We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated, friendly hostel”
Review of Salitre Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salitre Hostel
Ranked #107 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The biggest plus - point of this hostel might be its location. It is very near to Rato station and so offers easy access to both the airport and downtown.
The staff was very friendly and helpflul and the hostel was always clean. The complimentary breakfast was a nice extra.
The rooms were a bit small but really for the price it is absolutely recommendable!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Salitre Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hostel made really made my trip! The owner is such a nice and friendly man who offered many suggestions and was very accommodating. The beds were so comfortable and everything was really clean. It was really cheap too. The second night there, they made us a three course meal and sangria- it cost extra but it was really reasonably priced and yummy. They also provide free wi-fi and breakfast and a full kitchen and a lounge area. The showers are clean and warm too. You should definitely choose this hostel.

Room Tip: My friend and I request a 4-person all girl dorm but we were the only two so it was like getting a p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel S, Public Relations Manager at Salitre Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Amber,

Thank you very much much for your feedback,

Keep in touch if you come to Portugal again.

All the staff sends its best to you and your friend... who were the Best Guests too ;)

Cheers

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Salitre for 5 nights. The hostel's clean, comfortable and the location's perfect - very near to Rato station, the supermarket's just nearby. But definietely the best side of this place is the staff - they were all friendly and very helpful.
The kitchen's fully equipped so you find everything you need in there.

The only thing that I would actually improve is the ladies' bathroom & showers - I think the door to this facility should be closed (now there's "Please, do not close the door" request on it). Also, the breakfasts could vary a little bit.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as a couple and you're planning to stay longer, you should consider sta...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel S, Public Relations Manager at Salitre Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hi Karolina,

In fact you are not the first person to mention the WC door issue.

That sign exists so guests do not lock the door of the bathroom so other guests can use it too.

Now we have replaced the previous sign:

"Please do not CLOSE this door"

To:

"Please do not LOCK this door."

Done Deal !

Thank you very much for your feedback !

Always welcome !

Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to stay in Lisbon and thought we'd give this a try based on the reviews. We stayed in a private double room with shared facilities - something that I havent done for many years and my partner has never done. We needn't have been concerned though - the place was spotless and the staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was also included which though simple - fruit, bread, cereals, teas and coffees - was ample and good quality. There was also a fully equipped kitchen although we didnt take advantage of this. The best thing about this place was the location. In a quiet part of town, it was very well connected with the metro station and bus stops (several lines going all over the city) only 3 mins walk away. YOu could also walk to most sites in 30 mins or less, which was what we did. We also found the restaurant (cerzejeria) at the end of the road by the metro station very good value and very convenient if you arrive late and need to eat - as we did! I would definitely recommend this and would use it again if I go back to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelB3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our time at Salitre. Not just because the place was clean and nice but the staff were really excellent and very helpful. They suggested great places to go and see and were very friendly. Thanks again Salitre. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is really such a great hostel. The staff couple is very nice and helping with everything (like giving advices how to get to places like Belém or Sintra etc). It is very clean and you have everything you might possibly need, internet access, kitchen, TV, even some books and magazines. Plus, the building itself is very nice, with high walls and stucco at the ceilings. Showers and facilities are very clean. Very close to metro station Rato (about 5 min walk) and ten minutes walk to Bairro Alto, but very quiet. As somebody mentioned here before it still seems to be an inside tip, since I guess not all the beds were taken when I was there. I would definitively go there again if I get back to Lisbon som day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank himbeerkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Much better than most hostels, very close to a metro station. People working there were very nice and helpful. Definitely a great option to stay for a few days in Lisboa. Breakfast is included in the price, which we found really cheap for the services offered.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
The Vintage Lisboa
The Vintage Lisboa
#60 of 254 in Lisbon
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eurostars Das Letras Hotel
0.1 mi away
Altis Suites
Altis Suites
#109 of 254 in Lisbon
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#53 of 254 in Lisbon
691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencia Soria
Residencia Soria
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salitre Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salitre Hostel

Address: Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon 1250-204, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $17 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salitre Hostel is a boutique hostel located in a beautiful 19th century building with luminous, clean and comfortable accommodations in double rooms, female and mixed dorms.The Salitre Hostel facilities include bathrooms for men and women with hairdryers, a full equipped kitchen where you can prepare your meal and where is served a free buffet breakfast every morning. A lovely living area with cable TV and nice sofas where you can chill out or interact with other guests.Beside all this you can have a drink or relax at the small but very pleasant outdoor area.Wi-Fi is free of charge and there are a couple of computers with internet access that you can use for free.We also provide free storage for your luggage, in case you need it. Our friendly staff will be glad to help you around with local tips and free maps, ensuring that you have a great stay in Lisbon.In other words, Salitre Hostel is the perfect place for you whether you are a backpacker looking for an awesome trip or a family seeking a more relaxed time. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing