We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business travel”
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
Ranked #130 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Tirana, Albania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice business travel”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a brief business trip to Portugal. The hotel is quiet, very nicely decorated and with a nice setting by the riverside. Within walking distance there are a number or restaurants by the river and a few clubs with a great atmosphere. Although not close to the center or the historic site the location is convenient. The staff was very helpful with our requests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnejdaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We were pleased to hear that you found our hotel convenient and with a very helpful staff, since our mission is “always close to you”.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    370
    184
    68
    20
See reviews for
191
181
27
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are a good size
Can hear the subway and traffic pass by on the bridge if you face it -- so nicer view but noisy.
Breakfast spread looked nice but I didn't really enjoy the food -- most of the items were cold (scrambled eggs, French toast, eggs). Coffee was also not the greatest.
The staff at the front desk were nice and helpful in giving alternate routes of transport around the city (bus, taxi, walk).
Free wifi in the lobby - made for a very busy lobby in the evenings but speeds were good so no complaints.
It was nice to be by the river. Easy to get to and pleasant to walk by.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
Despite the negative appreciation that you made about the breakfast, that we have taken good note, we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us, particularly the location by the river.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Good location, super helpfull staff n the bfast is very nice. The only thing i didnt like is that the access to the gym isnt included, n the internet in the rooms is weak but is in a general opinion the hotel is tidy n nice. :) i will highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Spanishgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We were delighted to read your comments about our hotel, specially coming from someone with a vast travel experience.
Our goal is to provide pleasant stays to our guests, so we were very happy to know that we achieved it.
Thank you so much for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

In general service, cleaning and rooms could be better.
Noise in the rooms is a big problem having in mind the hotel is situated near a main street and under the bridge, with contant cars and trains passing by.
We stayed in a suite and the above issues apply to it as well, furthermore found no signs of detail having in mind we had payed more for the suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
We regret that the stay with us did not fulfil entirely your expectations and we apologise for the inconvenience.
We would like to inform you that the main differences between the standard room and the suite are that the latter has more space and a better view to the Tagus river.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelo Branco, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is nice for a short stay in Lisbon, I stay there very often for business.

LOCATION:
The location is near the river but a bit far from touristic attractions. Although close by taxi, bus, or tram. Also you public transport to the city center.
Very close to nightlife.

ROOMS:
choose the left wing, facing the old FIL (Lisbon Congress Center).
right wing is close to the main Lisbon bridge and very noisy.
Choose SUperior Room for free wifi, and parking.
Do not choose a room in the beginning or ending of each corridor (better in the middle). You may fail to have hot water during your morning bath. :-(

BREAKFAST:
it is very good and suited for a 4 star hotel. the room is very nice, and with lots of light.

Room Tip: choose the left wing, facing the old FIL (Lisbon Congress Center). right wing is close to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbk6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us frequently.
It was a pleasure to read your review and for sure your advice will be very useful for tripadvisor readers.
We look forward to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My family and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in Lisbon. We took a taxi to get to the center of Lisbon but it is also possible to take a bus. If you want to explore Lisbon by foot and fast metro it is perhaps best to stay at a hotel more near the center of the city. When we stayed at the hotel the environment was very calm. We parked our car right in front of the entrance of the hotel, on the other side of the road. The staff at the reception was helpful. My family and I thought that the breakfast buffet was fantastic. It offered quality food and lots of variety. Because our stay overlapped with Christmas celebrations, the breakfast buffet offered several Portuguese sweets typical of this festive season. We also had dinner twice at the restaurant of the hotel. The restaurant staff was very friendly although we thought that the prices were a bit expensive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We could hear the noise from the traffic at the bridge when the windows were open. The bathroom was very clean offering soaps, shower gel and shampoo. The biggest problem was WI-FI. There is no free WI-FI in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. Because I didn't want to spend extra money on internet connection, everytime I wanted to check my e-mail I would go downstairs and sit at the relaxing space near the reception. Sometimes the internet connection failed in the lobby and I had to reintroduce a very long username and password many times all over again. The original decorations at the reception as well as the special designs for the festive winter season along with the music and lighting at the lobby were very pleasant and calming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaN483MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and photos regarding our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced with the Wi-Fi and we are very happy with all the positive comments you made about us, particularly the ones concerning staff, breakfast, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel team were friendly and accommodating, but the wi-fi connection ( paid!!!) wasn't stable, drove us all nuts! The room was dark. Not really worth to stay, if coming for business, or a conference.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yonithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We apologise for the inconvenience with the wi-fi and we will report your comments to the IT team, so that they may improve this service.
We hope that the friendly and accommodating environment that you experienced, may lead you to stay again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#159 of 248 in Lisbon
296 reviews
Novotel Lisboa
#104 of 248 in Lisbon
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#56 of 248 in Lisbon
212 reviews
Clarion Suites Lisbon
#93 of 248 in Lisbon
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Property: Vila Gale Opera
Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#75 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#99 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing