We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for an evening walk”

Padrao dos Descobrimentos
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.96*
and up
Classic Lisbon and Arrábida Wine Tour
Ranked #36 of 426 things to do in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Erected in the honor of Portugal's Prince Henry the Navigator in 1960, this is a dramatic work of art in stone that commemorates Portugal's many famous explorers and adventurers.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place for an evening walk”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This monument in itself is a place where you just want to take several pictures and you are done. However, as this monument is only a 10 minute walk to the Tower of Belem it is a great place to go for a evening walk right by the river and see two things at once ;)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,765
    2,643
    1,067
    190
    79
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Pa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This large monument is very impressive and one of the reasons why i chose to go to Lisbon. It is very large in size and his a history of Portuguese naval history. I believe you can go to the top which gives a great view of discovery map below. I did not go inside and head to the top as I was pretty beat. It was interesting to see from the air as my flight went right over it and when I finally saw it in person I had no idea to the scale of the monument. Although now I wish i had gone to the top and gotten some photos of the map below..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ak474me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A must see in Belem”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my no 2 reason for visiting Belem, (closely followed by the Portugese Tarts). It shows how all those years ago the Portugese were kings of navigation. It is an awesome monument, right on the water. Not garish & tastefully done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
350 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A must see when you are in the area.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right across the way from the Jeronimos monastery is this sculpture to the Portuguese navigators, and the kings and patrons that sent them to discover the world. It is of interest to take a look and the huge terrazo map of the world before it that details the time and place of each navigators trips. It is good to have a guide so you will know which fascist style monumental sculpture of which person is whom.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank terryLCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A monument. That's it”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

You can watch it from the outside if you take a tourist bus and they will tell you the story about. But is not a big deal to be honest.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gbrl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padrao dos Descobrimentos also viewed

 

Been to Padrao dos Descobrimentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing