We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value off-peak (below recommended price)”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #101 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Extremely good value off-peak (below recommended price)”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We chose the hotel for the central location and free parking and being in very off-peak season paid a lot less than the minimum price displayed so it was extremely good value. The bar was very nice with friendly and helpful service, but the service in reception was rather less good. Rooms were fine, though the heating unit (same as the air con) was a bit noisy but didn't have any problems with windows or street noise.. Good breakfasts with loads of choice. Nice touch to have bathrobes in the robes, though charging for wifi does seem rather petty at this type of hotel. .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather187835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    1,664
    586
    145
    82
See reviews for
725
1,442
121
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here in january, rooms were decent and pretty cheap as well.
The location is very good. Beds are a bit hard. The staff was not very kind to us.
Breakfast was ok. We had a good stay here considering the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is rated 4 stars,good joke! Rather 3 and being kind,service was good,clean ladies did theier job good but AC unit noisy,windows not sealed,noisy as well,u could hear street noise as well with window close as with it open.
Wifi was not free,2013 4stars hotel and they charge for internet? That;s nasty!
Breakfast was mm moderated,staff not friendly.
Will never return here or recommend this one!
AVOID!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Four points come mostly of the elegance of the hotel lobby. Our room, for a married couple, was almost large enough, although it seemed to be the smallest one in the 4th floor. The bed was hard for the implant hips of my husband, and if ordering twin bed means one, although broad blanket, it is not good enough for our age! Next time I know to order double bed room...
Breakfast was excellent, but our Christmas Eve supper was not that, maybe we have to blame our travel agency.
Paying for safety box is not of this day, its should be free for everyone who needs that. Also free Wi-Fi should be at least in the lobby, if not in rooms.
The nearness of the Martim Moniz city part does disturb a little bit, even though someone told me that things have got better. Location was, however, good for any direction to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Level Contributor
310 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Centralized location. Tram 28 just over the street. 15 minutes to the border of the river. Friendly and helpful staff.
Room was a bit old fashioned. Quality of bed was ok.
Breakfast buffet was good.
A no-go is the non-free wireless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very friendly staffs. There was always a smile on their face the minute you step out from the vehicle to the reception counter. Service rendered too is excellent. It is a perfect location or rather centralized location for tourist. The popular Tram No. 28 is just in front of the Hotel. It is the best way to see Lisbon. The hotel is clean and I could not find any fault in the service they had rendered. I took triple sharing room and it was just perfect. We had so much of space to put our luggages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yes062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location was absolutely devine.You could walk to everything, everywhere. OK, so the beds were a little hard and perhaps the rooms a tad bit small but hey, it's Europe, not Hollywood. My room (#720) had views from two sides....a panorama of history, plazas, shops, cablecars, entertainment, castles.... and all this viewing during the recent full moon solar eclipse. I wouldn't have traded it for anything. The food was OK but with the best pastry shops, local food, fresh seafood a few steps away, who cares? This hotel has the best location of any. It's really charming.

Room Tip: Room 720 is a charm...large windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr3atB1gWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 246 in Lisbon
896 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 246 in Lisbon
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,492 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,649 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Rossio Garden Hotel
Rossio Garden Hotel
#74 of 246 in Lisbon
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Property: Hotel Mundial
Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#85 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing