We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lisbon Colours - do not stay if you want a good night’s sleep.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbon Colours

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lisbon Colours
Ranked #37 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lisbon Colours - do not stay if you want a good night’s sleep.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked a 2 bed apartment with balcony for 7 nights based on other travellers’ recommendations. What a mistake! I have never stayed in such a noisy location. The apartment block is in the Bairro Alto district, quiet and somewhat boring during the day though well located for access to many tourist destinations. Come 10pm it’s a different story. The many surrounding touristy restaurants and bars are packed most nights. Other than Sunday and Monday nights when venues closes around 1pm, the music blasts till at least 3 am and revelers are still partying at 4 am. Unless you too are a full on party animal this location is not for you.

The apartment is reasonably well appointed –though not flash it has most mod cons other than washing machine and telephone. We were provided with a mobile but no chargerto be used call ‘reception’ as there is no reception on site. We could make no other outgoing calls though could receive incoming calls. On day 3 the phone battery went flat and we had to wait to hand the phone to the caretaker the next day to be recharged.

Our apartment bedrooms had a view onto the small street; hence the sleepless nights. The living area looked onto an inner courtyard – nothing special but there was plenty of day light. Nighttime lighting in the apartment was very poor – it was impossible to read in the living area and in bedroom one needed to have the ceiling light and bedside lights on to caste sufficient illumination for reading. Forget watching television unless you speak Portuguese.

Apartment cleaning was hit and miss –some days it was not cleaned till 5pm or 6pm and on the day before we checked out there was no clearing at all!

The caretaker staff who did the cleaning were helpful. I was sick and one assisted me to locate a doctor.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want to sleep before 4 am each night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabethperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    52
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
30
38
63
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I usually don’t write reviews, but the experience I just had at the Lisbon Colours was bad enough I had to share it with others. In no way is it my intent to discourage anyone from staying here, but at least you should know what kind of attitude you may be dealing with if a misfortunate problem arises during your stay. A colleague and I booked an apartment there for a week during our conference visit to Lisbon, just a few days ago, encouraged by the great reviews we had read online. Everything started off nice - the apartment appeared clean, the staff was friendly, we were greeted with a glass of port wine, etc. I took one bedroom with queen size bed, my colleague took the other. It is relevant to the story to mention that each bed was equipped with two pairs of pillows- two with white pillow cases, and two blue colored ones that matched the duvet cover. The only complaint besides the main story coming up is that we didn’t know that the apartments are located right in the heart of Bairro Alto bar/club scene, so the place was a bit noisy even on weeknights past midnight. This is not ideal when you are visiting Lisbon for work, but I didn’t mind it too much and that was not what prompted me to write this review.
On the fourth day of my visit, I was doing some reading in my bed and I re-shuffled the pillows when I noticed that the blue pillows on one side had some white stains of something clearly being spilled and not washed. These turned out to be dried up body fluids along with what were clearly - greasy body prints from somebody enjoying their Bairro Alto experience to the fullest. Luckily, I hadn’t actually slept on those two pillows, but on the plain white ones; nevertheless, the dirty pillows were right next to me the whole time I was sleeping in this bed. Because I realized that clearly the blue sheets were not changed before our stay I went on to inspect all of the bed sheets . The blue comforter turned out also with matching stains but on the side facing downward, which would make it impossible to spot unless you separated the comforter from the white sheet below. Immediately, I brought this to attention of the guy in charge of the rooms (Igor- who was actually nice up to this point) and he apologized and promptly changed the sheets. I felt bad, because Igor and the girl who was in charge of cleaning were really nice, so I tried not to make a big fuss and just speak to the manager directly. Igor said he would contact the manager and let him know of what I found. Boy, what an adventure that conversation was.
First of all, it took about two days for the manager to finally meet with us since he has a daytime job in some restaurant and is unavailable most of the time. In those two days, the manager apparently made a visit to the apartment while I was in the conference, (I had the cell phone they gave me to use and they never tried to call me to arrange the meeting, but that’s beside the point). Then, when he finally showed up on the second to last day of our visit, he started arguing that it was odd that I only reported these stains on the fourth day of my visit?!?! (I don’t know, I guess I assumed that sanitary conditions of the hotel were understood so I didn't really think of inspecting the apartment for cleanliness as soon as I arrived). He basically implied that I was responsible for the stains. I should add that I am a woman and this was extremely offensive, disrespectful, and hurtful to me. Then, as a counter-argument, if I can call it that, he actually pointed to me and my colleague a different stain on the wall in the corner of my colleague’s room saying it wasn’t there when he did the room inspection a month ago (according to them this is how long the room had been vacant before we arrived) and therefore that it must have been us who made the stains so we shouldn’t complain about the dirty pillows and sheets!?!? If it wasn’t illogical, rude, and completely against any normal customer service code of conduct, this argument would be quite comical. Clearly, neither me or my friend noticed this stain and had no idea it was even there until he pointed it out. My colleague tried to knock some sense into these two telling them it is pretty gutsy to accuse your customer who just slept for four days next to some guys excrements that she was making up a story.
I have never before this time cried over a hotel stay. I am still flustered over what just transpired couple days ago. I have never experienced being blamed for hotel failing to do their job and completely degraded by the staff. Of course, we paid the full price of 140 euros/day for the apartment for the entire stay despite being exposed to the uncomfortable and potentially even health-hazardous situation. In the United States, somebody would have started a lawsuit for this. We filed complaint with Booking.com, and apparently as of today, they were still not able to get ahold of the apartment management. I am happy to see most other reviewers had a great experience here but I will never ever ever ever come back to this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stellaazzura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILÁRIO C, Gerente geral at Lisbon Colours, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Right of reply.
Dear Lady,
Lisbon Colours Apartments, respects and preserves all the people that chooses us to accommodate them in Lisbon.
Inside our proposes of accommodating in the historic district of Lisbon, where we are located. With the best and most busy night life of this city, with people from all over the world walking down the streets of Bairro Alto.
Lisbon Colours Apartments is placed in a 19th century building, refurbished and adapted with modern tecnology, that aims to provide high comfort, bringing to its guests, the feeling of being included on Bairro Alto´s life.
But, there will be guests willing another kinda of accommodating. Guests that deserves all our respect. And when they criticize us, they do honestly.
But the report that you have made, reflects the person that written that relate.
By this way, i feel the right of replying and making clear some points, that you, our guest, unfortunately or not, has forgotten to make public.
Beginning from the end of your report, it makes me believe that in the United States of America, you have created similar situations to make your stay for free. And your report confirms that.
If not, lets see. This problem has happened because you all wanted a good discount on your stay.
Before all these facts, as the responsable for this unit, and after a meeting with the head of service and the chambermaid, where they have ensured that your apartment has been delivered to you, cleaned and with all bed linen sanitized, and have understood the ocurred situations on this apartment, i have decided to not give up to your intentions.
Before this fact, you, our guests, have taken contact with your tour operator, where you have reported a completely different history that i mention: "In the apartment, we have seen insects on the bed sheets (Bed Bugs)", claiming a discount on the payment for your stay.
As you did not reach what you wanted, as a revenge, you have shown this tangle on the internet.
By this way, i will put here, openly, my reply for the problem exposed by you.
After four days of your staying in Lisbon Colours Apartments, it was not possible to blame us this responsability.
Once, that during your stay, you, our guests, have gotten in, to the mentioned apartment, with men and woman, that were not included on the respective reserve.
As well as in one of the bedrooms, there were stains on the wall. Situation that has been figured out on the day we had your request to go to your apartment. Stains that we have taken photographs.
Then i ask: You, dear guest, has been in shock with the stains on the duvet, and did not notice that party stains on the wall?
When, you got into the apartment for the first time and during these four days, you have never mentioned this situation.
The Lisbon Colours Apartments procedures when receiving our guests ( check in ) are the followings:
- The guest is taken to the apartment, a visit is made, when we give a short explanation about how it works.
- The reception of the apartment is signed, with the inventary in accordance with it.
Which is the reason of telling a different history to Booking.com?
To claim a discount?
Lisbon Colours Apartments agree all its responsabilities.
But, never deals with this kinda of attitude!

Note: Replying this critic, we hope Alert/Share with other Hotels/Apartments, to be aware when being before a similar situation.
Atenciously.
Hilário Castro
(Lisbon Colours General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I liked everything of Lisbon Colours!
Igor, the receptionist is very kind and he welcomes you with a glass of Porto. The apartment was exactly like in the pictures: smart furniture and decoration. Everything was very clean, the bed is comfortable and the kitchen is fully equipped with microvawe, oven, kettle and toaster!
They also provide you with a mobile that you can use to receive calls or make calls to numebrs in Lisbon.
This is the best acomodation I have been so far and it is very good value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The 4th floor, river-view appartment has a great view. It was decorated & equipped to a very high standard, very clean and with a bedroom at the rear away from any noise. The concierge, Igor, was very helpful and even lent me a mobile with contact details for ease of contact in case of problems. This is in the Bairro Alto bar & eating district, close to the Metro, commercial district, 'elevadores', and Rossio station, so very well-placed for trips to Sintra & Belem. (For older/less mobile persons, there was no lift).

Room Tip: If you are less mobile, chose a room on a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I highly recommend this apartments! I just got back from there and I stayed in the apartment with the river view. It was the best choice I could've make! Everything about this apartment was flawless: very comfortable bed, full kitchen amenities, a great marble bathroom with a nice bathtub, super clean, the location is excellent, right in the heart of Lisbon's nightlife and close to everything. Regarding the noise I've been reading about on other reviews, well that's a subjective matter. I had NO problem sleeping. The windows isolate the noise very well. And probably the best thing about Lisbon Colours is Igor, who made my stay as pleasant as possible. He is doing everything to please the guests. He even came in a hurry on his day off to help me with some information about the city. Also, I had my plane late in the evening so he let me stay until my leaving time although the check out was supposed to be done at 12 p.m. So thank you, Igor for making me feel like home.:)
If I will come back to Lisbon, I will certainly stay here again!
PS. I was concerned about the safety of the neighborhood, so I'd like to mention that as a single woman I felt really really safe! So go for it, book an apartment at Lisbon Colours! You'll be so glad you did! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Best location in town, heart of Barrio alto but not noisy. Apartments decoration is nice, modern, all facilities included, very light rooms, comfortable bed, bathroom is great, full kitchen facilities. The service is very good. I left late in the evening and they let me stay till my leaving time with no extra charge!
I do recommend this apartments. Next time I wil stay there for sure.

Room Tip: I stayed at "Lisboa e Tejo" apartment, 4th floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

It's true that the area around the apartments turn into party central around 10 pm but the noise was minimal once the windows were closed (and I had an apartment overlooking the street). I loved the transformation from a really quiet neighbourhood during the day to a VERY lively place at night.
The apartment itself was perfect for my needs: nice bright sitting room, well-equipped kitchen, comfy bedroom and nice modern bathroom. The heating/a.c. was easy to operate and effective (I used both over the course of my stay!) and the instructions for the appliances were also really easy to follow. Wifi worked well apart from one morning but someone came to fix it within the hour. At first I was a bit dismissive of the phone they give you when you check in but in fact it was great to be able to call them with questions as there isn't someone at reception all the time as there might be in an hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the number of stairs you'll have to climb to get to the apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotcan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
9HOTEL MERCY
9HOTEL MERCY
#65 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#125 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Rentals Chiado
Lisbon Rentals Chiado
#17 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
My Suite Lisbon
My Suite Lisbon
#18 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Grapes and Bites
Grapes and Bites
#43 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Chiado Apartments
Chiado Apartments
#7 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Colours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Colours

Property: Lisbon Colours
Address: Travessa da Queimada 44 | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-365, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre , Encarnação
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lisbon Colours 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Lisbon Colours, your home in Lisbon. The starting point to discover the colours of the city.Situated in the heart of the “Bairro Alto”, one of the most emblematic touristic quarters of Lisbon. Either for one weekend escape, a short stay, or for long vacations or stays for work and studies, to be in the Lisbon Colours allows you to be in the city center. Surrounded of innumerable points of interest, fun and leisure with activities that go from the visit to the charming viewpoints, museums, theatres and monuments, to the old elevators, of the “fado” houses to the traditional little stores, of the typical restoration to the lively night life - known as the best of Lisbon, without forgetting the coffee shops that are along the esplanades and streets of portuguese two colour small cobblestones pavement where each rock tells a story.The accessibilities in the city are another strong point of the Lisbon Colours, 15 minutes away from the Airport, the International Fair of Lisbon - FIL Expo and of the great place of shows the “Pavilhão Atlântico”, 10 minutes away from the Center of Congresses of Lisbon. With subway station, tramway, bus stops and taxi a few meters away from the building, this will be the base that allows you to be “near everything”.The Lisbon Colours “Bairro Alto” Apartments is constituted by 10 apartments very cosy in a centenary building totally rehabilitated in 2011. Our aim is to make of your stay a pleasant experience.Come to arouse the colours of your senses in Lisbon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Lisbon Colours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing