We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a long weekend in Lisbon”
Review of Solar dos Mouros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Solar dos Mouros
Ranked #43 of 255 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We greatly enjoyed this hotel, its location just a few steps away from the fort, very friendly personel, the nice clean room and the view from our room on city an Tejo river.
Breakfast was great. At night it is very quiet for a good sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARTIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Solar dos Mouros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 273 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed only one night at Solar dos Mouros. Our loft room was spacious with views of Lisbon. A good feature of this loft is that the bathroom is on the same level as the bedroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. The negatives are that there is an extra charge for a safe key and for breakfast in a room that was not a bargain.

Room Tip: The duplex room and suite are the largest rooms and have the best views but are also the priciest.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review. We are obviously very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the duplex suite, which is indeed one of our largest rooms. It's not the most expensive room, this honour goes only to the suite with terrace; three other suites (without balcony) facing the river are less expensive. Generally speaking, our price policy in 2013 has been very user-friendly compared to the last 5 or so years, but we are unfortunately obliged to charge a few extras in the face the difficult economic situation Portugal - and tourism industry in particular - is facing right now. The price of breakfast served in the room is actually lower than in most hotels in Lisbon. We firmly believe in direct booking - not via external websites - when a guest can be offered something, you can also get detailed information about the type of room you're booking, the floor, view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is such a lovely boutique hotel. The staff were friendly and professional, the concierge - knowledgeable and patient. His recommendations proved to be very valuable. Breakfast was generous, wide ranging and suitable for various tastes, and in short - excellent. The room was spacious, clean and aesthetically furnished. As previous reviewers noted, the location is both convenient (two minutes walk from the Castelo de Sau Jorge) and picturesque.

We hope to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 143ReneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review, you're very kind. We are very glad you feel so positive about Solar dos Mouros and the work our staff are doing. Hopefully, we'll see you soon in Lisbon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Loved our stay at Solar dos Mouros. The view from our room was amazing. We ended up in the 2 level room which we enjoyed. Wasn't the room we had booked but we were happy with our accommodations. We could see all the way to the waterfront below. The staff was very helpful and offered lots of advice on where to eat at nearby restaurants. Great proximity to the Castle. Beautiful area of Lisbon. Glad we did not rent a car in Lisbon because the Alfama area is only open to local traffic. We picked it up at the airport upon leaving to move on to our next destination.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicklet67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is a boutique hotel just steps away from the Castle which sits above all of Lisbon. The location is great if you are staying a few days in the city, very close to Alfama and also Chiado- which is the main shopping district in Lisbon. There is no elevator, so if you are carrying heavy luggage, try to get a low floor. The staff is super friendly and available 24/7.

However, my boyfriend and I had made a reservation for breakfast (13 Euros each) upon our late night arrival. The guy who checked us in told us we needed to show up before 11:30am. So in the morning we expected a nice breakfast inside the lounge area downstairs, where we could sit around, sip coffee and chat. However, the morning staff girl told us breakfast ended at 10am, and would not serve us. She didn't even offer us a cup of coffee for the miscommunication that had happened. Apparently someone didn't have the right information, or pass along our reservation, and we were quite disappointed, as we didn't want to leave right away. But we had to if we wanted food.

Also, the maids start work quite early and you can hear the vacuum running through the thin walls.

But the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms were well kept, complete with bath tub and hair dryer. Each room has a mini bar & small fridge. Would I stay there again? Maybe, but I also might try to find a better deal somewhere else.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have heavy luggage, pick a lower floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairygirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Hello and thanks for taking the time to write a review. The hotel, ideed, does not have an elevator and it's written in the description text or, in some cases, elevator is absent from the list of hotel amenities. It's very important to read the hotel description in the full. Breakfast is always served between 08:00hrs and 10:30hrs for logistical reasons, we will investigate why you were told otherwise. Cleaning starts around normal time, by Portuguese standards. We think you were offered a fair deal, given the late cancellation/no-show rule and our desire to let people use their credit in case they can't make it to the hotel for personal or any other reasons. Once again, our rates comply 100% with rates in any other hotel located in this particular area of Lisbon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My teenage son and I enjoyed your boutique hotel: its location in the midst of the old city but close to public transport; colorful and tasteful wall art and furniture; books to peruse in several languages; and discreet but helpful staff. You were recommended by an amorous couple, yet the spot also suited our needs.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comment and we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location of this place is its biggest advantage. The price is quite high, compared to other hotels I stayed at during my visit to Lisbon. Tha place is situated in an old building and the rooms are located in a sort of a basement, what makes them a bit damp and the air not the freshest.

Room Tip: Rooms look great on the Internet photos, but a bit different in real life. Don't trust the web.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EwaKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis L, Guest Relations Manager at Solar dos Mouros, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Hello and thank you for your comment. Please note our price policy is completely in line with other hotels located in the Castle area. You review would seem to indicate that you've chosen one of the standard rooms on the ground floor (which still sits at the top of the hill and right next to the Castle, one of the highest points in the city), these were recently added to the hotel due to the general demand. We also have more spacious and perhaps slightly more comfortable superior rooms if you wish to maximise your experience. Our building is indeed an old classic Lisbon house, as you'd expect in the historic centre. It's worth noting all standard rooms come equipped with air conditioning units, so warming up the air is a possibility, especially when it rains hard outside. We have a variety of photos on the website and Tripadvisor page; in any case, our staff will be happy to assist you with any questions regarding the hotel or the area via email or telephone prior to the reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 254 in Lisbon
856 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Santiago de Alfama - Boutique Hotel
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Memmo Alfama Hotel
Memmo Alfama Hotel
#15 of 254 in Lisbon
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#44 of 254 in Lisbon
424 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#30 of 254 in Lisbon
231 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hotel Riverside Alfama
Hotel Riverside Alfama
#133 of 254 in Lisbon
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar dos Mouros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar dos Mouros

Address: Rua do Milagre de Santo Antonio 6 | The Alfama / Castelo District, Lisbon 1100-351, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $192 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar dos Mouros 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only 5 minutes from the city center where you will enjoy traditional shopping, great restaurants, theaters, museums and Lisbon's vibrant night life. Each room is smartly decorated with genuine pieces from contemporary artists chosen by the owner and painter Luis Lemos. They offer all comfort facilities of modern accommodation in quiet environment. A public car park is available nearby. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas and in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Solar dos Mouros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Dos Mouros Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing