We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and centrally placed hotel with a fantastik roof top bar.”
Review of Hotel Mundial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mundial
Ranked #103 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good room, fine breakfast included and walking distance to central Lisbon with lots of opportunities for nice dining and very good prices on shoes. Remember to try the no. 28 tram to the old part of the city. It departs from Marim Moniz - right outside Hotel Mundial.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 3,533 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is not a bad hotel. It is located fairly well, but is about three blocks away from being very well placed. That would be closer to the upscale shopping. It is not a bad walk to the water front and the old town area. Lisbon is a large city and things are spread out with a lot of up and down walking in places. I don't know why hotels of this class don't provide wifi when you can get it in a cafe or cheaper hotel. The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are staying in Lisbon, I would suggest you forfeit the location and stay in a more comfortable hotel. Apparently we were in the "unrenovated" rooms and the renovated rooms were not available when we checked in. Rooms were very tired, not enough water pressure in the shower, noisy air-conditioner etc. The breakfast was very basic. The hallways were not air-conditioned and in much need of sprucing up. This is a hotel that caters to large tour groups so the feeling you get is being in a bus station not in a hotel lobby. They do have a lovely roof-top garden but it only opens at 6:30pm - would have been better if they opened earlier and offered lunch. Taxis are very inexpensive and we will stay in another hotel the next time we go.

Room Tip: try a renovated room if you must stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Hotel Mundial is a moderately maintained hotel with many tour groups. It has a small lobby that is frequently congested with people. Across the street from the hotel is a trolley stop where you can catch a streetcar.

We stayed in a large room with a balcony on the 8th floor, facing north, with a public square across the street. The room had two wide twin beds pushed together, and an old-fashioned 20 inch CRT TV.

The hotel breakfast was mediocre. There are many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honorablejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights in this hotel. It had a great location and nowhere was too far away to walk in the centre.
We were very disappointed by the expense of wifi. In this day in age, a hotel should at least provide free wifi in communal areas.
The breakfasts were seriously lacking. Admittedly there was a varied choice, but not enough of any particular food type, so one was forced to mix salami, cut fruit, plastic croissants and frankfurter sausages on a plate. Having recently stayed at a Hilton in the UK the breakfasts here were no comparison. The standard of the food was below average.
The room was average too, the beds were on the firm side and not ideal for a pregnant woman!
The shower had awful temperature control, changing from boiling to freezing without touching the controls.
We had to pay €2 per day for a room safe lock, after being told that the 'free' safe at reception was full! I really think these things should be included in the room price.

Overall this hotel needs to catch up with the rest of the world in the facilities it provides.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good location and great view from the hotel, but the facilities themselves feel extraordinarily dated.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was consistent, yet expensive.

Do your research and book ahead in the summer months, there's undoubtedly a reason why I could get a booking with not much notice. All up a simple hotel, good enough for a few nights on a business trip, but I'll be looking elsewhere in Lisbon when I return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Spent my last Birthday at my fav destination. Hotel was absolutely great, staff even gave mea treat on my Birthday, a lovely surprise. Dinner was an experience not to be forgotten,
Well done Mundial
Will be there again and that will be our 5th stay there,

Room Tip: Higher room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JunCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 255 in Lisbon
990 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 255 in Lisbon
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#29 of 255 in Lisbon
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mundial

Address: Praca Martim Moniz 2, Lisbon 1100-341, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#65 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#91 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $42 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mundial 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mundial Hotel Lisbon
Hotel Mundial Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing