We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat Seafood Here! Great Restaurant in Belém.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Os Jeronimos

Os Jeronimos
Ranked #79 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belem
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
152 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Eat Seafood Here! Great Restaurant in Belém.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Here's the 1,2,3s...
1. Fresh grilled fish in a small place just a couple doors down from the famous Pastéis de Belém.

2. Order seafood. Drink some house wine. It's all good.

3. Casual, inexpensive, and worth the wait or eat at the counter.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pack-Less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    349
    43
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“eat at Belem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every time I visit Lisbon I eat at this restaurant. It is the perfect place to eat at Belem, I have never been disappointed. Very good portugues food and service. The people are very kind and helpful, the dishes are delicious, and in very good prices. Try salmon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erifylielina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fast service, tasty food and cheerful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Brilliant service, the fastest in Portugal! Excellent food. Good prices. Big choice of vines. Simple, but clean interior. Location is very easy to find. My kids enjoyed because waiters were glad to play with them. Thank you, guys!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa OK USA
Level Contributor
204 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Tiny but delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a tiny restaurant right on the Main Street in Belem, next to the place that makes the famous pastries. We arrived at about 1:30 for lunch, and it was packed. However, a couple left soon, and we were escorted to a table right in front. Bread, bacalao fritters, and cheese were on the table. The cheese and bread were outstanding, the fritters not so much so though they would have probably been better warm.
Our waiter was very nice and funny. He told us if we didn't like the food, we didn't have to pay. No worries for him, as the food was outstanding. I had a sole which came with potatoes and salad. Very tasty. My husband had wild boar with French fries and salad. I had a bite of the boar, and it was quite tender and full of flavor. They also brought a big dish of rice. Wine list was reasonably priced and good. We had a Portuguese red from Douro which was great.
I definitely woUld eat here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Feistyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Restaurante Jeronimos is located in the Belem area of Lisbon, Portugal.

The charming maître d’ who led us to our table said he’d pay for our food if we did not like it. Unfortunately, the food was so delicious that he didn’t have to pay a penny.

Try the sauce of fresh garlic, onion, flat leaf parsley, and lemon in olive oil. It goes well on the potatoes as well as the seafood.

We normally don’t eat desert but yielded to the charm of the host and were glad we did. More delights for the palate! He then brought complimentary lemon tea that was delightful. We left feeling as though we’d formed a “new old friendship.”

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Os Jeronimos also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Os Jeronimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing