We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual flavors with elegance”
Review of Belcanto

Belcanto
Ranked #17 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $67 - $150
Cuisines: Portuguese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: Jose Avillez looks at haute cuisine as a form of expression. At the Belcanto he shares his inspirations, emotions and concerns through his culinary representations and illusions. Each dish tells a story and sets out to stir the emotions of those willing to try it."
Arlon
Level Contributor
227 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unusual flavors with elegance”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Most definitively special one star restaurant with a young very creative chef. The menu is an intriguing mysterious read with your choice of either the surprise effect or an explanation required before ordering. The flavors are surprises as well and often unexpected. The usual 1 amuse-bouche was at least 5 of which I recall with delight the chocolate ball with gold leaf ( edible ) on the outside and foie gras on the inside !! Some dishes have a rather strong flavor if you are not particularly open to that it is better to ask. I has a starter of raw seafood with of course a very strong sea taste. The wines were recommended by the staff and despite a tale of seven matched our food perfectly. Service is of course as classy as you would expect. Pricey of course.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,200
    200
    79
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Lisbon!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The chic, trendy and modern Bel Canto in front of the Opera House is perfection with every bite. Only 15 tables so a reservation is mandatory (has a Michelin star). The roasted veal the best I have ever eaten. The many amuses are creative and at times cute but delicious on the palate. Avoid the cold crab dish as does work. The escabeche of mackerel like the finest sashimi. The inverted nata pastel a twist on the classic dessert. Wine list is world class and the service is perfection. The meal is very expensive but worth the dining experience. Try one of the set menus as they are a deal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FreddM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
177 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious, quirky food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food is excellently prepared, all flavors strong and clear. The chef plays with the visuals. For example, an olive in a martini is a thin shell filled with olive juice-a powerful, yummy hit of flavor. the staff were attentive and friendly. Great wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Soul food can look good”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Don´t hesitate to pay Chef Avillez a visit at Belcanto: this is true portuguese soul food with a modern twist. It will cost you money to dine here, but it´s worth every cent. Go for the seafood (it tastes like sea water because it´s supposed to taste exactly like that!) or the meat, you can´t go wrong. Pair your meal with some fine wines (it would be nice to see some of the brands at more reasonable prices, but I´ve come to the conclusion that it doesn´t matter where you travel in the world, wine will cost you 20 to 30% of your meals). Nice atmosphere, but I actually prefer to spend my money on Cantinho do Avillez. Check them out, as both restaurants are worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elGat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“now a one Michelin Star, always fabulous!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Started eating at Belcanto back in 1980 with my father in special occasions like Xmas or birthdays.... First time there, I ate the "Bifinhos à Belcanto", off menu. Little thick steaks, deliciously fried in butter and pepper, served with white fried rice and almost raw scrambled eggs, all generously bathed in a delicious sauce.

Later between 93 and 94, when MD of Bertrand I would go there every week.

When moved to Chiado early 00, I became a regular customer, and once or twice I had even someone kindly asked to change the table so that I could sit on my table!!

In 33 years I never ate anything else, although employees keep everytime tempting me with delicious alternatives, kindly refused.

José Avillez a Michelin awarded Chef, and also a very polite guy, bought the place a few months ago, and introduced little changes in the nicely decaying place, also changing and modernising the menu, with little healthy improvements like the humongous quantities of fat sauce reduced to a more modern quantity. But the Bifinhos are still the only thing i eat there.

The service is impecable, the Wine list quite impressive (I tried a fabulous Remexido last time), the food to die for, the eaters between upper class, old users - all knowing themselves - and young tourists chasing the star...

It is not cheap, so I can now only go there when someone invites me! or in very special occasions. But If I could that would be probably be my everyday restaurant....with the Bifinhos everyday..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F0rjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belcanto also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Belcanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing