We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Plain on the Outside, Beautiful on the Inside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Igreja de Sao Roque

Igreja de Sao Roque
Largo Trindade Coelho | Bairro Alto, Lisbon 1200-470, Portugal (Chiado & Carmo)
+351 21 346 0361
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$36*
and up
Private City Tour: Highlight's of Lisbon
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
264 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Plain on the Outside, Beautiful on the Inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My travel buddy really wanted to visit this church, so we stopped on our way today. It looks like such a plain church from the outside, but I really did appreciate the detail inside. The ceiling was my favorite part. If you happen to be in the neighborhood, just stop in for a five or ten minute visit. It's worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    413
    61
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was the first (of many) churches I visited in Lisbon and I loved it. It's tiny but full of interesting things to see. Every archway has a separate scene to view... so much gold and detail to photograph. Best of all, it's free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank erinswanson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice church to visit, get's you away from the crow a little bit and into the shade. Don't walk past it, you may forget you need to go there

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank katleen_sledz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“tons of gold are there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located in Bairro Alto. Get the small train up, ( very difficult to climb on foot ). 3 minutes walk from the train stop. it is unbelievable to have all this amount of gold in one church. Do visit the attached museum, it is so informative.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rafa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were about to miss it, but thankfully did not. the grandeur is something to see. Worth a visit when you are in the area. Loved it and got some great pictures.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Roque also viewed

 

Been to Igreja de Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing