We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Balthazar
Ranked #4 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful!! Delightful from the breakfast..with orange juice...to the location to the lovely ladies running it! Couldn't have hoped for more at a very reasonable price!
We especially loved breakfast and the view over the city and castle!
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We loved our suite overlooking the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    35
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
259
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's been about 2 weeks we returned from Lisbon. Casa Balthazar was ous home during those 4 great days. The hotel proved to be a prefecty located spot with very friendly staff. When my mum felt unwell they even bought a thermometer and some medicine for her convenince. The breakfast was great with daily fresh orange juice and pastry from confectionery.
The view from our terrace room was terrific. Sitting there at night with a glass of wine enjoying Lisbon's spectacular roofs helped to relax after a busy day. A nice swimming pool downstairs contributed as well.
The only drawback was the lack of slippers my mum was so looking to.
The town is within easy access. Nearby are cozy restaurants with delicious local food.
We highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Lisbon.
Thanks for a warm atmosphere!
Irina & Natalia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
of many places
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed in suites at both Casa Balthazar and Chiado 16 during a week-long visit in Lisbon so it was interesting to compare the two. The suite at Chiado 16 was a bonafide one-bedroom apartment in a small building with an elevator, fully equipped with a kitchen and a washing machine. The "Chalet Suite" I took at Casa Balthazar was smaller and has the layout of a regular hotel suite with a bedroom, living room and a dressing area that had a mini-bar style refrigerator, espresso maker and a microwave. I think CB offers a little less privacy than C16. From my suite, I could hear conversations of people sunbathing or splashing about in the pool. They could also look into the room if I kept my windows open.

On the other hand, the suite at C16 has the disadvantage of loud noise from the frequent trams that go by the building. When no one was using the pool or the garden, it really was quiet and peaceful in my suite at CB. I also thought the bathroom was much better designed and roomier here than that at C16.

Both suites are stylishly furnished. Both places are centrally located. Both had friendly and helpful staff. Casa Balthazar is a bargain compared to Chiado 16, at about 1/3 less in price. The one thing I disliked about staying at CB is the lack of elevator. After walking around the steep hills of Lisbon all day, it would be nice not to have to deal with several sets of stairs to get to the rooms at CB. It seems that they are currently working on adding more rooms and apartments at CB. The owners should consider converting the garage doors into the main entrance (from which all the suites could be accessed directly) - this would eliminate having to go up and down at least two sets of stairs.

As things stand now if you are disabled or have any issues that affect your ability to use stairs, Casa Balthazar is probably not for you.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tranquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The welcome was good as was the finish and setting. Very nice rooms and furnishings etc. Pool and garden were very nice and location great. Slightly annoying that at boutique prices there was no orange juice in the breakfast. I had read all the other reviews before booking and was expecting exceptional.......where it really fell down was the lack of sound proofing, you could here the furniture being moved above your head in the apartment above so no chance of an afternoon nap or going asleep before 1am as you could clearly hear music from the bar/cafe next door.

I would go back but only to a top floor apartment away from the cafe.

Room Tip: Insist on top and away from cafe as the thing that really bugged me was i had emailed saying i wa a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BernieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is a high quality B & B near Chiado, Rossio and Baixa, making it a great location.

We stayed in the Antique Garden Room, which (unsurprisingly) had lovely antique furniture, a large comfy bed and a small table next to a window overlooking the pool/garden. The bathroom was large and bright too. Very much like another reviewer, we were jumping around with excitement after we'd checked in.

Breakfast was brought to our room everyday and consisted of bread, cheese, ham, fruit, pastries and cake. Absolutely delicious! No evening provision for food but there was a great restaurant downstairs (no noise from the restaurant travel) if you didn't fancy walking far. Otherwise, there are stacks of restaurants close by and Baixa with its bohemian vibe is 5 mins walk - far enough away not be affected by late night Fado.

We only used the swimming pool on one day, mainly because it was too cold and we were always out in the afternoon when it seemed to get the sun. All the same, it was great to have the option. Another lovely feature were the other communal areas - a couple of rooms with doors to the pool area (containing an honesty bar) and a terrace higher up.

Regretfully there were a couple of downsides and it really pains me to mention these BUT there are radios playing in the communal areas. Not a problem during the daytime, in fact it's very pleasant, but it was turned on way too early and turned off way too late. Unfortunately, the beautiful antique door to our room didn't provide enough sound insulation from the corridor. So, I ended up turning it off/down at night and on the last morning I was woken up before 8 to "Lord won't you buy my a Mercedes Benz", which scared the pants off me.

The other quirk (shall we call it) was that to secure the booking they would only accept a bank transfer, which gives us no protection is there is a problem, or by PayPal but we'd have to pay the PayPal fees too. We paid by paypal and whilst I would have happily have paid the same amount extra for the room, I begrudged the Paypal fees as a matter of principle.

All considered, a hidden gem of a place and I would definitely stay there again if I could have a room with better sound insulation so the wonderful lie in were a bit longer.

Room Tip: Best time for using the pool is afternoon when it gets the best of the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartystix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The place is brand new and is situated in the area of Rossio square a little bit on the ill at Bairo alto side and a couple of minutes walk away from Rossio train station where you can get a direct train to Sintra ( also a must from UNESCO site around Lisbon )

We stayed 4 nights in the Chalet Suite which was the biggest comparing to others the 8 other suites and was in the old Building which actually looks like a Chalet. The place was just perfect despite we had no terrasse with the stunning view on the castle San Jorge.
The bed was a little bit too hard for me but still comfortable enough.

The breakfast was delivered at the door side every morning. Nothing spectacular but enough in quantity. There were also everyday different cakes and cookies which directly came from the Confetaria Nacional.

The chalet has a very lovely sitting area with still smell from old furniture. the the courtyard you can enjoy the little swimming pool. Though we could definitely not use it as for practicing it's till nice to sit enjoy the area for a rest after a long day walk in Lisbon.

The staff is very attentive and helpful. They are really willing to give you a warm welcome and try to make the most they can to make your stay a very pleasant one. They Speak good english and one of them even speak french.

There is no dinning option but here but you can have a walk around the area in the evening there is many lots of places where to dine.

Room Tip: antique room, chalet suite and the terrasse suite are the best option depending on your taste and pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I (both in our early 30's) just returned from four wonderful nights at Casa Balthazar and are still dreaming of our time there. We even hesitated writing this review for fear that the secret heaven that is Casa Balthazar will be discovered and we won't have a chance to return in the future and have the same unbelievable experience.

The house is incredibly beautiful and the rooms are newly renovated and immaculate. The bathrooms in the rooms are also very high end with fantastic water pressure! We stayed in both the Duque Garden suite and the Rosio Terrace rooms (as neither was available for the entire four nights). Each were fantastic with the Duque Garden suite being huge (with a living room and dining room) but no terrace and the Rosio Terrace being much smaller but having the most incredible terrace with views over the Castelo San Jorge and the Rossio (really, words can't do the view justice). The rooms also have free Wi-Fi which actually works very well.

The house is also located right in the dead center of everything you might want to do in Lisbon or even nearby towns. The Rossio is a five minute walk as is Barrio Alto. We also easily walked to the Al Fama (including Castelo San Jorge) and the Centre Commercial. Moreover, if you want to do a day trip to Sintra for example the train station is literally a two minute walk away. We didn't touch a cab the entire time we were there except for the return trip to the airport.

The staff also deliver breakfast (pastries, fruit, orange juice etc... which are very tasty) to your room each morning at a time of your choosing. However, they leave it outside the door and don't disturb you so if you oversleep (which we did quite often!) you aren't woken up but still have breakfast waiting for you when you finally to recover from the amazing prior night's activities.

The only potential downside (although did not turn out to be a problem for us) is that, as another reviewer wrote, the house is basically a series of separate apartments more than a hotel and is not set up to provide guests with many services. Thus, you aren't going to get the 5 star concierge treatment and no one is going to really provide you with fantastic recommendations for activities or restaurants etc... Similarly, there is no business center (although, as mentioned, there is free Wi-Fi) and no gym. However, if you're ok with being relatively independent none of this should matter. Other than that, the only other "problem" is they apparently require a deposit on the rooms but do not take credit card? They argue they aren't allowed to do take a deposit on a credit card without you being there but other places in Portugal do so this seems a bit odd to us.

In sum, we really can't say enough wonderful things about the house and the absolutely incredible time we had there. Oh, and definitely go for one of the Terrace rooms as it is worth absolutely every penny!!!

Room Tip: Go for a terrace room, worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 231 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 416 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Balthazar

Property: Casa Balthazar
Address: Rua do Duque 26, Lisbon 1200-159, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Lisbon, in Chiado, Casa Balthazar is part of the city’s history.Balthazar, the founder of the famous Confeitaria Nacional (the oldest pastry in Lisbon), acquired this beautiful property in August 1882. The house, with wonderful views to the castle and Rossio, still belongs to the family. The old factory, where all the cookies were produced to Confeitaria Nacional, including the famous “pastel de nata” and many other old recipies, became a restaurant.The family atmosphere can be felt in the living rooms and rooms which provides comfort and a unique experience.Come learn more about Lisbon and you’ll have a surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing