We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRAMS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tram 28

Tram 28
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.47*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner
Ranked #42 of 420 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vintage trams take passengers on a scenic trip from the city center at sea level up through the narrow maze of streets towards St. George Castle.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“TRAMS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Got to Lisbon on a sunday found it dirty got tram 28 rushed no photo stops tour commentory came on when passed places of interest we felt a waste of 18 euros ,Lisborn not as exspected graffeti everywhere dirty ,

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,338
    3,986
    2,056
    790
    512
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old fashioned beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I would never imagine that one of the most interesting sites of Lisbon would be a public transportation mean. Catch the tram from the starting point preferably early in the morning and take the whole ride. It is realy an enjoyable trip in time. We got a day transportation card which was a good idea because we liked the tram so much that each time it was passing by we poped up. The single ticket of the tram 28 is euro 2.8 whereas the day card costs euro 6.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILENA871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A highlight of Lisbon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The no. 28 tram is definitely a must-do when visiting Lisbon. We spent a whole day hopping on and off, marvelling at the way these creaking, quaint carriages rumbled up and down the city's steep hills. Our first journey saw us crammed, as other reviewers note, like sardines and we were tempted to give it up as one of those things ruined by the busy season. However, we persisted and many of our other journeys were spent sat by the open windows.

We also found if you take the no. 28 to the terminus (Bairro Alto direction), one driver let us take photos of the empty carriage and even sit in the seat whilst he took a break!

The only downside was the cost. We were advised by tourist information to buy a day ticket on the tram but having got on, found these could be purchased only at Metro stations (the driver on this occasion even grumbled "you should know this!"). As a result, we ended up spending far more than we anticipated on what should be a fairly cheap bit of family-friendly entertainment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mattgrant361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Only way to up the hill, but packed like sardines with tourists.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a cute little middle of the road tram, and it is the best way to get a view of all the area. But it was packed tight, standing room only at busy times in July. Don't try to drive up, it is difficult and GPS may not get you to the right place (very narrow streets and cobble stones, hills, tough to drive with a stick if you are not experienced).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views narrow streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Caught the 28 tram but one end of the line to the other. The streets are often only just wide enough for the tramcar only. The windows re all open and people talk and wave. The wooden sets just add to the authenticity of this mode of transport. I was surprised how many locals use this tram to get around town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tram 28 also viewed

 

Been to Tram 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing