We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dora Fish Fried Curry was Excellent!”

Bengal Tandoori Lisboa
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 6/17
8:00 PM
Ranked #1,617 of 5,454 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bengal tandoori restaurant is located in the heart of lisbon and we offers authnetic Indian Cusines, friendly service, and romantic environment to our customers.
Reviewed April 20, 2018 via mobile

After 10 exhausting days of traveling, we were homesick and craving a little bit of home. Being from Louisiana and also of Bengali origin, we were craving some great curry. Most times you rarely see authentic Bengali cuisine (not the general subcontinental fare). We called ahead to determine the viability and to determine if they had halal food (they do). Right away, Shumi did not disappoint from hospitality to ambiance. The restaurant was packed with people of Bengali descent and from the subcontinent. My mother ordered the Dora fish curry, I ordered the butter chicken, my dad ordered shrimp curry, and my sister ordered beef vindaloo. The naan garlic was freshly made. The food was spicy, pungent, and unapologeticly Bengali in the masala. All four of us ate in silence and cleaned our plates. In between our eating, we gulped down some water (we asked for a lot of spice—they didn’t hold back). We would definitely come back to this gem, if and when, we come back to Portugal.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank pollen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 282 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We were staying close to this restaurant and having walked all day needed a handy option.
We had vegetarian dishes which were lovely ..aloo ghobi and Tarka Dahl and chana purée . All well cooked and portions very generous.
Crispy garlic Nan and helpful service

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank KathrynLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Last meal in Portugal so we wandered off the beaten track a bit in Sintra and came upon Bengal Tandoori. Huge menu, but we just wanted a small meal so we ordered Lamb vindahloo, rice and a Majestyk pizza. Both were excellent. We got just the right amount of heat in the curry sauce that we had asked for, and lots of lamb. The pizza arrived hot and tasty. After a lot of big, local fair and some higher end restaurants, this was a good end to our month in Portugal.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

The Indian food here is delicious and for vegetarians like us there were many choices. We went twice. The food is clearly made to order, not pre-made, so it is fresh and tasty. We had naans, dahl makhani, palaak paneer, malai kafta, aloo mattar and friends had other dishes. All were excellent and the portions large so that we took half our meals home. The service is excellent and the waiters were fun to talk with about their homeland. The ambience here is delightful as well. There are several different spaces for seating which gives each space an intimate feel. But, the flavors in the food are the best.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Cosy,clean. Typical "curry house " food . Excellent service, Busy on what should have been a "quiet night", always a good sign. Very reasonably priced. We'll go again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank pennsylvania65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Tandoori Lisboa also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
 

Been to Bengal Tandoori Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing