We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sure business hotel address”
Review of Vila Gale Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Opera
Ranked #131 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Barueri, SP
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A sure business hotel address”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is not for you to go with your family or holidays, but definitely a good option for you business trip. You are literally under the bridge - the one that crosses the Tejo River. Typical decoration of a goood standard business hotel room, with internet charged at € 5,00 per day/€15,00 per week. The restaurant is suprisingly good - normally hotel restaurants do not have good food - and chef Jorge´s cuisine deserves to be tasted. Try the "polvo a lagareiro" (octopus grilled with potatoes, greens, prepared in a good Portuguese olive oil).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the stay with us. We were particularly pleased with your comments about our restaurant and the food we serve; we agree that it deserves to be tasted!
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    366
    184
    68
    20
See reviews for
186
177
27
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

It was the best hotel regarding its place near the congress. it was a clean confortable hotel nothing special but we were satisfied with the basics facilities we had. overpriced since we booked through the congress. the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us and that you found our staff helpful.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It is a hotel built to serve the centre of congresses just next door so you might expect a lot of professionals around the lobby. The hotel is very nice with a airy lobby well decorated and functional. Staff is efficient and friendly. The rooms are comfortable although I found the bed to narrow for me. I would expect a single bed with more space for my legs and my overnight kicks... One major problem of the rooms is the insonorisation, ie, the NOISE. One can hear next door neighbour 2 a.m. calls, the shower and with anx extra plus the railroad on the bridge, which is in front of the hotel. Major problem. Bathroom was made only for one person at a time, which means it is tinny. Do bring your personnal shampoo and shower gel. I do not recommend to use what the hotel provides as they are equally bad. Breakfast is average, which means that you do not have an assortment of bread to choose and fresh fruit is available though not ready to eat as the hotel does not prepare laminated fruit for guests. I have the usual white coffee, bread and butter and some salad fruit, so for me it is quite enough. If you are attending a conference this hotel is a good choice because you do not spend a penny in transportation. But if you may whish to also visit Lisbon you may find it suitable to book another hotel. All in one I would consider an average hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without communication door and facing north to manage the bridge noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We regret the negative points that you mentioned, of which we take due note.
We were surprised by your comments about our breakfast; certainly you experienced it in a very busy period, while reposition was being made, once our standards comprise 4 different laminated fruits and 5 types of bread.
We believe that the positive points that you noted, namely the decoration and the staff may lead you to stay again at Vila Galé Ópera on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beppu, Oita, Japan.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I chose the hotel for its distance to the conference venue and I couldn't see much of the city since I had only half a day after the event. For half a day visit I found that the hotel is conveniently located between main tourism attractions. On its west there are The Jeronimos Monastery and Museum, the Belem Tower, The Berardo Museum. and on its East you have access to CBD and many other locations

Room Tip: Wireless Internet gets week when getting far from the office The Spa and Pool are available for ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrahimian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about our hotel.
We were happy to learn that you consider Vila Galé Ópera a nice hotel and that you found our location convenient for business or leisure.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Lisbon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Average Hotel. No surprises, some times is nice and some time is boring. in my opinion, the hotes has not the value that you pay. standars rooms according with the category of the Hotel.
Due to I used to work out in the fitness area for while after my job, I chose this Hotel, the unexpected was That I have to pay 11 euros for use the bike. Finally, the manager allowed get in with out payment as a favor. Personally, I dont like favors when you are paying the considerable amunt for you room.
the staff was correct, they did not make me feel confortable, simplement correct. Average..
if you come to this Hotel, my suggestion, ask for a room in the behind building where the train's noise can not disturb you.

happy stay:::::

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvillro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Allow us to mention that the price of 11 euros paid at the Health Club, include the access to all its facilities, namely, swimming pool, gym, sauna, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath).
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice and fine people working at the hotel; it's its best.

I have stayed for a week with my family, and enjoyed friday opera nights at the lobby.

Good restarurants are pretty close to the hotel; but Falstaff restutant at the hotel offers good wine and meals.

It is besides the 25 de Abril bridge, but we heard no noise at the room. Anyway, ask for the rooms located at the western part of the building.

Room Tip: Better to ask for rooms at the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel and for the photo with the beautiful view of the bridge.
We were happy to learn that you consider us a nice hotel in Lisbon. We were particularly glad to hear that you found the staff the best thing of the hotel, as at Vila Galé, we want to be “always close to you”.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

First: people at the hotel are all fine and care rightly in your behalf. Teresa Barros was fine from start to end, as well as all the people at the front desk and Falstaff restaurant.
Than the food: excellent (not expensive at all!!).
Place: close to Belem and its small restaurants. Try Pateis de Belem. Wow!!!

Noise: close to Ponte 25 Abril. But the rooms are well insulated against the traffic sound. No problem at all.

Friday nights are offered with some operatic arias. Fine and high quality detail. It was a really nice and delicate gift from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafetalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Opera, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We were most pleased with your comments about our staff, the food, the location and the opera shows.
The fact that you have considered our hotel as a “Great place”, makes our team very proud and encourages us to continuously improve.
We look forward to welcome you back at Vila Galé Ópera.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#158 of 246 in Lisbon
294 reviews
SANA Metropolitan Hotel
#112 of 246 in Lisbon
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olaias Park Hotel
#135 of 246 in Lisbon
936 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#106 of 246 in Lisbon
3,569 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#134 of 246 in Lisbon
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Opera

Property: Vila Gale Opera
Address: Travessa do Conde da Ponte, Lisbon 1300-141, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#75 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#99 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming city hotel is situated directly in Lisbon's tourist centre. The hotel is set directly over the Tagus River and the lifely Docas area. The centre of Lisbon, Rossio, is roughly 5 km away and the congress centre is 100 meters away. Public transport departs from stops just 200 m from the hotel. The surrounding area is filled with bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs. The main tourism attractions are only 500 meters away in Belem. The airport is approximately 12 km away. Opened in 2002, the hotel offers a total of 9 floors with a total of 259 rooms, of which 19 are superior rooms and 16 junior suites. The facilities include a lobby with a 24-hour reception, a safe, free Wi-Fi internet connection in public areas, lifts, a luggage room, a currency exchange desk, conference rooms. In the public areas guest will find an inviting meal area and restaurant and a magnificent bar. Restaurant with highchairs for infants. For an additional fee you may use our laundry services, garage or Health Club. The bright and modern en suite rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel offers guests a Health Club (for an additional cost) with an indoor swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, a Turkish bath and gym. The hotel also has a Spa that offers massage and beauty treatments also for an additional cost. The nearest golf course is just 15 km away. Ask for more information about sports and other activities. Guests may choose their breakfast, lunch or dinner meals from a wide buffets. At lunch and dinner guests may also select dishes from the set menu, or take the a la carte option. In addition, the hotel caters for guests with special dietary requirements or take away meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Opera Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing