We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and romantic hotel”
Review of Solar dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Solar dos Mouros
Ranked #47 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, well situated near the castle and old town or down town 10 min walking.
Clean and comfortable rooms with a little view to the river. The staff are very friendly. The only minus is the breakfast a little expensive regarding the offer not so great, without hot food and few choices.

An advice: portugal is rich in pasticery, please dont offer plastic cakes/muffins
soft music in the breakfast room it ill be a pleasure

Beside this i liked very much

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariacarvalho65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.

Breakfast menu is normally determined by what our guests request: that's how muffins made their appearance. We normally include various items from traditional portuguese pastry, depending on whether or not it's logistically possible to get them in time for breakfast to the Castle area. Obviously some guests are having issues with local food and in this case we have to adjust to more international food.

You can always experiment with the larger suite in the future where the view will be breathtaking, we'll continue to offer discounts for direct bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 289 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

They were a few amenities missing from what you would expect from a 4star hotel: no minibar, no internet in the room .. They didn't have any maps on the first day of our arrival which was disappointing as we wanted to check our whereabouts. We were also given a room on the 1st floor while our booking stipulated we would get a room with a view on the city ...However, the hotel is spotless and the staff friendly

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazzqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review!

We are going to rework room types/definitions for all our web pages in 2014 so that people are more aware of what they're booking and how their accommodation is going to look like.

It's strange there were no maps at the front desk, we'll investigate what went wrong. In any case, should the official map not materialize, we always print more detailed versions from Google maps for our guests and our staff can give you a solid description on what's happening in the area/places to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel is well presented / clean and the staff are very friendly and all speak English.
For a four star hotel it did have some bits missing.
Bed was very hard and there was no minibar in the room.
My room was noisy at night with people coming in as it was on the first floor.
Also my room faced the street rather than out to sea - which meant I had no view.

Room Tip: I'd want to have a sea view room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 745benjaminp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Hello and thank you for the review/suggestions.

With mattresses/beds, it's a bit tricky to find the right solution: some guests find them either too soft or too hard; too small or too large. We can always move people to a different room in case they're having trouble with their original room, all you need to do is communicate to the staff.

For room types, see the response above: hopefully our 2014 system will be easier for the traveller.

Mini-bar in your room had some minor issues, meaning we had to remove it while waiting for the delivery on the new one. Alternatively, we have a bar service at our guests' disposal in the hotel lobby or drinks can be served in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this very attractive boutique hotel in the Alfama area of Lisbon which is a great location for getting to all the main attractions. The hotel is spotlessly clean, very well run with an excellent buffet breakfast. The bedrooms are quite quirky, a good size with modern furnishings. The manager was very helpful with information re. restaurants and tours.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor appeared to be very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenstal1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

To be recommended - if you're the 'Marriott-kind-of-traveller': fine location, charming room, wonderful view of the city - and service minded staff. And - on a very, very rainy day - we were served a large glas port. Just what we needed to cheer up ...

2  Thank AKRARUP
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We rented three rooms, all of which were beautifully decorated, clean, large, and very comfortable. The views from the rooftop suite were fantastic. The only downside for us was that we were too tall for the ceilings in the top-floor suite and received a couple bumps and cuts going into the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you're 6 feet tall, be careful if you rent the top-floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthOaks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at this beautifully decorated hotel on our first three nights in Lisbon. We then road tripped, but decided to come back for our last night in Portugal. We were not disappointed!! The view from the rooftop suite was simply breathtaking. Centrally located at the steps of the Castelo Sao Jorge, you can walk everywhere from here. The staff was more than helpful, providing tips, directions, etc. Breakfast was delicious but not included in the price. Wifi in common areas, not in rooms. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. Would warmly recommend it to friends. Ask for the complimentary bottle of wine. Also, taxis have a hard time finding this hotel – keep a hotel business card with you and show it to them before getting in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meladonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#58 of 255 in Lisbon
444 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
Lisboa Pessoa Hotel
#55 of 255 in Lisbon
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
1,552 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
9 Hotel Mercy
9 Hotel Mercy
#77 of 255 in Lisbon
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar dos Mouros

Address: Rua do Milagre de Santo Antonio 6 | The Alfama / Castelo District, Lisbon 1100-351, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $119 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar dos Mouros 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only 5 minutes from the city center where you will enjoy traditional shopping, great restaurants, theaters, museums and Lisbon's vibrant night life. Each room is smartly decorated with genuine pieces from contemporary artists chosen by the owner and painter Luis Lemos. They offer all comfort facilities of modern accommodation in quiet environment. A public car park is available nearby. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas and in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Dos Mouros Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing