We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good way of getting around as a tourist”
Review of Tram 28

Tram 28
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.12*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon Sunset Walking Tour with Fado Show and Dinner
More Info
$38.25*
and up
Famous Tram 28 and Walking Tour With a Local
More Info
$26.90*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon Walking Tour
Ranked #48 of 430 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vintage trams take passengers on a scenic trip from the city center at sea level up through the narrow maze of streets towards St. George Castle.
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a good way of getting around as a tourist”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very good value if you buy a day ticket (5 euro) busy though most of the time, but cool as you can just hop on and off depending on what area takes your fancy. Regular service and takes you to all the main areas of interest. Our best experience was on our first day we hopped on late at night and it was pretty empty and we got to see all the cute little restaurants in alfama and its little streets :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnglandLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,226
    4,638
    2,514
    970
    662
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Traveling
1 review
“Trams still have romance - ride the tram!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Always look on hotelsilike.com after I've done a trip! But in Lisbon the trams are fun, functional (you get from A to B) and if you come from a place which has no such form of transport, romantic. Also quite thrilling, there are times when the braking system just feels like a question mark....but it always works!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RogerEllman_Com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun ride”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a fun way to see the city, but packed when we went on it. Hold on tight if you are standing. It makes lots of quick turns on the track. Try to look out the window and watch out for a few local guys who hang on from the outside by only one hand. Looked scary and dangerous for them.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A fun ride”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fun way to visit differe3nt areas in Lisbon, go thru the narrow streets, have an opportunity to sit and enjoy, (seating might not be available all the time it is small.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sergiorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“So so over crowded”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I went on tram 28 and it does take you to few tourist sites and some nice views. On the two days i went on tram 28 getting on and off I found it was so over crowded it was indeed pick pocket heaven. One guy who was clearly too large to fit in just kept pushing and pushing until he squeezed in, it made both trips uncomfortable and unpleasant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank InfoseekUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tram 28 also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tram 28? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing