We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, great service and wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belcanto

Belcanto
Ranked #7 of 4,021 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $65 - $147
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: Jose Avillez looks at haute cuisine as a form of expression. At the Belcanto he shares his inspirations, emotions and concerns through his culinary representations and illusions. Each dish tells a story and sets out to stir the emotions of those willing to try it."
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service and wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Highly recommend a visit to Belcanto. Amazing food as you'd expect from a Michelin starred restaurant but also great service and a wonderful atmosphere

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    193
    76
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Lisbon is popping at the moment with good places (at all price levels) to eat and surely is a mecca for foodies. Belcanto is at the top of the price bracket but is fabulous and not to be missed.
We were treated to a Ferrero Rocher which was anything but - filled with Foie gras instead. Had they been selling boxes of these, I would have snapped up a couple to take back home!
Olives 3 way (one where the martini was in the olive) this is all clever stuff but very tasty too.
The sommelier chose wines to accompany our dishes and the selection was perfect. My husband had a dessert wine with his custard mille feuille pudding and said it was one of the best he'd tasted.
Service is exemplary and the staff get as much of a kick out of the experience as the customers. There's a real warmth to the place that goes beyond just good food. We loved it and when we go back to Lisbon will ensure my reservation is in place. Thanks to all for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Impeccable !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went there on our last day, for lunch as dinner is always fully booked,
Impeccable service, the star Chef José was kind to come and chat with us when he knew we were from thailand,
We were offered many entremets and complimentary dishes, all superbly executed, in a molecular trend showing great technic and precision. The 'garden of golden eggs ' egg dish was great, followed by a beef loin also very well cooked although a little too simple (am I expecting too much?) for this context. The wild seabass served to my fiancee was better.
The tangarin dessert was up to expectations, alltogether a great experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I understand but I don't get it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

First of all all the staff are very kind and professional. The food is a selection of very well presented small portions of "nouvelle cuisine" dishes. The chef has a great touch without doubt, but why complicate so much ? Small portions of very sophisticated food... which has not a lot to do with a normal meal. Don't get me wrong, this guy has got talent... but I can't say I had a good meal.. but I had a great experience. Last but not least... this place has 1 star and 3 star prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exelence Personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The unquestionable highlight of our visit to Portugal, this restaurant got everything exactly right. The food, the wine, the professional and knowledgeable staff, the ambience. We went to lunch with high expectations, and left on a high. Can't wait to try the Menu Lisboa for dinner next time I'm in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiersuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belcanto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Belcanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing