We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tram 28

Tram 28
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.14*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner
Ranked #41 of 418 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vintage trams take passengers on a scenic trip from the city center at sea level up through the narrow maze of streets towards St. George Castle.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is not a must as all the interesting spots of the tram can be done by foot however the experience of this antique transportation is unique and you can just relax and enjoy the spots (oh this was especially helpful on a rainy day :))

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilyovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,314
    3,972
    2,049
    787
    509
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bavaro, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Quick and beatiful tour on the historic center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Can't miss it, I think is a must for everyone, specially if you still don't know the town, as me and my family. Is hop and off but we did the whole tour at once as we didn't had too much time to spend on the city. The tour is great, it shows you the main places of the surrounding hills, the narrow and crowded streets.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RussianYaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun but jerky ride...gets you up the hills without killing yourself climbing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you want to get up to the castle without burning 1,000 calories, hop on Tram 28. It's so old and goes up really steep hills, but it is fun and interesting and stops at a lot of interesting sites, including the castle. It was cool and raining when we were there, so there were no pickpockets running around. In fact, I didn't see any in 5 days, but it was off-season and raining a lot (pickpockets don't like raincoats). My advice is to put your money, a credit card and your phone in one front pants pocket and keep your hand in it just in case, and you will be fine.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ask the driver to announce your arrival at the Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

You cannot see the castle, but a great round trip when it rains. 2nd time we asked the driver to tell us when we had arrived at the castle stop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank over2youtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must... but must be watchful for pocketers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Riding the 28 was a great value, with the 24 hr transit card. All four in my party took the tram the entire route, two days in a row. It's a great way to see this beautiful city. Connecting some less affluent areas, after St. Jorge, be aware, at the end of the line, you are literally 2 blocks away from Rossio Metro Station.

This can be very busy when cruise ships are at port... try "off hours" to avoid crowds and see a more authentic group of tram users.

BE MINDFUL of Pick-Pockets. On member of our party was pursued by two men who crowded him. When they went for his back pocket, they only found maps... then, quickly got off. The whole tram knew, as if they wore a Scarlet Letter

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank skiandseabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tram 28 also viewed

 

Been to Tram 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing