We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be warned you may not receive your money if you cancel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Balthazar
Ranked #4 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Be warned you may not receive your money if you cancel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I made a reservation with this property last July and unfortunately my plans changed and had to cancel my reservation. Though the cancellation policy through booking.com and Casa Balthazar said that I could cancel with no penalty I have yet to receive a refund. First I was told that they could not refund to my credit card - was not a problem to charge the deposit. Then I was told they would wire me the money. Finally they sent me a receipt that I would receive a Money Gram with no instructions on how I would get my money. Two months later and many emails asking for clarification I have received nothing. To make matters worse Booking.com has been no help and said that it was not their problem....they don't charge the clients thus it is up to the property. This property has received many good reviews so I have to believe that they are nice people however, they are nice people who aren't able to refund clients who have to cancel their reservation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank utah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Manager at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mrs. Adrienne Ruderman,

The refund was made via "Money Gram" on 2th January 2014. The company confirmed to us that the amount was retreived on 31st January 2014 at 6:35 PM.

As our cancellation policy says, full cancellation made ​​21 days prior to check-in day, 100% of the deposit is returned, with a € 15 administrative deduction of tax (AT).

Can you please send us an email so we can send you the receipt of the money transfer?

Best wishes,
Casa Balthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    35
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
259
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in the Duque Garden Suite for 2 nights in early Jan. The suite included a good sized living room with kitchenette which was well stocked with plates, microwave, etc. The decor is smart and modern. The building is a converted house with a central courtyard and pool. This would be a great bonus in summer. There are many restaurants nearby and while the laneway is narrow and difficult for cars this makes the location more private. The Buenes Aires restaurant in the same building is worth a visit, particularly if you are in need of a break from "rice fish"! One night we did hear a lot of noise from the restaurant but it quietened down around 11.00pm so was not too bothersome. The breakfasts consisted of fruit, cheese, ham, fresh juice and some bakery items and were delivered on a tray every morning at the guest's chosen time. We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The internet service was effective.
We would recommend this hotel and would be very happy to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Manager at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing your opinion with your review on Tripadvisor. Your opinion is really important for us so it’s always a great pleasure and a big privilege to have such a positive comments from your side.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchenbernsdorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our room was on the first floor just above a noisy restaurant that plays music EVERY NIGHT until 3 ou 4 am, increasing gradually the volume : impossible to sleep the first part of the night throughout the stay (6 nights ) and all hotels in lisbon were naturally full complete in this period of holidays, then we had no other choice than to stay and to undergo the noise...

Breakfast served half the time with 15 to 20-25 minutes delay

This hotels stands in a small, not very 'glorious' alley (garbages,...)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyza s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Manager at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We would like to thank you for your comment, it is important for us to have constructive feedback.
 
We apologize for the usual excesses of New Year’s Eve.
 
We are committed to the improvement of hotel’s insulation, and as a result we will begin construction in the next few days.
 
We hope that you have taken with you memories of an excellent stay and that we have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've been meaning to get around to write this review as I enjoyed my stay very much but hadn't got around to it. We stayed at Casa Balthazar at the beginning of september, our room was a good size and well done out (pool room). The breakfast suited our needs, although for some people it might seem there isn't enough 'breakfasty' or savoury items. The small but sufficient pool does provide for a nice oasis after a morning of sightseeing, to lounge around by the pool before heading out in the evening was perfect. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, liked the touch of the mobile phone even though we never used it. The place has a nice relaxed feel to it, but is of a high standard, feels like you're staying at your organic food loving, meditating, rich aunt's house :) . I thought the location served us well since its walking distance from almost anything, and most of all the place is great value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sukh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Gerente at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your choice on Casa Balthazar during your stay in Lisbon.
Also thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing here your opinion with the world on Tripadvisor.
Me and the entire team will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future in Casa Balthazar.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
900 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent three nights in the Rossio Terrace Room which had an amazing view of the city. I can not think of a better location to explore all of the old neighborhoods of Lisbon (Barrio Alto, Chiado, Baixa, Alfalma, Rossio, Belem, etc) as well as make daytrips to Cascais and Sintra. It is close to the Rossio train station, metro stations, and lots of restaurants. And, at night, it was totally quiet.

We reserved through their website and communicated our arrival time so there would be someone there to let us in. You are given a mobile phone in case you need anything, since there is not 24 hour reception/service. Breakfast times start at 8:30 and it's brought to your room. Meat, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, coffee pods, and fresh squeezed OJ. The staff are very nice, speak pretty good English, and can arrange taxis, dinner reservations, car rentals.

It's a lovely old home (complete with parking and courtyard) that has been refurbished and decorated with a mix of antiques and modern touches. Lovely little pool (we didn't have time to use), nice reception and living room with honesty bar. We enjoyed having a little kitchenette in the room - which was wonderful for light meals/lunch/breaks. It could have only been more perfect if they had a info packet in the room with a neighborhood map showing supermarkets, wine shops, etc. Overall, this was so much better than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Gerente at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your choice on Casa Balthazar during your stay in Lisbon.
Also thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing here your opinion with the world on Tripadvisor.
Me and the entire team will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future in Casa Balthazar.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We visited Lisbon in October and stayed 3 nights at the Casa Balthazar. It's a charming hotel and has a great location. The staff was great and made us feel very welcomed! We stayed in the Rossio Terrace Room and the view from the terrace was amazing. The room was very quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was served in the room so you could eat leisurely and enjoy the view. We look forward to a return visit to Casa Balthazar!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rossio Terrace Room and it had an amazing view of Lisbon and it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Gerente at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your choice on Casa Balthazar during your stay in Lisbon.

Also thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing here your opinion and such a great description about the property and it´s privileged location.

Me and the entire team will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future in Casa Balthazar.

Warm regards,
Casa Balthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were celebrating our birthdays and really wanted something great. The choice was excellent!
We stayed at Panoramic Terrace, the more expensive room, but it was absolutely worth it. Waking up to this amazing view, having freshly baked pasteis with orange juice at the terrace, while wrapped in white thick bathrobes - is there anything else the bourgeois like us could ask for?
The location is just perfect, in the middle of the old town, very close to everything, parking at the premises, amazing interior, great pool and very intimate and private environment. It's been more than a year ago that we've visited, and always recall with a smile about our experience there.
Stayed in August 2012.

Room Tip: Take a Terrace Room - the view is absolutely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaBalthazar, Gerente at Casa Balthazar, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your choice on Casa Balthazar during your stay in Lisbon.

Also thank you for the time you dedicate us on sharing here your opinion and such a great description about the property and it´s privileged location.

Me and the entire team will be looking forward to welcome you back in the future in Casa Balthazar.

Warm regards,
Casa Balthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 416 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Balthazar

Property: Casa Balthazar
Address: Rua do Duque 26, Lisbon 1200-159, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Lisbon, in Chiado, Casa Balthazar is part of the city’s history.Balthazar, the founder of the famous Confeitaria Nacional (the oldest pastry in Lisbon), acquired this beautiful property in August 1882. The house, with wonderful views to the castle and Rossio, still belongs to the family. The old factory, where all the cookies were produced to Confeitaria Nacional, including the famous “pastel de nata” and many other old recipies, became a restaurant.The family atmosphere can be felt in the living rooms and rooms which provides comfort and a unique experience.Come learn more about Lisbon and you’ll have a surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing