We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Belem musea”
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
Ranked #140 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the big bridge over the Tajo. Standard Twin room was allright. Staff was friendly enough. On friday and saturday nights there is live music in the lobby, which is fun. Two computers are available in the lobby for web browsing.

Hotel is close to Belem musea (20-30 min walking, 5 min by electric tram [line 15]), and about 20-25 min from the central square by tram line 15.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed the opera shows.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 858 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Located on 300m from the Lisbon Conference Centre, with good public transport connections to Lisbon's heart of town and close to a range of restaurants on board of the Tagus river, this hotel is the right place to be. The rooms are straightforward and OK, and the breakfast is very good. Of note, the hotel is located almost right under the Ponte 25th of April, but the noise of the traffic isn't disturbing at all, thanks to good sound isolation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We were most pleased with your comments about our hotel, in particular with your quote about location, as this refers to the best attribute for a hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly clean, respectable, hotel, lacking in character as you would expect of a big chain hotel. Unfortunately the walls are thin! I was kept awake first by traffic noise, and then by the people next door talking loudly late in to the night...I called Reception to see if they could do anything, and no one answered...3 calls! Very frustrating

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We regret the noise that you experienced and we understand the frustration for the lack of answer to your calls; certainly some technical problem has occurred, for which we apologize.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is not for you to go with your family or holidays, but definitely a good option for you business trip. You are literally under the bridge - the one that crosses the Tejo River. Typical decoration of a goood standard business hotel room, with internet charged at € 5,00 per day/€15,00 per week. The restaurant is suprisingly good - normally hotel restaurants do not have good food - and chef Jorge´s cuisine deserves to be tasted. Try the "polvo a lagareiro" (octopus grilled with potatoes, greens, prepared in a good Portuguese olive oil).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us. We were particularly pleased with your comments about our restaurant and the food we serve; we agree that it deserves to be tasted!
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

It was the best hotel regarding its place near the congress. it was a clean confortable hotel nothing special but we were satisfied with the basics facilities we had. overpriced since we booked through the congress. the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and that you found our staff helpful.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is a hotel built to serve the centre of congresses just next door so you might expect a lot of professionals around the lobby. The hotel is very nice with a airy lobby well decorated and functional. Staff is efficient and friendly. The rooms are comfortable although I found the bed to narrow for me. I would expect a single bed with more space for my legs and my overnight kicks... One major problem of the rooms is the insonorisation, ie, the NOISE. One can hear next door neighbour 2 a.m. calls, the shower and with anx extra plus the railroad on the bridge, which is in front of the hotel. Major problem. Bathroom was made only for one person at a time, which means it is tinny. Do bring your personnal shampoo and shower gel. I do not recommend to use what the hotel provides as they are equally bad. Breakfast is average, which means that you do not have an assortment of bread to choose and fresh fruit is available though not ready to eat as the hotel does not prepare laminated fruit for guests. I have the usual white coffee, bread and butter and some salad fruit, so for me it is quite enough. If you are attending a conference this hotel is a good choice because you do not spend a penny in transportation. But if you may whish to also visit Lisbon you may find it suitable to book another hotel. All in one I would consider an average hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without communication door and facing north to manage the bridge noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.
We were surprised by your comments about our breakfast; certainly you experienced it in a very busy period, while reposition was being made, once our standards comprise 4 different laminated fruits and 5 types of bread.
We believe that the positive points that you noted, namely the decoration and the staff may lead you to stay again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose the hotel for its distance to the conference venue and I couldn't see much of the city since I had only half a day after the event. For half a day visit I found that the hotel is conveniently located between main tourism attractions. On its west there are The Jeronimos Monastery and Museum, the Belem Tower, The Berardo Museum. and on its East you have access to CBD and many other locations

Room Tip: Wireless Internet gets week when getting far from the office The Spa and Pool are available for ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrahimian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We were happy to learn that you consider Vila Galé Ópera a nice hotel and that you found our location convenient for business or leisure.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
2.7 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#117 of 255 in Lisbon
2,795 reviews
3.6 mi away
VIP Executive Entrecampos Hotel & Conference
0.4 mi away
Pestana Palace Lisboa
Pestana Palace Lisboa
#36 of 255 in Lisbon
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
VIP Grand Lisboa Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
EVOLUTION Lisboa Hotel
#39 of 255 in Lisbon
734 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#93 of 255 in Lisbon
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#75 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#103 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $84 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing