We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice and for free” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja de Sao Roque

Igreja de Sao Roque
Book In Advance
$63*
and up
City of Neighborhoods Tour II by Tuk Tuk
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice and for free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

One of the few churches you can visit for free in Portugal.
Very nice golden paintings. In the church the artists used a technique called micromosaic.
As one of the reviewer already said, the golden paintings were made with gold stolen from Brazil.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    423
    62
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Check out the ceiling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After a few weeks in any European country, churches seem to be somewhat similar. This one is worth the visit even to a weary tourist. It dates from the 16th C. There are many side altars that are very very ornate. One, to St. John the Baptist, was first installed in the Vatican and then moved to Sao Roque. But the highlight of this huge church is the flat wooden ceiling with the tromp d'oeil painting that looks like it is arched and domed! Large floor tiles mark unnamed graves of indigents who died of various plagues.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ever wonder what happened to all that gold from Brazil?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We just happened upon this cathedral while we were in Lisbon. Reviewers who say it is breathtaking are right. It is a standing to testament to the bygone days when Portugal was a wealthy world power. I think this is the most gold I have ever seen in one place. Having seen a lot of cathedrals in Europe, this one stands out as exceptional.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolliFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do you like Baroque or not??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you like Baroque, just go. If you do not like Baroque just do not go, it is a waste of time. I do not like Baroque

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank justanormalfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
147 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I admit that I'm not a fan of baroque style however this temple is truly breathtaking. It seems that all the gold in the world were used for the interior ornamentation. It is a must see in Lisbon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank monaHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Roque also viewed

 

Been to Igreja de Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing