We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was closed on April 25 ....”

Igreja de Sao Roque
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.85*
and up
City of Neighborhoods Tour II by Tuk Tuk
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Was closed on April 25 ....”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

so we just wandered the outside and walked uphill for a while and came across a small park and an area which is pretty good for looking over other parts of Lisbon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    491
    72
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

we visited by chance, and were not disappointed.
The chapel built, then dismantled and transported over from Rome is amazing (though it does beg the question why?? apart from the Pope's blessing).
Even more fascinating are the religious ossuaries flanking the main altar- very macabre.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wonderful guide, highly decorated church”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were so lucky to be given a tour by Susie Pereira a guide at the museum who was incredibly well-informed and a terrific communicator. The church is high- baroque and you need to have a taste for the decorated to appreciate it fully! The museum has some real high spots such as the renaissance painting cycle of the life of Sao Roque and the charming wooden doll-figures used dressed up in processions. It's important for places like this to recognise as well that many of us who come to see the art and architecture aren't believers or Christians.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lead, South Dakota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Stunning Church!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had read about the Igreja de Sao Roque in one of my Portugal travel books, and a friend and I visited in early April of 2013. The church is truly stunning! The painted wood ceiling is unique and beautiful and the chapels lining both sides of the nave are spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit there and would go back again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Book by its cover”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Igreja de São Roque was one of the few buildings in Lisbon to survive the 1755 earthquake intact. Built in the 16th century, it was the first Jesuit church designed in the “auditorium-church” style specifically for preaching. This is your typical “Never judge a book by its cover” when you look at this church from the outside. The ceiling is a beautiful painting and your eyes are flooded with all the warm ornate gold colors. Each separate chapel has its own little charm. Don’t forget that you have to only walk up the left hand side 150 meters to a Port institute, the Gloria Elevator, and wonderful views from the Pedro de Alcântara overlook.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gibsonchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Roque also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Igreja de Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing