We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and interesting church”

Igreja de Sao Roque
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.20*
and up
City of Neighborhoods Tour II by Tuk Tuk
More Info
$37.93*
and up
Private City Tour: Highlights of Lisbon
More Info
$47.42*
and up
Private Tour: Lisbon in One Day
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty and interesting church”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm not really into churches and often get dragged around them with my family. This one however I enjoyed. Lots of gold. Lots of cherubs. Interesting painted ceiling. Saw a violinist and pianist in the museum next door for a small fee. Was worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alibanzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    502
    72
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Incredible lecture offered free, a touchstone into the history of Portugal and its world 16th century domination.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Sao Roque is like the Vatican on a diet!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Igreja de Sao Roque is a great example of the wealth and pageantry of the Catholic church. We took the free tour of the church and museum which lasts about an hour and our guide was very insightful. The church contains some of the most costly chapels in Europe all clad in gold from Brazil and the museum houses gifts to the church from all of the former Portuguese colonies. If you have an hour I would recommend the free tour and if not a quick walk through would prove worth your time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevorbord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagoa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Christmas Concert”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The visit to this magnificent church was enhanced by the fact there was a concert in the Church the night we visited. magnificent! Go and see it anyway, concert or no concert.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank des1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ornate”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very ornate church, lots of Cherubs lots of gold coloured stuff, very impressive....................................................

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank moonrakerSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Igreja de Sao Roque also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Igreja de Sao Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing