down, uncomfortable beds. The rooms were clean, which I was happy to see. I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    1,618
    569
    140
    82
See reviews for
705
1,400
119
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

OUr family of 4 spent a couple of nights at the Mundial. We chose it for its location opposite the St George Castle, and for its garage (we had a car full of luggage), which was very handy. OUr stay couln't have been better, the hotel is all about location location location, with many tourist attractions just a walk away -St George Castel can be reached on foot through narrow passage ways and steps, or you can take the famous Tram 28 close to the hotel, a must with kids.. or without!-
Check in and out were speedy, the meal at the panoramic restaurant a bit pricy but tasty with speedy service. Our kids were pampered by the staff, and the views of Lisbon from the upper floors of the hotel were superb - from the 5th floor upwards-.
Many fabulous eateries and bakeries in the area.
Our family room was large and comfortable, and our car neatly fit in thewell protected underground garage, which was a must.
We certainly will use it again next time we go via Lisbon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the 5th floor upwards for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbiggles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel was very clean in all areas. Room was slightly small but was still comfortable. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a huge range of hot and cold dishes. The view from the rooftop bar was fantastic.
Outside the hotel is the tram stop for the 12 and 28 trams to help you explore, We loved the cosmopolitan Martim Moniz square. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the sun with a fantastic array of snack shops around the edge selling most cuisines you can think of at very good prices. I would certainly recommend this hotel for it's position and quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room seemed clean. One issue was the shower head in the bathroom. The water coming out was so weak and little, it was difficult to take a shower and wash my hair. I asked the hotel maintenance to take a look, but still they could not improve the situation and I was told all shower heads are the same in all rooms. Buffet breakfast was decent, if you are not picky about what you have for breakfast. Location was excellent, close to the metro, trams. It was in the heart of Lisbon. Other than the shower head issue, my stay at this hotel was decent and manageable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A nice Hotel, in an ideal location.

On arrival the person at reception was a little rude, but his english was poor - and there was some mix up with the rooms we had booked.. However the bellboy sorted it all out for us - he was very helpful (and speaks very good english - in fact i think he is english !).

The room we had was fine - although it was at the back of the Hotel. Normally not a problem - but at the moment they are doing some building work, and were woken up at 8am most mornings... Not too much of a problem for most traveller - but we did stay out most nights till 2:30am....

The lobby and bar are very nice - and the service is great, even though the Hotel was very busy.

We did'nt eat in the Restaurant, but the breakfast was OK. Only the last days was a little disappointing - the juices were watered down, and there was less choice of items on the Buffet... The coffee was not to my liking on any day (its seemd to be made with evaporated milk ??). One word of advice - keep an eye on your table, if you get up halfway through eating to get somthing else, and there no one else at the table - dont be supprised to find it cleared away by the staff when you get back, they dont hang about !

The rest of our stay was great, Lisbon is a great place to visit.

I would recommend this Hotel to others.

Oh - avoid the Torromellenos Restaurant, its a dive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keefratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for our Easter holiday. The hotel is extremely well situated for trams, tour buses, restaurants and various sights. We were upgraded into a room with balcony overlooking the square where the famous number 28 tram starts its route. The hotel staff are very courteous and the rooftop restaurant, The Varanda, is a MUST! We have enjoyed two meals there.The show meals are cooked in front of you which is a spectacle! They are delicious and very good quality. I chose to celebrate my birthday with a meal in the Varanda and was treated like a princess with champagne, port and cake as well as "Happy Birthday" played live for me:) We will certainly be returning to this hotel.It is BRILLIANT :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

As a running club in Lisbon, we needed a hotel with a decent location. The hotel Mundial fitted that requirement. What was disappointing was the attitude of the staff. Not overly helpful, if I'm honest, it came across as a bit rude.
In this day and age I can't believe that the WIFI isn't free. It is certainly not helping keeping the drinks in the bar down in price.

Overall a nice clean hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#13 of 247 in Lisbon
857 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 247 in Lisbon
1,307 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#41 of 247 in Lisbon
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#72 of 247 in Lisbon
647 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Property: Hotel Mundial
Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#86 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#92 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing