We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roman style church”

Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior )
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.20*
and up
Small-Group Lisbon Sightseeing Tour by Segway with Food Tastings
Ranked #65 of 425 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Cathedral Se, a large fortress begun in 1150 A.D. by Afonso Henriques, is the burial place for Lisbon's patron saint, St. Anthony.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
504 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice roman style church”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good example of roman cathedral, more interesting is cloister with archeological work in progress, and treasury.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jedrus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    539
    260
    43
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ok so I am a big fan if European cathedrals and live to visit them when I travel. But I have to say this is not that special.Small and not that interesting compared to many others I've seen.One tip is there is a church very close to Restauradores metro very close to the plaza. it's absolutely amazing and gave me goosebumps to go inside.So much so I went back the next day.Also it's free and it is spectacular !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fran15111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
413 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A must-see in Viseu. Dark and old but very charming. You can get there by walking uphill from Rua Direita. There are many souvenir stores, fabric shops and others.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla_Thiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Impressive, beautiful, and easy to walk to. We enjoyed our visit. Definitely worth seeing while in Viseu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cj_sfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cloisters”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Another beautiful church with a cloisters open to visit.
Whenever I have the chance I visit cloisters, this is the best part of churches in my opinion.
The fee is really cheap for the cloisters.
I sttoped there on my way down from Castelo de São Jorge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nandabordoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior ) also viewed

 

Been to Se de Lisboa ( Igreja de Santa Maria Maior )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing